StreamsTreeNode: Library subnode for your favourite streams

Download and get help for different MediaMonkey for Windows 4 Addons.

Moderators: Peke, Gurus

trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Hull, UK
Contact:

Post by trixmoto »

Ok, I think I've found the problem. It shouldn't be happening on line 76 though - which version of this script are you using?

The problem is that the Auto feature (which you can switch off for now to resolve the issue) assumes that the currently playing track has a path, which is not the case with streams. I'll get this fixed in the next version (of GoogleArtFinder).

ADDITION: I've just released GoogleArtFinder 2.7 which should fix this problem.
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.
cherryplinth
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 4:44 pm
Location: sunny California

Post by cherryplinth »

We are making some progress. I can get some streams to play, but I am still getting a lot of strange behavior. I think there are still some errors in how Google ArtFinder 2.7 interacts with StreamsTreeNode - and I think there are some problems in how StreamsTreeNode interacts with MM player.

I have been testing with the 16 classical music streams provided in the StreamsTreeNode script. Of these 16 URL's, I can get 6 to play in MM. The other 10 streams will not play in MM. However, I can get many of these other 10 streams to play in WinAmp, but not all - so most of the URL's are still valid.

Generally, I still get the same two Google ArtFinder error messages when I click on a stream, but sometimes the station starts playing even if the error messages came up. (Before I could never get the stations to play, so that is progress.) Other times closing out the error messages leads to a ctl-alt-del termination action, so the error consequences are not consistent, even though the messages are the same.

I tried manually entering the URL's through the URL box on the player and I get the same Google ArtFinder error messages - so I think there are still some problems in how Google ArtFinder handles streaming situations.


There are also some wierd problems in the MM player or in how StreamsTreeNodes interacts with the player. For example, most of the time when I click on a stream in the Internet Streaming list, the name of the stream appears in the Now Playing list and in the player RSS box. But sometimes nothing dislays, even if I click several times. Most of the time I can clear the Now Playing List with Edit/Clear, but sometimes I have to close MM in order to clear the Now Playing List. Sometimes I can play a stream and then come back a few minutes later and the stream will not play. The stream always seems to play in Winamp, so it is not just an intermittent stream.

The six streams that generally play are: ClassicalMusic Servvice, KUAT, KXPR, radioIoclassical, We Met in Classics, and WCPE. (WCPE does not always play).

I have upgraded to Google ArtFinder 2.7. However, I still have not figured out how to disable it or how to turn off the Automatic Feature. I tried changing the script names, but that did not work. The above issues are maybe more involved than you want to chase now. If you could tell me how to disable Google Artfinder, I could probably limp along. I would use Google ArtFinder when I am loading new files; I would disable it when I am mostly listening to music. Thanks.
Steegy
Posts: 3452
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 7:17 pm

Post by Steegy »

First, let me say that MM has problems (or doesn't work at all) with playing pls files. It only seems to be able to play streams in this format: http://xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx:xxxx or http://XXXXXXXXXXXX:xxxx
That's the main reason why I didn't include the capability to use MM's internal player until recently (before, everything was played using the external player Winamp or similar)
Also, sometimes a stream that doesn't start fast enough, it will be ignored and the next thing in the nowplaying list will start. This is because MM thinks it can't play the stream (sometimes rightly, sometimes not).

Second, I'll take a look why sometimes a stream doesn't get added. EDIT: I don't see anything wrong.
But "Clicking the node multiple times won't do aything. You have to deselect the node (e.g. by clicking the library node instead), and reselect it again. That's the way the script works: on selection change)

And I have a main question for you: Does StreamsTreeNode work correctly for the Digitally Imported streams? It does for me.

I threw streams out that don't even work on Winamp2, and I used the direct stream urls (instead of the pls and m3u links). Now, there are 31 streams left (on my computer).
These can't play in MM, while they work in Winamp2: WCPE, WDAV, KUSC, KBAQ, WLNZ, WAMZ, Jazz a la mode, KUVO, KSBR
This really is a MM problem, and not a problem with the script (again, it works fine for me). It's obvious that none of the live365 streams work on MM.

