Where is the Album Artist node in the Media Tree?

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

listen
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 10:46 pm

Where is the Album Artist node in the Media Tree?

Post by listen » Sat Apr 13, 2013 4:03 pm

I thought the Media Tree was supposed to have separate nodes for 'Album Artist' and for 'Artist'. Is that correct? How do I get it to show them?

The closest thing I have is single node called "Artist & Album Artist".

When I go to Tools > Options > Library > Media Tree, none of these are on the list.
MM Standard (free) v 4.0.7.1511
Win 7 Pro 64 bit

dtsig
Posts: 3217
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:34 pm

Re: Where is the Album Artist node in the Media Tree?

Post by dtsig » Sat Apr 13, 2013 4:39 pm

I believe that the tree, as it comes, only has 1 as you have seen. If you want other you should be able to create your own.
Where's the db and ini stored
Reporting Bugs
Where tags are stored

Not affiliated with MediaMonkey ... just a RABID user/lover
DTSig

Eyal
Posts: 3111
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2005 9:27 am
Location: Québec

Re: Where is the Album Artist node in the Media Tree?

Post by Eyal » Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:02 pm

In MM3, right-click the Library node (in the tree) -> Options -> Choose Tree Nodes.

Yeah I still use MM3, but I guess in MM4 it might be something similar.
Skins for MediaMonkey: Cafe, Carbon, Helium, Spotify, Zekton. [ Wiki Zone ].

listen
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 10:46 pm

Re: Where is the Album Artist node in the Media Tree?

Post by listen » Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:58 pm

Eyal wrote:In MM3, right-click the Library node (in the tree) -> Options -> Choose Tree Nodes.
There is no node called 'Library'.

There is however a node called Music, but right-clicking doesn't bring you to anything that lets you choose an Album Artist node.

Does this mean I need to downgrade? Having an Album Artist node is a dealbreaker.
MM Standard (free) v 4.0.7.1511
Win 7 Pro 64 bit

Davo
Posts: 348
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 9:00 pm
Location: Australia

Re: Where is the Album Artist node in the Media Tree?

Post by Davo » Sat Apr 13, 2013 6:14 pm

In MM4, right-click the Music collection (in the tree) -> Options -> Edit Collection Choose ->Tree Nodes - Tick the Album Artist box
David
____________________________
Windows 10
MM 5 Beta

listen
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 10:46 pm

Re: Where is the Album Artist node in the Media Tree?

Post by listen » Sun Apr 14, 2013 10:38 am

Eyal wrote:In MM3, right-click the Library node (in the tree) -> Options -> Choose Tree Nodes.
Is that the free version or the paid?
MM Standard (free) v 4.0.7.1511
Win 7 Pro 64 bit

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Where is the Album Artist node in the Media Tree?

Post by nohitter151 » Sun Apr 14, 2013 2:52 pm

listen wrote:
Eyal wrote:In MM3, right-click the Library node (in the tree) -> Options -> Choose Tree Nodes.
Is that the free version or the paid?
Both. IN MM4 you need to right click > Options > Edit collection
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

listen
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 10:46 pm

Re: Where is the Album Artist node in the Media Tree?

Post by listen » Sun Apr 14, 2013 3:05 pm

nohitter151 wrote: Both. IN MM4 you need to right click > Options > Edit collection
That's not true. In MM4 it's in the paid version only.
MM Standard (free) v 4.0.7.1511
Win 7 Pro 64 bit

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Where is the Album Artist node in the Media Tree?

Post by nohitter151 » Sun Apr 14, 2013 7:32 pm

listen wrote:
nohitter151 wrote: Both. IN MM4 you need to right click > Options > Edit collection
That's not true. In MM4 it's in the paid version only.
It is true. You will find that option in both the free and paid edition. You just can't make any changes if you have the free version.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

listen
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 10:46 pm

Re: Where is the Album Artist node in the Media Tree?

Post by listen » Mon Apr 15, 2013 11:52 am

nohitter151 wrote:
listen wrote:
nohitter151 wrote: Both. IN MM4 you need to right click > Options > Edit collection
That's not true. In MM4 it's in the paid version only.
It is true. You will find that option in both the free and paid edition. You just can't make any changes if you have the free version.
No it's not. I appreciate your effort but it's not helping anyone to tell them what they're seeing on their computer. When I go to Music > right click > options > edit collection, I get a pop-up window telling me I must upgrade to Gold in order to edit collections. Period. Nothing more. I don't know how else I can explain it.
MM Standard (free) v 4.0.7.1511
Win 7 Pro 64 bit

Lowlander
Posts: 47299
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Where is the Album Artist node in the Media Tree?

Post by Lowlander » Mon Apr 15, 2013 12:40 pm

Modifying Collections (ie. what you see in the Media Tree) is a Gold only feature, however the free version should have the Artist & Album Artist node covering both.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Where is the Album Artist node in the Media Tree?

Post by nohitter151 » Mon Apr 15, 2013 5:30 pm

What I'm saying is that "Edit collection" will be found in both the free and Gold edition of MM. It's just that you need a license in order to actually make any changes there.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

listen
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 10:46 pm

Re: Where is the Album Artist node in the Media Tree?

Post by listen » Mon May 13, 2013 11:18 am

Eyal wrote:In MM3, right-click the Library node (in the tree) -> Options -> Choose Tree Nodes.

Yeah I still use MM3, but I guess in MM4 it might be something similar.
Your MM3 - is that the free or the paid version?
MM Standard (free) v 4.0.7.1511
Win 7 Pro 64 bit

listen
Posts: 47
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2011 10:46 pm

Re: Where is the Album Artist node in the Media Tree?

Post by listen » Fri Sep 13, 2013 5:48 pm

nohitter151 wrote:What I'm saying is that "Edit collection" will be found in both the free and Gold edition of MM. It's just that you need a license in order to actually make any changes there.
In other words you're telling me how to do something on a piece of software that I don't have.
MM Standard (free) v 4.0.7.1511
Win 7 Pro 64 bit

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Where is the Album Artist node in the Media Tree?

Post by nohitter151 » Sun Sep 15, 2013 8:27 am

listen wrote:
nohitter151 wrote:What I'm saying is that "Edit collection" will be found in both the free and Gold edition of MM. It's just that you need a license in order to actually make any changes there.
In other words you're telling me how to do something on a piece of software that I don't have.
You do have it. The feature is just locked because you haven't got a license.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

Post Reply