Rip from networked / shared CD-ROM ?

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

Overzeetop
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 8:22 pm

Rip from networked / shared CD-ROM ?

Post by Overzeetop » Fri Jan 01, 2010 3:54 pm

I've got a netbook, and wanted to try and rip some CDs to it via MM. It's a full Win7 environment, all 64 bit. Home Premium on the "server" which has the DVD-RW drive and Pro on the netbook. I've shared the drive with read/write access, but MM doesn't recognize it as a CD drive that can be ripped. I also can't play the CD files.

Any suggestions on how to make this work?

Just to head off the "rip the discs on the server"...the netbook is my 7 year old's computer. I'd like her to rip her music herself, onto her PC. The server is in a closet, and the DVD drive which is shared is a USB drive that sits in the playroom. For a variety of reasons, I'd rather have her work almost exclusively on her netbook for this.

Thanks!

Teknojnky
Posts: 5533
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 11:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Rip from networked / shared CD-ROM ?

Post by Teknojnky » Fri Jan 01, 2010 6:35 pm

its not possible to use cd-roms like this.

when you share the drive on your pc, it does not show up as a cd on remote computers, it shows up as a regular folder.

the only possible way to do what you want is to find some type of client/server remote cd mounting software. That will mount a fake 'virtual' cd on the netbook and connect to the cd server and make it appear as a real local cd rom.

your other option is to plug the usb cdrom (the existing, or buy a new one) into the netbook directly.

Overzeetop
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 8:22 pm

Re: Rip from networked / shared CD-ROM ?

Post by Overzeetop » Fri Jan 01, 2010 10:35 pm

Thanks, I suspected that might be the case. Google led me to a program that did the opposite - apparently Nero has (or had) a utility that would allow you to mount a remote cd/dvd drive for writing. I figured I'd ask the crowd if there was an easier way to do it first. Thanks!

RickMM
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2019 1:48 am

Re: Rip from networked / shared CD-ROM ?

Post by RickMM » Sun Jul 07, 2019 10:37 pm

I know this is an old post but I'm wondering if this issue is still an limitation with WWM?

On my home network I have 2 PCs. I want to speed up the ripping process by using another optical drive. I have a spare internal optical drive on computer B that I want to 'share' with Computer A which has WWM installed. Can I 'share' the optical drive on PC B and use it to rip CDs to PC A using WWM (installed on PC A)?

dtsig
Posts: 3035
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:34 pm

Re: Rip from networked / shared CD-ROM ?

Post by dtsig » Mon Jul 08, 2019 10:14 am

I don't believe it is possible with MM
Where's the db and ini stored
Reporting Bugs
Where tags are stored

Not affiliated with MediaMonkey ... just a RABID user/lover
DTSig

RickMM
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2019 1:48 am

Re: Rip from networked / shared CD-ROM ?

Post by RickMM » Wed Jul 10, 2019 6:13 pm

Thanks dtsig. I tried to 'share' the CD drive on PC B with PC A but hit 'permissions' issues even after giving 'Everyone' access.

Peke
Posts: 12472
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Rip from networked / shared CD-ROM ?

Post by Peke » Wed Jul 10, 2019 7:27 pm

Hi,
Removable drives share is difficult at least and in case of CD-Rome where direct Stream Access is needed thru ASPI layer it is not possible.

Theoretically it would be possible thru full Virtualization where custom Virtual CD-ROM driver (Both Server and Client side) would be made and you would be able to assign there still it would be very difficult to maintain and too much factors would be involved.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

RickMM
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2019 1:48 am

Re: Rip from networked / shared CD-ROM ?

Post by RickMM » Wed Jul 10, 2019 7:42 pm

Thanks Peke. It's not worth the hassle.

I have moved onto plan 'B' ie install a free copy of MMW onto PC B and rip away onto PC B's HDD. Then copy over the flac files to PC A where my 'master' MMW install resides and then rescan for the copied folders/files. With 2 CD drives in operation I'm hoping to half the time I need to rip my collection.

Peke
Posts: 12472
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Rip from networked / shared CD-ROM ?

Post by Peke » Wed Jul 10, 2019 9:35 pm

Hi,
Why You moved your FLAC files over to new PC.

Here what I would do:
1. Install MMW Portable on PC A at C:\MMWPortable
2. Copied MM.DB from c:\User\[USERNAME]\AppData\Roaming\MediaMonkey\MM.DB to c:\MMWPortable\Portable\MM.DB
3. Made sure that files are playable.
4. Copied whole folder C:\MMWPortable to USB Drive (Note Files are still on HDD of PC A)
5. Plug it in PC B
6. Copied fole \MMWPortable from USB to PC B c:\MMWPortable
7. Started c:\MMWPortable\MediaMonkey.exe
8. As I have two Drives I would Added 10-20 CD in MMW library (File -> Add rescan to library on inserted CD)
9. Made Sure that few CDs have correct basic Metadata
10. Set RIP Path to "c:\RIP CDs\<Album Artist>\[<year>] <Album>\<Track#:2>. <Title>"
11. Start Ripping CDs and while CDs Ripping correcting Metadata for the rest of CDs I added into Library
12. When Added CDs goes below 5, while Ripping I would Use Second Drive to add another 10 in Library and remove Those I already Ripped
13. Repeat 8-12 till All CDs are ripped

I have done that using 3 CD-Roms on 600+ CDs and after I got the hand of it I estimated that I saving 5-10 Minutes per CD RIP and My metadata were much more accurate, also I could Stop anytime and continue without worry.

After all is done then only thing I would Need is to:
1. copy MM.DB and FILES from PC B to PC A (I would Move whole c:\RIP CDs\ not changing any structure)
2. Select ALL Files under \RIP CDs\ In my library
3. File -> Locate Moved/missing tracks and Pointed to just copied C:\RIP CDs from PC B
4. MMW should find all files -> OK to update location
5. All is there.

One user that RIPPED 2k+ of CDs told me that this approach as appearing slower on start, but in the end according to him it saved him weeks.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

Lowlander
Posts: 46194
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Rip from networked / shared CD-ROM ?

Post by Lowlander » Mon Jul 15, 2019 2:59 pm

You're allowed to use your License on up to 3 PCs you own: https://www.mediamonkey.com/support/ind ... e-machines
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Post Reply