MM keeps corrupting its database

Report bugs & feature requests for MediaMonkey for Android and learn about the newest beta build.

Moderator: Gurus

rothschild86
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 4:08 pm

MM keeps corrupting its database

Post by rothschild86 » Mon Mar 07, 2016 6:30 pm

This is new severe bug in the latest release.

I sync my MM and head out of the door. Everything plays fine on my drive to work.

On the drive from work, none of the music plays. MM just rapidly skips through the whole list one track at a time until it gets to the end.

I get home and sync again. Everything starts working again. The next day it no longer works again.


Missing the days when everything in MM Android was more stable...

Lowlander
Posts: 46185
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: MM keeps corrupting its database

Post by Lowlander » Tue Mar 08, 2016 3:22 pm

Which version of MMA, MMW and Android? Are the files synced to the internal or external (SD) memory?
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

rothschild86
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 4:08 pm

Re: MM keeps corrupting its database

Post by rothschild86 » Wed Mar 09, 2016 10:10 am

latest win(4.1.11.1783) and android (1.1.3.0554)

external memory on lollipop. ever since you rolled out that "fix" for sd cards.

Lowlander
Posts: 46185
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: MM keeps corrupting its database

Post by Lowlander » Wed Mar 09, 2016 11:07 am

Try to send a debug log (from About) screen right after this happens. Reply here with the logID for reference or open a Support Ticket with the logID.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

rothschild86
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 4:08 pm

Re: MM keeps corrupting its database

Post by rothschild86 » Thu Mar 10, 2016 10:14 am

qb3kgrnarr

rothschild86
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 4:08 pm

Re: MM keeps corrupting its database

Post by rothschild86 » Thu Mar 17, 2016 11:23 am

I haven't been using MM at all (because of the above), but that's not stopping MM from chewing thru my battery...

https://www.dropbox.com/s/3fppuabzp7eje ... 3.png?dl=0

Image

icon
Posts: 31
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2009 6:21 am

Re: MM keeps corrupting its database

Post by icon » Tue Mar 22, 2016 12:42 pm

I think my issue is the same. Furthermore to corrupting the MM database, I think MM does delete afterwards the playlist as well. So this means also other programs are unable to play music.

I really hope, this is fixed soon. Currently, MM is nearly unusable

mcow
Posts: 820
Joined: Sun Sep 21, 2008 9:35 pm
Location: Cupertino, California

Re: MM keeps corrupting its database

Post by mcow » Fri Mar 25, 2016 12:27 am

I'm not sure if this is the same problem, but my database was apparently wiped out this morning. I rebooted the tablet (Android 4.2.2) and started MMA.
It sent Debug Log before I had a chance to tap any control within the program. (This would have been 24-Mar-16 between 12:00 and 12:30PM PDT.) When I restarted MMA, it was performing a full scan of the media.

I was able to play tracks with no problem, once the scan was complete. But when I started a sync, none of the play information was uploaded and MMA is going through a lengthy process of "matching new files."

MMA build 551. The sync location is on an SD card, but this is Android 4 and that's never been a problem before.

Also, I haven't updated MMA in quite some time, as the changes that I've seen posted have been primarily for storage issues with later versions of Android. This is the first time I've seen this problem in all those weeks.

toyzrme
Posts: 101
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 2:31 pm
Location: Cary, NC
Contact:

Re: MM keeps corrupting its database

Post by toyzrme » Thu Apr 26, 2018 4:51 pm

I thought maybe I had this fixed, but no....

I found I had PlayerPro still installed - removed it, and the DB stayed intact.... for 2 weeks. Then failed again.

I tried disabling updates of ALL apps, and again, it seemed like that fixed it.... but within a week or two, again, DB corrupted.

My music is on an SD card (200GB), and I have seen references to people having problems with mounting of some cards on some phones. I have seen no *direct* evidence of this happening on my phone. The *only* symptom I seem to be having is with MediaMonkey.

The weird thing is that after it re-scans all of the tracks, the Playlists (which still exist in the SD card directory) now show as *flat* in MMA, *not* in a hierarchy. If I delete the playlists, and re-sync, in MMA they show again properly in a hierarchy.

Is there any way to prevent this kind of behavior?
Environment:
MMW: ~25,000 tracks, MM.DB on 16Gbps PCIe SSD (Samsung 950 Pro) - up-to-date, not Beta
MMA: ~12,000 tracks sync'd to phone - up-to-date, not Beta
PC: Windows 10/64, Skylake quad+HT @4.2GHz, 32GB RAM, 14TB RAID6
Phone: Galaxy S7 (32GB) + 200GB mSD card (Samsung EVO+)
Sync: all tracks rated >=3 sync'd to phone
.........all playlists only use tracks rated >=3
.........thus sync'ing is 99.99% playlist update - no tracks are sync'd, other than new purchases
Playlists: ~59 synced
..........most are auto-playlists
..........use attributes Rating, Last Played, Date recorded, Genre, Genre "contains", Path "contains"
..........many are nested, i.e. "Top AutoPlaylist" includes "Level 2 AutoPL #1" + "Level 2 AutoPL #2" etc.

Lowlander
Posts: 46185
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: MM keeps corrupting its database

Post by Lowlander » Fri Apr 27, 2018 12:45 pm

No, only direct MMW to MMA sync maintains hierarchy as this is a database transaction. So as the database is corrupted, this is also lost.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Post Reply