Page 1 of 1

Playing music through Arcam Solo Music

Posted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 10:31 am
by trumanberic
Hi there,

I have some difficulties trying to play music from my Windows PC (Windows 10) using MediaMonkey through my Arcam Solo Music.
Now I understand that Arcam is not in this list of devices (https://www.mediamonkey.com/wiki/index. ... NA_Devices) but I presumed that didn't necessarily meant that it wouldn't work. May be no one ever tried with this system.

So Anyway, I'm a total newbie as you may have deducted so may be I got something wrong since the begining.

On Mediamonkey I have selected the UPnP /DNA device option but still when I play music it's only being played on my laptop, not display on the Arcam.
The Arcam detects two things about Mediamonkey (that is why I'm thinking that it is compatible after all).
1. Mediamonkey Library
2.Mediamonkeyserver

But there's more, If I tried to play directly through the Arcam, not from my laptop, from either on or the other of those 2 options it can not play saying that it is an unsupported format. Which is weird as it's MP3.

Anway, any help would be greatly appreciated !

Thank you very much for your ssuport and your attention.

Re: Streaming music through the Arcam Solo Music

Posted: Sat Nov 03, 2018 12:45 pm
by Lowlander
Do you mean right click Player and use Choose Player to choose the client? Which version of MediaMonkey?

Check the Auto-Conversion settings in the MediaMonkey Server to make sure it's not set to convert to a format that isn't supported. Also read the clients documentation. Sometimes they only support up to a certain bitrate or only CBR and not VBR or ABR.

Re: Streaming music through the Arcam Solo Music

Posted: Sun Nov 04, 2018 6:24 am
by trumanberic
Hello, thank you for your attention and your time.

That's Mediamonkey 4.1.23.1881.

If I right click on the player I do not have the option to choose the client :-/
As for the auto conversion I'm using (well, tryin' to anyway) the free Mediamonkey so it's not something I could have (un)checked.

Thank you

Re: Streaming music through the Arcam Solo Music

Posted: Sun Nov 04, 2018 5:18 pm
by Lowlander
The device may not support play to (external control). You'll need to check with its documentation to make sure.

Capture the attempt to play media from MediaMonkey on the device in a debug log (step 4b) and attach the log to a Support Ticket: https://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewt ... ?f=20&t=69

Re: Streaming music through the Arcam Solo Music

Posted: Mon Nov 05, 2018 4:49 am
by Peke
Hi,
From what see in https://www.arcam.co.uk/ugc/tor/solomus ... 231117.pdf It supports DLNA Playback but it can't be selected as Renderer. You need to ask them about that.

Also make sure you have latest firmware from https://www.arcam.co.uk/products,Solo,M ... #downloads from what I see they added network info in OSD that should help you debug.

Re: Streaming music through the Arcam Solo Music

Posted: Sun Nov 11, 2018 11:24 am
by trumanberic
Hi ,
Thanks both of you for your posts.
Lowlander wrote:
Sun Nov 04, 2018 5:18 pm
...Capture the attempt to play media from MediaMonkey on the device in a debug log (step 4b) and attach the log to a Support Ticket: https://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewt ... ?f=20&t=69
I'm afraid I don't know how to do that .
Peke wrote:
Mon Nov 05, 2018 4:49 am
...make sure you have latest firmware from https://www.arcam.co.uk/products,Solo,M ... #downloads from what I see they added network info in OSD that should help you debug.
I actually already checked that directly from the Arcam firmware menu, it indicated it was update . So I don't think I could do anything more.

Thanx for your help anyway

Re: Streaming music through the Arcam Solo Music

Posted: Sun Nov 11, 2018 5:45 pm
by Lowlander
1) Install debug version of MediaMonkey
2) Download and Run DBGView
3) Run MediaMonkey and play files from the device
4) Once problem occurs save the log in DBGView and attach to a Support Ticket

Re: Streaming music through the Arcam Solo Music

Posted: Thu Nov 15, 2018 4:06 pm
by trumanberic
Sorry , I miss something.
Debug version of Mediamonkey ? Where to find it ? Should I delete the version I have ? Re create a librairy with a "debug" version ?
When I launch Debug I don't see any " start" Icon. Could I try that with Wireshark for example ? I tried it once, my be I 'd more familiar with it.

Thank you .

Re: Streaming music through the Arcam Solo Music

Posted: Fri Nov 16, 2018 3:05 pm
by Lowlander
Instructions were posted above and contains link to both debug version of MediaMonkey and DBGView: https://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewt ... ?f=20&t=69

DBGView will capture anything if a program generates it. MediaMonkey debug version does this.