"Sync Server" - where is it?

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows 8/RT

Moderator: Gurus

cncb
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 1:59 pm

"Sync Server" - where is it?

Post by cncb » Fri Jun 21, 2013 10:40 am

Where is this "sync server" that is referred to? I can't find it in the MM Settings or available addons download area. Also, can it be used to sync the standard desktop version on a different PC? Thanks.

Lowlander
Posts: 46188
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: "Sync Server" - where is it?

Post by Lowlander » Fri Jun 21, 2013 3:15 pm

The "Server" is available in MediaMonkey for Windows 4.1 (Tools > Options > Media Sharing). MediaMonkey for Metro can sync from MediaMonkey for Windows (not to).
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

cncb
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 1:59 pm

Re: "Sync Server" - where is it?

Post by cncb » Fri Jun 21, 2013 3:50 pm

All I see there is the DLNA server, not a special "sync" server. Also, I meant sync to MM for Windows from another MM for Windows (not using Metro at all).

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: "Sync Server" - where is it?

Post by nohitter151 » Fri Jun 21, 2013 4:41 pm

cncb wrote:All I see there is the DLNA server, not a special "sync" server. Also, I meant sync to MM for Windows from another MM for Windows (not using Metro at all).
It's only in the MM 4.1 beta version, and wifi sync only applies to MediaMonkey Android or MediaMonkey metro versions.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

wormywyrm
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 4:40 pm

Re: "Sync Server" - where is it?

Post by wormywyrm » Fri Jul 26, 2013 12:29 am

I am a bit confused too. I have a PC, a surface RT, and a windows phone. I can put a 'sync server' on my PC to make my RT and windows phone sync to it? Sounds awesome but the functionality seems somewhat hidden...
MM to Grooveshark Playlist Sync w/ MonkeyShark.
http://lysle.net/projects/monkeyshark.php

wormywyrm
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 4:40 pm

Re: "Sync Server" - where is it?

Post by wormywyrm » Fri Jul 26, 2013 1:09 am

So I set up this 'upnp/DLNA' server for my PC as instructed here:
http://www.mediamonkey.com/wiki/index.p ... ervers/4.0

But I don't know where to go on my surface RT to tell it to sync to the PC. Under 'upnp' I see a new icon for 'MediaMonkey Server (my-PC)' that has appeared, but when I click on it I just see some folders with a large complex file structure and a couple songs at the end of it that I can play. I don't see any syncing options. I thought there would be a place to, as the tutorial explained, put in this:

http://<Network IP address>:<Port#>/DeviceDescription.xml

I even got dynIP and a static router IP set up nice so I could access my PC while I am halfway around the world from my tablet. But I don't know where to enter the address.
MM to Grooveshark Playlist Sync w/ MonkeyShark.
http://lysle.net/projects/monkeyshark.php

Lowlander
Posts: 46188
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: "Sync Server" - where is it?

Post by Lowlander » Fri Jul 26, 2013 10:19 am

In the Settings of MM8 is where you can setup sync.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

wormywyrm
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 4:40 pm

Re: "Sync Server" - where is it?

Post by wormywyrm » Fri Jul 26, 2013 11:17 am

Oh ok, this works even if the two devices are not on the same network, right? Because I am going to be away from my PC for 6 months in a couple weeks. I don't want to buy it otherwise and the way it makes it sound I thought it wasn't what I was looking for.
MM to Grooveshark Playlist Sync w/ MonkeyShark.
http://lysle.net/projects/monkeyshark.php

wormywyrm
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 4:40 pm

Re: "Sync Server" - where is it?

Post by wormywyrm » Fri Jul 26, 2013 12:09 pm

Ok I paid... IMO this is very misleading. First of all, after I paid I still couldn't find the sync server. From the tablet I found a link that is semi-hidden saying 'email the sync server' so I click that and I had to send an email to myself with a link to the media monkey website, which just says that the sync server is part of the new MM for PC and I have to download the newest beta of MM.

Part of me doesn't mind, but there was this tinge of anger that I am paying to participate in a software beta and I was not informed before my purchase that it is a beta. That is unprofessional.