These work for me (you might need AAC and OGG input plugins for some):

Code: Select all

        ' Digitally Imported (subcategory "Digitally Imported")
        .Add "Eurodance", Array("http://160.79.128.40:7010", "Digitally Imported")
        .Add "Vocal Trance", Array("http://160.79.128.40:7004", "Digitally Imported")
        .Add "DJ Mixes", Array("http://160.79.128.40:7026", "Digitally Imported")
        .Add "Ambient", Array("http://160.79.128.40:7054", "Digitally Imported")
        .Add "New Age", Array("http://160.79.128.40:7030", "Digitally Imported")
        .Add "Best Of The 80s", Array("http://160.79.128.40:7038", "Digitally Imported")
  
        ' Jazz Streams (subcategory "Jazz")
        .Add "FM 91 - Toronto", Array("http://216.123.189.13:8000", "Jazz")
        .Add "KCEA - Atherton CA", Array("http://kcea.realfx.net:8000/", "Jazz")
        .Add "KJAZ - San Francisco", Array("http://205.188.215.228:8000", "Jazz")
        .Add "KKJZ - Long Beach", Array("http://www.live365.com/play/kkjz1", "Jazz")
        .Add "Jazz Den", Array("http://listen.thejazzden.org.uk:10025", "Jazz")
        .Add "JazzPlayerRadio", Array("http://www.live365.com/play/elvii1", "Jazz")
        .Add "WEMU - Ann Arbor", Array("http://164.76.121.201:8000/broadband", "Jazz")
        .Add "WNCU - Durham NC", Array("http://152.9.6.199:1910/", "Jazz")
        .Add "WWOZ - New Orleans", Array("http://wwoz-sc.streamguys.com:80/", "Jazz")

        ' Classical Streams (subcategory "Classical")
        .Add "Classical Music America", Array("http://66.250.45.52:8500", "Classical")
        .Add "KUAT - Tucson", Array("http://150.135.250.53:9000", "Classical")
        .Add "KXPR - Sacramento", Array("http://66.225.205.53:80", "Classical")
        .Add "radioIoClassical", Array("http://69.28.128.148:80/stream/radioio_classical_med", "Classical")
        .Add "We Met In Classics", Array("http://220.95.210.103:8000", "Classical")
        .Add "WPSU - Penn State University", Array("http://128.118.86.117:8000/", "Classical")
Extensions: ExternalTools, ExtractFields, SongPreviewer, LinkedTracks, CleanImport, and some other scripts (Need Help with Addons > List of All Scripts).
cherryplinth
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 4:44 pm
Location: sunny California

Post by cherryplinth »

Your last note got me to thinking that maybe I ought to change my default player for internet streaming to WinAmp. What a change! I can now hear all of the valid streams furnished in the script. AND - there are no error messages from Goggle ArtFinder. The streams start playing right away; there are absolutely no problems.

I am afraid the MM player is not yet ready for prime time internet streaming. Hopefully, version 3.0 will remedy that. Here are some diagnostics that I got on my last round of tests.

I cannot get any of the Digitally Imported streams to play on my setup. This may be due to the fact that I don't have the AAC or OGG plug-ins on my machine (I am not sure where to load them). However, in my mind it is more likely that the Digitally Imported streams are not playing because of the severe error conditions created by conflicts with Google ArtFinder. I continue to get the same two error messages from Google ArtFinder, but for this group of Digitally Imported streams the player totally freezes when the error messages are up and I have to ctl-alt-del to get the machine back. It seems to me that the error messages come up before the player box is populated with the name of the stream, and I almost think that the player is waiting for the errors to be resolved before it begins to play the stream that is apparently correctly queued in the player. This happens whether I click on the streaming node or whether I load the URL's manually in the player box.

All of the Jazz streams play on my setup. I still get the two Google ArtFinder error messages, but if I click through the error messages, the streams play beautifully.

I can play all of the revised list of Classical streams (after clicking through the error messages), except WPSU. I can only get WPSU on WimAmp. Sometimes I can get WCPE on MM and sometimes not. I do note that the WPSU station does not show in the Now PLaying List when I click on it in the Library tree. Also, when I click on WCPE, I usually just get a "1." instead of "WCPE" in the Now Playing list.

However, while I am waiting for MM 3.0 I am just going to use WinAmp for my default stream player. Let me know if you would like me to test anything more.

Also, can someone tell me how to disable Google ArtFinder. I would like to use Google ArtFinder when I am loading new files, and then disable it when I am in an extended listening period.
Steegy
Posts: 3452
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 7:17 pm

Post by Steegy »

The reason why the Digitally Imported don't play on your computer is because you don't have an aac input plugin (see the MM Plugins link to find input plugins that support aac, mp4, m4a, ...) AND make sure you're using the latest MediaMonkey version avaliable.

