greyed out

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

stant52
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 9:18 am
Location: Pa. USA

greyed out

Post by stant52 » Thu Sep 13, 2012 11:17 am

I've using Mediamonkey for years. I copied my 200gb hard drive of assorted music to a new 500gb external hard drive . I then used "add & rescan " to add all those files to a
new-old laptop with Win 2000 operating system. Just to use for a back up when DJ-ing. All files are greyed out in my library and if I try to directly access the new hard drive ,they are still greyed out. This is a new install the music was never on this laptop.
What am I doing wrong ?? Thank you
Oh ,the new hard drive works fine with my newer -good laptop

Lowlander
Posts: 46502
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: greyed out

Post by Lowlander » Thu Sep 13, 2012 11:18 am

When opening a file from Windows Explorer in MediaMonkey it fails to play?
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

stant52
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 9:18 am
Location: Pa. USA

Re: greyed out

Post by stant52 » Thu Sep 13, 2012 1:40 pm

Yes . I can not play anything from the hard drive on Mediamonkey ,greyed out ,doesn't matter if in library on I access file ,folder though Explorer.
But I can play all with windows media player

Lowlander
Posts: 46502
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: greyed out

Post by Lowlander » Thu Sep 13, 2012 1:42 pm

Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

windunce
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 7:47 pm

Re: greyed out

Post by windunce » Thu Sep 13, 2012 10:32 pm

First off you HAVE to determine which HD the MM Database is 'linked' to,
once that is determined use that drive's VSN and change all the other hard drive's VSN to match it.

Scenario:

You have 1 internal and 3 external hard drives.
The 3 external drives have two partitions E: & F:
All partitions are mirrored/identical on all three drives.

You plug in a single external drive and build your MM.DB from it.
Then shut down Media Monkey.

Copy the MM.DB file from \application data\MediaMonkey
to the root of E: on all three external hard drives

You then add the following entry to the mediamonkey.ini file.

[System]
DBName=E:\MM.DB

Now the easy part.

Open a command prompt and type E:\ and hit enter.
Then type vol and hit enter.
Listed will be something similar to this...
"Volume Serial Number is 58CA-F9CF"

Write down that alpha-numeric string.

Repeat for F:\ and write down that string also.

Download the following program....
http://www.xboxharddrive.com/freeware.html

Hard Drive Serial Number Changer

[Note: Windows 8 is not listed, but am using Win8 Enterprise Evaluation and it worked flawlessly.]

Use the program to change the Volume Serial Number on the other two drive's partitions
[E:& F:] to match the Volume Serial Number on your "original database building" hard drive.

All your drives partitions now have identical Volume Serial Numbers.

You have now successfully 'fixed' the issue of Media Monkey deciding to
tie the database to a drive's Volume Serial Number instead of a drive letter.

Now when you are in the middle of a wedding, and your primary hard drive crashes,
you can 'hot swap' your drives without having to rebuild your database or
Locate Moved/Missing tracks to get rid of the 'gray', while your guest wait and wait and wait.

ps...you may have to assign/change the drive letters E: & F: to the other two external drives,
using the C:\Windows\System32\diskmgmt.msc tool.

I did not have to, but I have had to with other systems.

In your case [assuming all songs are located on your internal laptop's HD] you should
change the VSN on that HD to match the VSN of the HD that the database is 'linked' to.

Good Luck
Windunce

stant52
Posts: 4
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2007 9:18 am
Location: Pa. USA

Re: greyed out

Post by stant52 » Fri Sep 14, 2012 7:31 am

My laptop has NO music on it . All the music is on the external hard drive. The laptop is an older DEll ,only has 12 gb hard drive that is why all the music on external hard drive . I only was going to carry it as a spare ,figured it would be good enough in a jam. I had MM add and scan files from that external to the laptop, they were added but they are greyed out. I've never had any other external hard drives connected to it .
I've connected the external drive to another laptop and it seems fine.

Lowlander
Posts: 46502
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: greyed out

Post by Lowlander » Fri Sep 14, 2012 12:21 pm

stant52 wrote:All the music is on the external hard drive.
Did you
Lowlander wrote: see item 1, 2 or 4: http://www.mediamonkey.com/support/inde ... ticleid=94
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

bmazak
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 1:12 am

Re: greyed out

Post by bmazak » Mon Jul 13, 2015 5:47 pm

I synced my desktop Data directory, where my music is located to my laptop data directory and it copied all the music over. Allway sync program. Now all my music is grayed out on the laptop. Why on earth would they not allow that? Anyway what can I do?

bmazak
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 1:12 am

Re: greyed out

Post by bmazak » Mon Jul 13, 2015 5:50 pm

By the way xbox.harddrive.com above link is broken.

Lowlander
Posts: 46502
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: greyed out

Post by Lowlander » Mon Jul 13, 2015 6:17 pm

Is the problem on the source or destination PC?
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Post Reply