Page 65 of 99

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Posted: Wed Nov 16, 2011 11:40 am
by gpzbc

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Posted: Wed Nov 16, 2011 5:44 pm
by steviegt
nynaevelan wrote:I would recommend uninstalling the script, then close MM. Open the mediamonkey.ini file in notepad and look for the MMbackup section, remove that. Do another search to make sure there are no lingering copies of the same section (once I had two of them do to upgrades). Look in the scripts folder for the abackup.vbs and abackup2.vbs files and delete them if they are there, look in the scripts\auto folder and delete the backup.vbs file. Then reopen MM and reinstall. Then close MM and look in the scripts.ini file to make sure the backup section is created. Open Mm and try to run the backup again.

Nyn
Just installed v4 today. Backup 5.8 worked great in v3. Now with v4 I started getting Abackup.vbs Line 609 error cannot create folder error, cannot create zip file error. I searched the forum and saw the above posting. I ran into a couple more errors and ran thru those instructions a couple times. Even after doing that, the script still saved all my settings every time when I ran it for the first time after each cleanup. Unfortunetly the script will no longer let me tick the Output Archive or the Second Archive. I want to get this working. Please help. See my screenshot.

Output path C:\Users\Steve\Documents\MediaMonkey Gold Lifetime\Backup\MM4\Output\<M>-<D>-<Y>\
Output archive C:\Users\Steve\Documents\MediaMonkey Gold Lifetime\Backup\MM4\Zips\<M>-<D>-<Y>.zip\
Second archive C:\Users\Steve\Downloads\MediaMonkey Gold Lifetime\Backup\MM4\Zips\<M> <D> <Y>.zip\

Image

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Posted: Wed Nov 16, 2011 10:13 pm
by gpzbc
steviegt,
I could be wrong, but the reason why you can't tick the archive boxes is because you need to register your zip dll. Check out this post.
http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... bc#p258498

Let me know if that works.

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Posted: Thu Nov 17, 2011 4:34 am
by trixmoto
I didn't realise there was a problem with MM4... :-?

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Posted: Thu Nov 17, 2011 7:44 am
by jaybea179943
I am getting a WSH Error during the backup in MM4 - specifically:

Script: ABackup.vbs
Line: 896
Error: Permission denied

From looking at the script, it looks like it cannot clean up at the end of the backup process, which I guess involves deleting old backups and output folders. I have checked permissions on the folders and files and they are all set to "Everyone" with full permissions. The backups are created OK, but old ones are no longer deleted.

Its not a major problem, but I would like to get rid of the error message!

Jules

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Posted: Thu Nov 17, 2011 2:56 pm
by steviegt
Thanks jpzpc. That worked. The only thing I had to do is change the path for Win 7 64bit.

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Posted: Thu Nov 17, 2011 3:02 pm
by gpzbc
Good. I am glad I could help.

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2011 8:18 pm
by jdoornek
Today, I installed backup 5.8. Logged in as administrator first.
Went to scripts and opened backup to look around. Didn't do a backup. When I exited MM, I recieved the following error message.

windows script host
SCRIPT c:program files (x86)\mediamonkey\scripts\abackup2.vbs
lINE 65
CHAR 7
ERROR Permission Denied
CODE 800A0046
SOURCE Microsoft VBScript runtime error.

I tried to uninstall the script, which seemed to work, but I still get the error message when I exit MM.

I am running MMGold V3.2.5, Windows 7

Love the program and all the flexibility. So glad to get rid of Itunes.

11/24 update
Yesterday I installed version 4 but I still get the error message when I close MM.

Today, I installed backup 5.8. Logged in as administrator first.
Went to scripts and opened backup to look around. Didn't do a backup. When I exited MM, I recieved the following error message.

windows script host
SCRIPT c:program files (x86)\mediamonkey\scripts\abackup2.vbs
lINE 65
CHAR 7
ERROR Permission Denied
CODE 800A0046
SOURCE Microsoft VBScript runtime error.

I tried to uninstall the script, which seemed to work, but I still get the error message when I exit MM.

I am running MMGold V3.2.5, Windows 7

Love the program and all the flexibility. So glad to get rid of Itunes.

Can you help?

Thanks
Jim
11/24 update
Yesterday I installed MM version 4
Same results when I close MM
I continue to recieve the error message above.

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Posted: Sun Nov 20, 2011 3:26 am
by MM3 monkey
nynaevelan wrote:Here are my current MM4 settings, my workflow consists of letting the backup script manage my daily backups. I have a separate "Archive" folder on a different drive which I use to manually save one of the archives from the first day of the month and the last day of the month. I also do the same thing with my playlists that I have exported and saved using Zvezdand's Export M3U script. This is my daily process, if I am testing any new things such as going from regular to portable, I create special backups with names to remind me what I was trying to do ie. 081411 Pre-Portable Test. I also do not backup the scripts folder on a daily basis because I have too many scripts and it takes up a lot of room, I will randomly select them to backup.

Image
MM4 Backup Settings by nynaevelan1, on Flickr

Nyn
I never said thanks for this. Sorry!

And thank you very much.

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Posted: Mon Nov 21, 2011 2:45 pm
by tommycrock
gpzbc wrote:I could be wrong, but the reason why you can't tick the archive boxes is because you need to register your zip dll. Check out this post.
http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... bc#p258498
Thanks for the instructions gpzbc. I had this problem and, in case any other MM4 users on Win7 do, the path needs to be changed to:
C:\Users\<username>\AppData\Roaming\MediaMonkey\Scripts\
Hope that helps

Trixmoto's backup script ver 5.8 compatible with MM ver 4

Posted: Fri Nov 25, 2011 1:34 pm
by Pietercape
Hi,
Does anyone know whether this script is compatible with MM 4? I tried Trixmoto's site but could not find a way to query this with him.

My first pass impression of MM4 is that it is an exiting upgrade from V3, congratulations to all involved!

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Posted: Sun Nov 27, 2011 12:08 pm
by tommycrock
Pietercape wrote: compatible with MM 4?
No problems here

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Posted: Mon Nov 28, 2011 6:51 pm
by gpzbc
nynaevelan wrote:Yes you can and the script is working with mm4, the only adjustment that would need to be is the settings location but to compensate for that I point my other folder to the roaming folder that has the settings.
Nyn
I set up my settings the same way, and it seems to work well to just point the "Other" folder to the AppData\Roaming\MediaMonkey folder to get it all. Although, while tinkering with the Advanced Report script, I noticed that some scripts are still stored in the Script.ini in "C:\Program Files (x86)\Scripts" instead of the Scripts.ini in "C:\Users\XXX\AppData\Roaming\MediaMonkey\Scripts". So I guess I need to backup that directory as well?

Error when including AppData\Roaming\MediaMonkey

Posted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 3:01 am
by MM3 monkey
I've just started backing up in MM4. It's a clean new install on Windows 7 64-bit.

My settings are almost the same as Nyn's above a few posts except that I'm backing up my Scripts folder.

If I don't choose the "Other folder" (i.e. AppData\Roaming\MediaMonkey) it works fine. But when I do choose it I get this error
Image

and all that gets copied from AppData\Roaming\MediaMonkey are:

the Extensions folder
the MetadataCache folder
Extensions.ini
MediaMonkey.ini
mediamonkey.m3u8
MM.DB

After the Backup script error, the script is unusable until I reboot MediaMonkey.

Re: Backup 5.8 - Updated 27/10/2010

Posted: Fri Dec 02, 2011 1:16 am
by MM3 monkey
Trix, do you have any thoughts on the above problem I'm having? ^^

Thanks.