Digitally Imported has:
Techno, Trance, Vocal Trance, Chilout, House, Hard Dance, Euro Dance, Progressive, Goa-Psy Trance
Hardcore, DJ Mixes, Lounge, Ambient, Drum 'n' Bass, Classic Electronica, Breaks, Gabber

Through Sky.fm they have:
Christmas Channel, Mostly Classical, New Age, World Music, Top Hits, Alternative Rock
Urban Jamz, Classical Guitar, Smooth Jazz, Uptempo Smooth Jazz, Oldies
Best of the 80s, Roots Reggae, Hit 70s, Country, Modern Jazz, Salsa, Classic Rap.

All on 96k mp3 or 24k aac. 24k AAC is very good to listen to and uses almost no bandwitdh!! Try it! It's professional internet radio (not this usually crap streamed "normal ad/speak radio").
I hope the Google ArtFinder script gets fixed more to solve the stream problems.

Cheers
Steegy
Last edited by Steegy on Tue Dec 19, 2006 3:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Extensions: ExternalTools, ExtractFields, SongPreviewer, LinkedTracks, CleanImport, and some other scripts (Need Help with Addons > List of All Scripts).
trixmoto
Posts: 10024
Joined: Fri Aug 26, 2005 3:28 am
Location: Hull, UK
Contact:

Post by trixmoto »

To switch off the Auto mode of GoogleArtFinder you should run the script manually for a track, then one of the buttons along the top of the panel will be called "Auto:On" - click this and it will become "Auto:Off". Maybe the logic is backwards here, but clicking this button will definitely toggle between the Auto mode being on and off! :)
Download my scripts at my own MediaMonkey fansite.
All the code for my website and scripts is safely backed up immediately and for free using Dropbox.
cherryplinth
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 4:44 pm
Location: sunny California

Post by cherryplinth »

Success (well, mostly). By disabling Goodle ArtFinder, I completely eliminated the error messages described above and am able to play the streams at least in WinAmp. I am sure there was a conflict between Google ArtFinder and StreamsTreeNode, but now we know how to work around the conflict. Thanks very much; both are very useful scripts.

I still seem to be having a problem with the MM plug-ins for AAC and OGG streams. All of the streams in the StreamsTreeNode script will play when I set my player to WinAmp. However, when I make MediaMonkey my player, it will not play the Digitally Imported streams. I have loaded and configured in_mp3.dll, in_mp4.dll, in_dsmp3.dll and in_vorbis.dll. I must be doing something wrong, but don't worry too much about it as I can always play the ACC/OGG streams in WinAmp.
Steegy
Posts: 3452
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 7:17 pm

Post by Steegy »

in_dsmp3-1.1.dll
in_mad-0.15.1b-2.dll
in_mp3-3.33.dll
in_mp3-3.41.dll
in_mp3PRO-1.2.dll
in_mp3s-2.0.0.dll
in_mp4-ac2.1.dll
in_vorbis-n1.43.dll
in_wm-3.0.dll
in_wma-1.2.dll
in_wmp3-1.3.dll
out_ds.dll

These are the plugins I currently use, and they play everything they have to. The input plugins can be found here.

To play AAC streams (or even always), make sure that you're using the latest MediaMonkey version available. (thx Cherryplinth)
Last edited by Steegy on Tue Dec 19, 2006 3:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Extensions: ExternalTools, ExtractFields, SongPreviewer, LinkedTracks, CleanImport, and some other scripts (Need Help with Addons > List of All Scripts).
Bex
Posts: 6316
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 5:44 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Bex »

Steegy,
How do you make the mp3pro plugin to only play mp3pro files?
Advanced Duplicate Find & Fix Find More From Same - Custom Search. | Transfer PlayStat & Copy-Paste Tags/AlbumArt between any tracks.
Tagging Inconsistencies Do you think you have your tags in order? Think again...
Play History & Stats Node Like having your Last-FM account stored locally, but more advanced.
Case & Leading Zero Fixer Works on filenames too!

