How many cores/CPUs is MM optimized to use?

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

MMFrLife
Posts: 2774
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 9:04 pm

How many cores/CPUs is MM optimized to use?

Post by MMFrLife » Tue Mar 15, 2016 8:43 pm

I'm guessing at least two cores since I often see two progress bars during tag, synch, etc. processes.
And if only two, are more planned for MM5?
MM user since 2003 (lifetime since 2012) "Trying to imagine life without music gives me a headache"
track properties; dir/fn mask configurations; check out ZvezdanD's scripts
MMW 4.1.18.1842b; fav scripts > RegExp Find & Replace 5.1.0; Magic Nodes 5.1.0; Advanced Duplicate Find & Fix 3.8.2;
Backup 6.0; Clear Now Playing Button 1.2
...always back it up, especially before doing anything major!!!
Win. explorer alt. for power users [free]; great file/folder renamer [used by nasa]

Eyal
Posts: 3110
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2005 9:27 am
Location: Québec

Re: How many cores/CPUs is MM optimized to use?

Post by Eyal » Wed Mar 16, 2016 12:31 am

Tools -> Options -> General -> Performance.

What else to say?
Skins for MediaMonkey: Cafe, Carbon, Helium, Spotify, Zekton. [ Wiki Zone ].

MMFrLife
Posts: 2774
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 9:04 pm

Re: How many cores/CPUs is MM optimized to use?

Post by MMFrLife » Wed Mar 16, 2016 4:23 am

Duh on me! I've seen that several times and just completely forgot about it. :lol:
Although, the tweaks are specifically for Conversion, Ripping and Volume analysis.
I rarely pay attention to it, as I usually don't use MM for any of those things.
Am I to assume that multiples are used in other areas as well but just can't be specified?

What about the dual tagging progress bar (the left side, right side split at the bottom when tag/retagging fairly large groups)? Does that utilize
just two, or more but only displays the activity of two?
MM user since 2003 (lifetime since 2012) "Trying to imagine life without music gives me a headache"
track properties; dir/fn mask configurations; check out ZvezdanD's scripts
MMW 4.1.18.1842b; fav scripts > RegExp Find & Replace 5.1.0; Magic Nodes 5.1.0; Advanced Duplicate Find & Fix 3.8.2;
Backup 6.0; Clear Now Playing Button 1.2
...always back it up, especially before doing anything major!!!
Win. explorer alt. for power users [free]; great file/folder renamer [used by nasa]

Eyal
Posts: 3110
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2005 9:27 am
Location: Québec

Re: How many cores/CPUs is MM optimized to use?

Post by Eyal » Thu Mar 17, 2016 12:35 am

MMFrLife wrote:I often see two progress bars during tag, synch, etc.
I don't know... I have only one progress bar, no matter how many tracks are tagged.
Maybe you have another active script working in the background, triggered by track-updated ?
Or could it be a re-synching Auto-Organize ?
Skins for MediaMonkey: Cafe, Carbon, Helium, Spotify, Zekton. [ Wiki Zone ].

MMFrLife
Posts: 2774
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 9:04 pm

Re: How many cores/CPUs is MM optimized to use?

Post by MMFrLife » Thu Mar 31, 2016 10:58 am

Eyal wrote:I don't know... I have only one progress bar, no matter how many tracks are tagged.
Maybe you have another active script working in the background, triggered by track-updated ?
Or could it be a re-synching Auto-Organize ?
I don't think it's another script or Auto-Organize. I think it might just be a quirk of the skin, Metro.
Initially, on the left side, it actually says "updating (plus # of tracks)" and on the right, it says "tagging (plus # of tracks)".
Then, the left side disappears and the right side slides over to be the only progress bar left for the rest of the process.

The "updating", then "tagging" wording I believe to be normal, but the initial split seems to be a quirk.
MM user since 2003 (lifetime since 2012) "Trying to imagine life without music gives me a headache"
track properties; dir/fn mask configurations; check out ZvezdanD's scripts
MMW 4.1.18.1842b; fav scripts > RegExp Find & Replace 5.1.0; Magic Nodes 5.1.0; Advanced Duplicate Find & Fix 3.8.2;
Backup 6.0; Clear Now Playing Button 1.2
...always back it up, especially before doing anything major!!!
Win. explorer alt. for power users [free]; great file/folder renamer [used by nasa]

rivorson
Posts: 594
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 4:17 am

Re: How many cores/CPUs is MM optimized to use?

Post by rivorson » Fri Apr 01, 2016 10:32 am

That's normal. The one that says "Updating" is the process for writing the changes to MM's database while the one that says "Tagging" is the process of writing the tags to the actual files. The two will run concurrently in separate threads regardless of how many CPU cores you have. MM will use all of your CPU cores if it has enough threads running simultaneously.

MMFrLife
Posts: 2774
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 9:04 pm

Re: How many cores/CPUs is MM optimized to use?

Post by MMFrLife » Sun Apr 03, 2016 5:56 am

Do you see the split? Why does Eyal not see it? I get the wording/purpose/necessity of the process,
I'm wondering though, at this point, if I'm the only one "seeing" it split. Can anyone tell me if they see it and what skin they are using?
Thanks
MM user since 2003 (lifetime since 2012) "Trying to imagine life without music gives me a headache"
track properties; dir/fn mask configurations; check out ZvezdanD's scripts
MMW 4.1.18.1842b; fav scripts > RegExp Find & Replace 5.1.0; Magic Nodes 5.1.0; Advanced Duplicate Find & Fix 3.8.2;
Backup 6.0; Clear Now Playing Button 1.2
...always back it up, especially before doing anything major!!!
Win. explorer alt. for power users [free]; great file/folder renamer [used by nasa]

rivorson
Posts: 594
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 4:17 am

Re: How many cores/CPUs is MM optimized to use?

Post by rivorson » Sun Apr 03, 2016 7:10 am

I see it but the 'Updating' process is very fast so it only shows as a progress bar very briefly if I update a large number of files. Whether you see it or not probably depends more on the speed of your primary hard drive than anything else. If the hard drive is slow, old, or heavily fragmented or you've just got other processes accessing it then updating the database may take longer and you'll be more likely to see the progress bar. In most cases for me, the database is finished updating before the progress bar is created.

I'm using the Vitreous skin, but I'm pretty sure progress bars are not handled independently by the skin so that shouldn't make a difference.

MMFrLife
Posts: 2774
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 9:04 pm

Re: How many cores/CPUs is MM optimized to use?

Post by MMFrLife » Sun Apr 03, 2016 7:40 am

Ok, mystery solved :wink:

I have a Samsung 850 Pro SSD (one of the fastest non-card, etc. SSDs) as my C:\ and a modern 3tb HDD for Music related stuff
The split is fairly brief, just not necessarily so fast that if you blink you'll miss it. There usually isn't too many other processes going on
when I tag or use MM for something other than listening but for whatever low intensive ones that are, they are being driven by an
Intel i7-3770K@3.5 cpu, 8gb of ram, said drive and Win7 64.

...and not that they would be "handled" by the skin, just wondering if it was a skin display quirk.

Thanks for the input!
MM user since 2003 (lifetime since 2012) "Trying to imagine life without music gives me a headache"
track properties; dir/fn mask configurations; check out ZvezdanD's scripts
MMW 4.1.18.1842b; fav scripts > RegExp Find & Replace 5.1.0; Magic Nodes 5.1.0; Advanced Duplicate Find & Fix 3.8.2;
Backup 6.0; Clear Now Playing Button 1.2
...always back it up, especially before doing anything major!!!
Win. explorer alt. for power users [free]; great file/folder renamer [used by nasa]

Post Reply