MediaMonkey is corrupting my music! WHY??

Get answers about using MediaMonkey 4 for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

Pugglewuggle

MediaMonkey is corrupting my music! WHY??

Post by Pugglewuggle »

Hi,

I've been using MediaMonkey Gold for about 9 months now and I've had this problem THE ENTIRE time I've used it. When tagging files (or at least I assume this is when it occurs), MM will truncate my files to a size from 128 bytes to 2 KB. I don't understand why it's doing this and it's really starting to tick me off as I update album art and add [bonus] tracks frequently.

I have 8500 songs in MM currently (and a lot more to add). The majority are 320 kbps MP3 (although I occasionally import FLAC files and convert them to MP3/320). I checked my library for small files by creating a filter last week and in just this week I've got 5 new truncated files that are RUINED.

1) WTF is going on? This is ridiculous. I used WMP for the last 7 years and it NEVER did this - NOT ONCE.
2) How do I fix this? This is the 3rd computer I've had MM on and it's done this on all 3 (in my constant use in the last 9 months, and in previous use before that).

I LOVE MM's features, but this seems like something that should not happen - ever.

BTW - before you ask, the corruption is NOT due to hardware problems. I have my music on a server with an Adaptec powered enterprise RAID 6 array with enterprise hard drives on a gigabit network. I have had absolutely no problem with any other files becoming corrupt, so this must be related to MM.

I appreciate any help you can offer. Thanks you!
rovingcowboy

Re: MediaMonkey is corrupting my music! WHY??

Post by rovingcowboy »

so does it do this to every song?

if monkey was the cause it would be every song as the cause would be unable to do one song then quit for awhile.