Suddenly couldnt connect (solved but have question)

Get answers about how to share with different devices.

Moderator: Gurus

AlanH
Posts: 154
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 3:54 pm

Suddenly couldnt connect (solved but have question)

Post by AlanH » Sun Oct 02, 2016 10:50 am

Hi,

Suddenly MMA would not connect to MMW wirelessly nor could I see MM Library from my ipad via UPnP. After much farting about I realised windows firewall was blocking it even tho all the rules stated MM should be allowed.

I came across a post on here suggesting change the port number and this cured it, with windows asking me if I wanted to allow MM.

Here's the question - what port number is best I changed it to 8000 but is this ok?

Thanks Alan

Peke
Posts: 12368
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Suddenly couldnt connect (solved but have question)

Post by Peke » Sun Oct 02, 2016 12:16 pm

Hi,
Anything over 51000 they are dynamic ports.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

AlanH
Posts: 154
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 3:54 pm

Re: Suddenly couldnt connect (solved but have question)

Post by AlanH » Sun Oct 02, 2016 1:26 pm

Thanks for the quick response. All sorted and I'm a happy bunny again.

tothebeat
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: Suddenly couldnt connect (solved but have question)

Post by tothebeat » Sun Oct 02, 2016 4:35 pm

I'm having the same problem.

How do I go about changing the port?

Thanks,
John

AlanH
Posts: 154
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 3:54 pm

Re: Suddenly couldnt connect (solved but have question)

Post by AlanH » Sun Oct 02, 2016 5:02 pm

Tools/ options/ media sharing (under library).

Make sure the server is enabled and running. Click on it and select options bottom right. Click on the server tab on the new window and you will see where it says Port.

tothebeat
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: Suddenly couldnt connect (solved but have question)

Post by tothebeat » Sun Oct 02, 2016 7:36 pm

I was looking at that, but it's already set above 51000 as you suggest.

As soon as I turn off the Windows Firewall everything works fine.

Anything else I can try?

Peke
Posts: 12368
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Suddenly couldnt connect (solved but have question)

Post by Peke » Sun Oct 02, 2016 9:24 pm

I would suggest that you:
1. close MMW
2. Go to "Control Panel\All Control Panel Items\Administrative Tools" (Copy/Paste to windows explorer)
3. Windows firewall
4. Delete any rules naming MediaMonkey and close Windows Firewall
5. Install MMW on top of existing
6. Start MMW and Allow all settings if prompt
7. Try to sync now.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

AlanH
Posts: 154
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 3:54 pm

Re: Suddenly couldnt connect (solved but have question)

Post by AlanH » Mon Oct 03, 2016 4:07 am

tothebeat wrote:I was looking at that, but it's already set above 51000 as you suggest.

As soon as I turn off the Windows Firewall everything works fine.

Anything else I can try?
I just changed the number and saved it, the next time I tried sync windows firewall asked me if I wanted to ollow access.

tothebeat
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2007 2:30 pm

Re: Suddenly couldnt connect (solved but have question)

Post by tothebeat » Mon Oct 03, 2016 7:15 pm

Thanks Peke. That took care of it.

I saw those rules in there last night, but was hesitant to do anything with them. I appreciate you pointing me in the right direction.

Peke
Posts: 12368
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Suddenly couldnt connect (solved but have question)

Post by Peke » Mon Oct 03, 2016 9:49 pm

Hi,
Thx for confirming. Firewall rules are not much different from standard folder permissions, but should be allowed more carefully.

I'm personally using Windows firewall control from http://www.binisoft.org/wfc.php and it is working perfectly.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

Post Reply