Page 4 of 98

Posted: Mon Feb 27, 2006 4:36 am
by trixmoto
Sorry, the new link link is http://trixmoto.net/files/XZip.dll. Of course, if you downloaded the installer from my website, this includes all the files necessary. :)

XZip.dll problelm

Posted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 5:09 pm
by cherryplinth
I get the same error message Teknojnky described in his Jan 31 note when I try to create an archive file:

"Error #429 - Microsoft VBScript runtime error
ActiveX Component can't create object: 'XStandard.Zip'
File: "C:\program files\mediamonkey\scripts\backup.vbs", Line 260, Column 8"

I followed your suggestion to Teknojnky and tried running "regsvr32 %windir%\XZip.dll" from the RUN line. As soon as I hit the OK button I get the following Windows error message:

"Load Library ("C:\WINDOWS\XZip.dll") failed. The specified module could not be found."

Do I need to try a different command entry to indicate that the XZip.dll file is in the MM\scripts directory? I am running BackUp Ver 2.3 and I do have the XZip.dll file in my Scripts directory. Thanks.

Posted: Fri Mar 31, 2006 5:17 pm
by Teknojnky
Yes, you have to specify the correct path to the dll.

either put the xzip dll in your window folder, or change the path of the regsvr command to the path of the dll.

Posted: Sun Jun 25, 2006 12:45 pm
by Guest
trixmoto wrote:
judas wrote:(now back to baghdatis and nalbandian)
Who/Where/What?

Posted: Mon Jun 26, 2006 3:38 am
by trixmoto
judas wrote:Lol...australian open mens singles semifinals...Now its 5-5 second set :-)

Posted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 10:00 am
by trixmoto
New version (3.0) is now available from my website!

This version will automatically install the zip component if you do not have it, and you've checked the zip option. This version knows (instead of guessing) your MDB and INI location! It also runs as a background process which means you can backup without your music going blocky.

The main new feature is the option to automatically backup each time you start MM. This is useful for lazy people like me who forget to run it manually! :)

Posted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 11:05 am
by Bex
Thanks trix! I'm lazy too...

Posted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 11:25 am
by Teknojnky
Just as a word of note, if you use browse by art (and you should be!) then your backup might be alot larger (and take longer to backup) than you expected due to the browse by art cache being stored as a subfolder of autoscripts.

Posted: Fri Jul 14, 2006 7:45 am
by trixmoto
Yes, if you select the Scripts folder, this is certainly true. Personally I have done one full backup with includes my Scripts folder (including BrowseByArt cached images) and have my auto-backup just doing my MDB+INI files, which is much quicker. :)

Posted: Thu Aug 10, 2006 2:32 pm
by trixmoto
New version (3.1) now restores the Scripts folder correctly. It appears it didn't before! :oops:

Posted: Thu Aug 17, 2006 6:55 am
by Bex
Trixi, this may sound stupid but how do i restore my backup with the restore script?

Posted: Thu Aug 17, 2006 9:13 am
by trixmoto
Double click on the script, or open with "Microsoft Script Host" if this is not your default Open option.

Posted: Thu Aug 17, 2006 9:32 am
by Bex
Thanks!
Right click and open with "Microsoft Script Host" did the trick.

/Bex

Posted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 4:11 am
by trixmoto
New version (3.2) allows the user to specify the delay before the auto backup starts. This means you have time to verify that MediaMonkey has opened correctly before it starts backing up the current setup.

There is also the option to check the database is at least 1Mb in size. When MM creates a new database this is approximately 800kb, so anything less than 1Mb normally means your database has been mislaid, so you don't want to backup the empty one!

Posted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 10:54 am
by Teknojnky
an idea for future versions..

time stamped backup zip files

this way you don't have to worry about overwriting an old (but good) backup.

of course you will have to decide to let the user clean up the old backup files or to provide some way for the script to do it.

My suggestion is to keep backups for the last (up to) 10 and overwrite the oldest.

My database is nearing 200 megs with my backup file around 50 megs, so it should probably be configurable how many backups should be stored (if you go this route).