change CD burn speed

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

charlieMOGUL
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 5:26 am

change CD burn speed

Post by charlieMOGUL » Sat Oct 28, 2006 12:53 pm

Hi,

I'm using Mediamonkey 2.5.5.980, and was wondering if/how it is possible to change the CD burn speed.
When I select tracks to burn and see the Burn CD dialog, I can't change the speed. It seems to be fixed on the maximum (8x) speed for that medium.
Since burning at that speed often leads to unsuccesful readable audio CDs, I wish to lower the speed to for instance 4x or 2x.


Thanks in advance,

charlieMOGUL

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Hull, UK
Contact:

Post by trixmoto » Sun Oct 29, 2006 5:00 am

This might be a limitation of your drive. Mine offers me many different burn speeds, up to the maximum.
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.

charlieMOGUL
Posts: 171
Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2005 5:26 am

Post by charlieMOGUL » Thu Nov 02, 2006 1:29 pm

Hi Trixmoto,

Thanks for your answer.
It still is strange, since eg. Nero, CdBurnerXPPro and ImgBurn all offer me other (slower) burn speeds, only MediaMonkey not.
I have a NEC DVD-RW which can burn CD's up to 24x speed. Maybe a firmware update of the device will help.

charlieMOGUL

Peke
Posts: 12501
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Post by Peke » Thu Nov 02, 2006 4:42 pm

I have NEC 4550 for firmwares try this site
http://www.micheldeboer.nl/firmware/
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

JLG234
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 9:59 am
Location: Ottawa, Ontario Canada

Post by JLG234 » Sun Nov 05, 2006 11:34 am

Burner Problems
I had an original DVD+ burner by Sony in my Compaq laptop that I could not speed control even in Nero. Unknown to me at the time was the fact that it was only a 2X burner (not mentioned in the documentation). It always appeared like the media speed dictated the speed of the burn even in Nero and even when I would select a lower speed. So I switched to CDBURNER XP Pro which does not use the ASPI layer but rather XP's NTSI layer. NERO comes with it's own ASPI layer. With CD Burner XP PRO (Free ware) I could control the speed of the burn (fewer coasters).

I swapped out my Burner for a NEC ND-6650A- DVD-/+ DL 8X's burner but still had the same issues if not using CD Burner XP Pro.

I still had problems with other apps the allowed burning. I tried instaling the ASPI layer on my own using various instructions from the Net at the time and was never successful until now. Did I mention that MM was unable to detect my burner until I installed the Adaptec ASPI layer. The package can be downloaded from ZDNET downloads. URL provided below.

I used the exact line given as an example in the install instructions. Ran it in the "RUN" command box with the example switches - executed the ASPI verifier to see the changes and rebooted my system. I then started MM and burnt my first BLUES MP3 CD. Unless you buy the Gold MM you are restricted to a lower burn speed.

I am new to MM and probably will upgrade once I have played around with this almost "do it all" program.

http://downloads.zdnet.com/3000-2098-10219041.html
JLG Retired and Lovin' it.

Post Reply