what in blazes ???

Community forum for discussions completely unrelated to MediaMonkey.

Moderator: Gurus

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14153
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

what in blazes ???

Post by rovingcowboy » Wed Sep 18, 2013 9:54 pm

been replacing my backup jukebox it lost 15000 songs?? just sitting there not being used.
all disk surface scans are good no bad sectors and and no errors,

just 15000 missing songs?

this computer i'm on had 3000 missing songs? it is used all the time too but not playing music as much as the jukebox which is used every day seems to be missing only a few dozen songs.

so the one that just sits there and is not played or used. lost all the songs?? :cry:

my last 3 days have been restoring them man is usb 1 on a single core slow.

yep i'm trying to get the nic cards working but they don't show the other computers only that there is a network if i can get them showing the other computers that would be a faster transfer route. but i'll be finished with it before i get the network up and working again. :-?
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. Proscan tablet Android 4.3 ) 7. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14153
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: what in blazes ???

Post by rovingcowboy » Sat Sep 21, 2013 6:51 am

finally got them replaced still don't know what made them disappear? :-?
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. Proscan tablet Android 4.3 ) 7. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

Peke
Posts: 12110
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: what in blazes ???

Post by Peke » Sun Sep 22, 2013 2:52 pm

Gremlins ;) What is the box model that lost your songs?
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14153
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: what in blazes ???

Post by rovingcowboy » Mon Sep 23, 2013 5:05 pm

oh sorry i forgot to say.

it is the number 2 in my systems list in my signature.
not any out of box store bought one, but it is all good it has been off most the time so there's no way anything could have got in to it and done anything.
when i connect it to online it is only to update the av program or windows programs then i'm offline with it.
the av never found anything so it just has to have been some strange sun flare or something?
this computer i'm on now also was missing some songs not as many but maybe a third of what the other one was missing.
the jukebox is in the other room and was missing maybe 3 or 50 songs? not even connected to the web or these computers.
but i figured it was lost in the jukebox because of crashing when power blackouts happened.
still that should not effect the systems when they are off?

got them back in now and also got this computers dial up modem working again. been busy here.
8)
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. Proscan tablet Android 4.3 ) 7. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

dtsig
Posts: 2981
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:34 pm

Re: what in blazes ???

Post by dtsig » Mon Sep 23, 2013 5:53 pm

It might not make you happy or help ... but this thread has reminded me that I am WAY out on doing backups. Probably have to get a couple new drives. Funny how we get used to large drives ... just harder to backup. Not sure the old floppy disk backup will work any more :)
Where's the db and ini stored
Reporting Bugs
Where tags are stored

Not affiliated with MediaMonkey ... just a RABID user/lover
DTSig

rovingcowboy
Posts: 14153
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: what in blazes ???

Post by rovingcowboy » Mon Sep 23, 2013 6:07 pm

yeah but my only system that windows backup utility works on is the jukebox i got it backing up the system and i back up the songs with mm's copy feature in auto orginzer. the script trixmoto did dont work on any of my systems it wiped out my tool bars when i closed it. so i took it out.

but i found a program called teracopy it is replacement for windows copy and paste and its 7 times faster then ms's
also found program called karen's replicator it does copy and paste of files and folders same as copy and paste but it lets you do it in secheduled jobs for certain folders or hd's.

both of those are fast and more so when i set them up i high priority, so i'm backing up my systems to usb drives now a direct copy so i can just past them back if needing to.
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy 5 Android 5) 6. Proscan tablet Android 4.3 ) 7. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.

Post Reply