All My Scripts
Steegy
Posts: 3452
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 7:17 pm

Post by Steegy »

I don't know if this possible. Most of the time, I keep "Enable (use mp3PRO Decoder for all .mp3 files)" unchecked (in the mp3pro plugin settings). I guess with that the plugin isn't active at all (I'm not sure, maybe it is active and passes the mp3 file on to the next plugin, if it's not an mp3pro mp3).
Anyway, I hope there don't exist much mp3pro files, because aac (m4a and such) is the new standard now, and much more widely supported.
Extensions: ExternalTools, ExtractFields, SongPreviewer, LinkedTracks, CleanImport, and some other scripts (Need Help with Addons > List of All Scripts).
Teknojnky
Posts: 5537
Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2005 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by Teknojnky »

Hi, I was just trying out this nifty script, but I get the following error when clicking on any of the internet streams nodes.


error #-2147024894-

file ...\streamsnode.vbs, line 146, column 2


then,

error happened during script execution:
the system cannnot find the file specified

is this error related to input plugins?

Im using the latest mad for mp3, and should be able to play aac/mp4 files (altho I don't have any to test).

actually, I think just realized what the problem is..

I don't have winamp at "c:\Program Files\Winamp\Winamp.exe", nor did I realize until now this uses winamp to play the stream instead of MM.
Bex
Posts: 6316
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 5:44 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Bex »

Me and Eyal discussed this a while ago and come up with this solution:
http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4888

But it isn't the very best workaround I've implemented so I got excited when I saw that you had both Mad and mp3pro plugin.

Btw, I only have like 11 albums with mp3pro and hope to be able to replace them sometimes in the future.
Advanced Duplicate Find & Fix Find More From Same - Custom Search. | Transfer PlayStat & Copy-Paste Tags/AlbumArt between any tracks.
Tagging Inconsistencies Do you think you have your tags in order? Think again...
Play History & Stats Node Like having your Last-FM account stored locally, but more advanced.
Case & Leading Zero Fixer Works on filenames too!

All My Scripts
Steegy
Posts: 3452
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 7:17 pm

Post by Steegy »

The new version of the script uses the internal MM player by default.

@Bex: ah, that thread was from before my time... that's why I don't remember it.
The best thing would be a "gateway" input plugin (or whatever it's called): that plugin would be used by MM to open .mp3 (mp3 or mp3pro) files. It'd look in the file to see what type it is, and then redirect the file to the actual input plugin needed to play the file (e.g. MAD for mp3, mp3pro decoder for mp3pro). That should be a piece of cake to make for someone with decent C/C++/Delphi programming and Winamp2 plugins knowledge (not me, maybe Peke).
Extensions: ExternalTools, ExtractFields, SongPreviewer, LinkedTracks, CleanImport, and some other scripts (Need Help with Addons > List of All Scripts).
cherryplinth
Posts: 38
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 4:44 pm
Location: sunny California

Post by cherryplinth »

Thank you so much, Steegy. Your complete listing of input dll's did the trick. The one thing I would add to your instructions is to be sure to get the latest version of MM. I had not updated my version since last summer, and even with your new dll's, I still could not get the AAC streams to play. But as soon as I updated MM to version 2.5.4.978, everything works like a charm. Now I have to figure out how to get Real streams to play using the Tara plug-in.

I think your posting above is going to get a lot of views.
Bex
Posts: 6316
Joined: Fri May 21, 2004 5:44 am
Location: Sweden

Post by Bex »

Steegy wrote:The new version of the script uses the internal MM player by default.

@Bex: ah, that thread was from before my time... that's why I don't remember it.
The best thing would be a "gateway" input plugin (or whatever it's called): that plugin would be used by MM to open .mp3 (mp3 or mp3pro) files. It'd look in the file to see what type it is, and then redirect the file to the actual input plugin needed to play the file (e.g. MAD for mp3, mp3pro decoder for mp3pro). That should be a piece of cake to make for someone with decent C/C++/Delphi programming and Winamp2 plugins knowledge (not me, maybe Peke).
Cool! I would like to have one for sure!

Peke?
Advanced Duplicate Find & Fix Find More From Same - Custom Search. | Transfer PlayStat & Copy-Paste Tags/AlbumArt between any tracks.
Tagging Inconsistencies Do you think you have your tags in order? Think again...
Play History & Stats Node Like having your Last-FM account stored locally, but more advanced.
Case & Leading Zero Fixer Works on filenames too!

All My Scripts
Post Reply