Scanning existing Itunes library

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

quicksilver914

Scanning existing Itunes library

Post by quicksilver914 » Fri Sep 07, 2007 9:04 pm

Just loaded Media Monkey. I set it to scan my exising IMusic, about 4,800 songs with add folders. It says ok, and starts scanning . When it is done the music is not in my library. Any idea why???

Blake
Posts: 801
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 3:39 am
Location: Geelong, Victoria, Australia

Post by Blake » Fri Sep 07, 2007 9:28 pm

Using Version 2.x will not automatically update the view.
Try clicking on another node in the tree and they should appear.

Also, at the end of the scam it should come up asking you if you want to import any tags from other music players. Tick iTunes and click ok.

nojac
Posts: 517
Joined: Tue Dec 19, 2006 12:23 pm
Location: Norway

Post by nojac » Sat Sep 08, 2007 12:08 am

You are sure you have selected the right folder and filetypes before starting the scan? And that the filetypes are playable in MM? (No DRM, or m4a on MM2 without plugin?)

Open a song in the My computer-node of MM and test.

Boojum

Post by Boojum » Fri Sep 14, 2007 12:30 am

I have the same problem. It goes through the motions of adding tracks but it will say something like adding 0/1 tracks ...adding 0/12 tracks ...adding 0/22 tracks.
MM might be a good program but the fact is it works less at library scanning than any other, which equalizes the playing field. And its not just that it wont work, but that for some computers it is absolutely violent. In fact, atm my computer is beginning to crash from a scan which imported no tracks. I am writing this in haste. Take your stinking paws of me, you damn dirty ape...

Lowlander
Posts: 46262
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Post by Lowlander » Fri Sep 14, 2007 9:00 pm

Are you scanning M4A files? Do you have the correct plugins installed? What are your system specifications? Can you create a debug log as described in the Bug Report forum?

MediaMonkey 3 will have native M4A support which should make this a more pleasant experience.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Guest

Lost Itunes podcast sources and data base .... thanks a lot

Post by Guest » Wed Oct 10, 2007 6:14 am

MM has managed to trash my itunes database... thanks ever so....
e-mail me when when your code is not distructive ... ta

one very ticked off user

Lowlander
Posts: 46262
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Post by Lowlander » Wed Oct 10, 2007 9:14 pm

Can you please send a copy of your iTunes database to support@mediamonkey.com. I haven't seen this problem before so sending the library could be very helpful in trying to solve this issue.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Post Reply