Just made the move to ff3

Community forum for discussions completely unrelated to MediaMonkey.

Moderator: Gurus

Dreadlau
Posts: 1967
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:49 am

Just made the move to ff3

Post by Dreadlau » Tue Mar 25, 2008 6:51 am

My ff2 had become too heavy and slow with too much styles,extensions,scripts in it.
So I decided to make a new fresh install. perfect occasion to try ff3.

So know I'm using minefield beta5, and I'm impressed with the difference in reactivity and speed.
In addition a big part of the most usefull extensions are allready compatible(Stylish, greasemonkey, tabmixplus, adblockplus, cutemenus, customizegoogle,...)
There is just one I'm realy missing: "yet an other smooth scolling"


So, what are YOURS impressions on FF3?
Seven Ultimate X64 SP1 / Sansa Clip 2go (with RockBox)

fizzjob
Posts: 401
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 12:37 pm

Post by fizzjob » Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:18 am

I'm using 3.0b4, and it's much snappier than 2.x - then again, like you, I had a bunch of extensions in 2 that I can't use now, but the only one I really miss is Googlebar.

3 seems to be a heck of a lot better with memory management. It wasn't surprising to see memory usage with 2 just grow and grow (I'd seen use up to 1gb(!) of RAM on some machines), but 3 rarely seems to go beyond 80 or 90 megs. Still kinda heavy for all that, but far more efficient.
Image

Dreadlau
Posts: 1967
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2007 6:49 am

Post by Dreadlau » Tue Mar 25, 2008 9:13 am

I noticed too less memory usage in ff3; though it still too much for old computers with not much ram.

Oh lol I just noticed I use more then 80mo of memory for mediamonkey :o

maybe I should do a fresh install of it too.
Seven Ultimate X64 SP1 / Sansa Clip 2go (with RockBox)

Teknojnky
Posts: 5533
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Teknojnky » Tue Mar 25, 2008 9:50 am

what is FF3 ?

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Post by nohitter151 » Tue Mar 25, 2008 9:51 am

Teknojnky wrote:what is FF3 ?
I think its Firefox 3 (currently in beta).
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

fizzjob
Posts: 401
Joined: Fri Mar 30, 2007 12:37 pm

Post by fizzjob » Wed Mar 26, 2008 8:50 am

Dreadlau wrote:I noticed too less memory usage in ff3; though it still too much for old computers with not much ram.

Oh lol I just noticed I use more then 80mo of memory for mediamonkey :o

maybe I should do a fresh install of it too.
I run FF3 on my older system at home (1.3ghz Athlon, 768mb RAM) and it works alright.

I've seen my MM here at work top 120mb on occasion. ;)

Oh, and, yeah, FF3 is Firefox 3.
Image

Owyn
Posts: 2018
Joined: Fri Mar 21, 2008 10:55 am
Location: Canada

Post by Owyn » Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:35 pm

Ran quick test on FF3B5. Slick, fast and full of promise, but not yet ready for daily use.

Only 2 of my 10 extensions are currently supported in FF3.

Steegy
Posts: 3452
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 7:17 pm
Location: Belgium
Contact:

Post by Steegy » Sun Apr 06, 2008 8:27 am

I found out that Flash tends to make the internet browser (be it Firefox or Internet Explorer) keep much more memory in use (even when the flash page is closed), than should be necessary. Is this fixed in FF3?

Try opening 10 YouTube pages (in different tabs) in one browser, let the videos load, and then close most of those pages. Does the memory usage drop back to the normal level?
Extensions: ExternalTools, ExtractFields, SongPreviewer, LinkedTracks, CleanImport, and some other scripts (Need Help with Addons > List of All Scripts).

Post Reply