But I installed the beta and it seems fine it hasnt been buggy on me or anything. I moved my database files over to the beta and I opened the sync option in mediamonkey for windows 8. It had some pretty simple steps to connect and sync with the PC. At one point, I had to click something on the PC saying it is OK to connect. Right now I am watching a windows 8 'loading' circle in the top right corner of mediamonkey for windows 8. At first I had no idea how long it would take to sync my files, but now I realize that if you press the circle it tells you. I am very curious what the file structure will look like on my surface RT once the syncing is complete. I am even more curious if I add/remove files, modify playlists, ratings, and play counts on my RT while I am in japan over the next few months, will it update the PC when I return and sync? I'll try to remember to post answers to those Q's when I find out.

I felt like I needed to write this because after looking all over the forums and internet there really is no guide or explanation of how to sync the MM apps. I feel like the devs at mediamonkey cater to hobbiest too much and they feel their time is too important to make simplified guides to their product. I suppose you could consider me an ex-hobbiest, I used to love tinkering with MM but now its become a drag.
MM to Grooveshark Playlist Sync w/ MonkeyShark.
http://lysle.net/projects/monkeyshark.php

Lowlander
Posts: 46188
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: "Sync Server" - where is it?

Post by Lowlander » Fri Jul 26, 2013 2:40 pm

MM8 and the corresponding MMW 4.1 are still beta products and thus things will still change. This means that MMW documentation hasn't been updated and MM8 (as well as MMA) documentation hasn't been written due to continuing changes till the final release.

In the announcement for MM8 it mentions MMW 4.1 beta is required: http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 81#p355281
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

wormywyrm
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 4:40 pm

Re: "Sync Server" - where is it?

Post by wormywyrm » Sat Jul 27, 2013 8:40 pm

Here is an update. It has been 24 hours or so, and my music is still syncing. It is a little frustrating because I have to go to the sync page everytime the app crashes and tell it to start syncing again, otherwise it doesnt seem to want to sync automatically (or at least the circle doesn't appear, I am not entirely sure). I only have 300 songs to go though so I will wait for those and see if my playlists load in or not. I am worried the playlists are not going to load in because none of them have yet...
MM to Grooveshark Playlist Sync w/ MonkeyShark.
http://lysle.net/projects/monkeyshark.php

wormywyrm
Posts: 73
Joined: Tue Jan 12, 2010 4:40 pm

Re: "Sync Server" - where is it?

Post by wormywyrm » Mon Jul 29, 2013 9:38 pm

So my music successfully and completely has synced! Wow that took a while :o I guess that is wireless for you though.

Two Way Syncing
Looks like syncing almost works both ways for ratings. The ratings went into MM8 successfully from MMW during the first sync. I then changed the rating of one of my songs and it updated into MMW after syncing. I then changed it back on MMW and synced again, but it did not update the ratings into MM8. It might be worth noting that the sync never shows at completely finishes in MM8, it always gets stuck on 'Syncing playlists to server'.

Automatic Syncing
This does not seem to be a feature right now, you must manually sync everytime you want to sync. You manually sync by: swiping from right -> choose 'settings' --> choose 'Synchronization' --> wait for screen to load --> choose 'Configure Sync Settings' --> wait for connection to remote server --> choose 'Sync Now'. Hopefully an option to automatically start syncing when you open MM8 will appear soon.

Playlist Glitches
The syncing feature might not be too friendly with playlists. It often gets stuck while syncing at 'Syncing playlists to server'. Also, when I click on playlists my MM8 crashes within 2-3 seconds, before I can click a playlist to play.
MM to Grooveshark Playlist Sync w/ MonkeyShark.
http://lysle.net/projects/monkeyshark.php

PetrCBR
Posts: 1640
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 5:31 pm
Location: Czech
Contact:

Re: "Sync Server" - where is it?

Post by PetrCBR » Wed Jul 31, 2013 2:48 am

When you already have set sync settings, you can click on 'Sync' button in top app bar (swipe from top border).

Post Reply