MediaMonkey for Windows 8 Metro App

Moderator: Gurus

napoca
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 11:16 pm
Location: Canada

Re: MediaMonkey for Windows 8 Metro App

Post by napoca » Mon Feb 11, 2013 6:26 pm

MiPi wrote:
napoca wrote: OK, I can't wait until next version and thanks for quick answer.
Just please be patient, not all bugs will be fixed in the next release :-) Next release should include fix of album art reading from MP3, reading artwork from FLAC will be probably in the subsequent release after, together with huge memory optimizations.
I don't think I have that patience :). This is the best looking app in it's category I've seen so far and it's quite frustrating not being able to fully enjoy it.

Anyhow, I appreciate the effort you put into releasing this one and I understand it cannot be perfect from the very beginning. I also understand you have priorities and unfortunately flac users is not one right now. I converted some albums to MP3 but still no luck, ratings are OK now but still no artwork, probably has to do with the size of the artwork embedded in original flac files. Meanwhile I am going to use MM in desktop mode and hope for the best - my fingers seems to be too thick for this screen size.

Darryl_Gittins
Posts: 270
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2005 11:48 am

Re: MediaMonkey for Windows 8 Metro App

Post by Darryl_Gittins » Mon Feb 11, 2013 6:43 pm

I second that "This is the best looking app in it's category". Nice job!

Has anyone tested to see if you can add music tracks from an SD card to MM RT without having to engage the hackery described here?
http://winsupersite.com/article/windows ... pps-144658

MMRT instantly found the music on my SD card, but I already had applied Paul Thurrott's hack. I'd like to know if MM RT needs the hack but I don't want to undo the hack to find out.

(OK, I'm lazy!)

napoca
Posts: 13
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 11:16 pm
Location: Canada

Re: MediaMonkey for Windows 8 Metro App

Post by napoca » Mon Feb 11, 2013 11:50 pm

Darryl_Gittins wrote:Has anyone tested to see if you can add music tracks from an SD card to MM RT without having to engage the hackery described here?
http://winsupersite.com/article/windows ... pps-144658

MMRT instantly found the music on my SD card, but I already had applied Paul Thurrott's hack. I'd like to know if MM RT needs the hack but I don't want to undo the hack to find out.
I don't have a tablet with Windows RT anymore, exchanged it for one with Windows 8. I tried to include a folder located on the SD card to Music library and I got the message that "the folder cannot be included because it's on a removable device", so I assume you can keep the hack.

jiri
Posts: 5388
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: MediaMonkey for Windows 8 Metro App

Post by jiri » Wed Feb 13, 2013 3:48 am

This became quite a monster thread where it's hard to find any relevant information, so please start a new thread for any particular problem/question you might have.

To answer some questions raised here:
- SD cards scanning works well in MM8, there isn't any known issue
- Stability issues - will be resolved in the next release

Jiri

ShadowXhawk

Re: MediaMonkey for Windows 8 Metro App

Post by ShadowXhawk » Wed Feb 13, 2013 5:38 pm

PetrCBR wrote:Thanks ShadowXhawk,

reproduced and will be fixed in next release.
Hi PetrCBR - thanks for addressing this issue. I installed the latest release of MM8 last night and most of my mp3 album art are now showing up. However, there are a few that are still not displaying, they show up fine on MM desktop and Xbox Music. An example of a mp3 file still with the issue is here: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/5775935/Break%2 ... 0world.mp3

If you guys need me to open new thread on this instead, just let me know.

PetrCBR
Posts: 1605
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 5:31 pm
Location: Czech
Contact:

Re: MediaMonkey for Windows 8 Metro App

Post by PetrCBR » Wed Feb 13, 2013 8:00 pm

Thank ShadowXhawk,

will be fixed in next release.

Renwick
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Aug 26, 2012 5:08 pm

Re: MediaMonkey for Windows 8 Metro App

Post by Renwick » Sat Feb 16, 2013 4:12 pm

Hi, I have just loaded up the app on my Samsung 500T. All files loaded onto micro sd card play OK but as is the case with other users, most cover art is missing except it seems the ones which I have manually scanned. The artwork does come through through on XBMC and Windows Media player with I performed the original rip of the CD's. The app performs extremely well with uPnP access for streaming over home network from my NAS for which all the small thumbnails come through without exception.

I too appreciate this is relatively new product and you are continuing to work on the getting it up to speed. Keep up the good work and really looking forward your sorting this problem out.

Guest

Re: MediaMonkey for Windows 8 Metro App

Post by Guest » Fri Mar 01, 2013 8:46 pm

My Metro app shows none of my playlists and playing in the metro app does not update the playcount in the desktop app. Is this normal?

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: MediaMonkey for Windows 8 Metro App

Post by nohitter151 » Fri Mar 01, 2013 10:03 pm

Guest wrote:My Metro app shows none of my playlists and playing in the metro app does not update the playcount in the desktop app. Is this normal?
yes
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

Guest

Re: MediaMonkey for Windows 8 Metro App

Post by Guest » Fri Mar 01, 2013 11:19 pm

Well I would please like it to not be.

PetrCBR
Posts: 1605
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 5:31 pm
Location: Czech
Contact:

Re: MediaMonkey for Windows 8 Metro App

Post by PetrCBR » Sat Mar 02, 2013 9:40 am

Next version will support playlists. Play count cannot be updated directly because it uses different database than desktop version (only Wifi sync can update play counts).

rusty
Posts: 7175
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: MediaMonkey for Windows 8 Metro App

Post by rusty » Thu Mar 07, 2013 4:50 pm

Locking this thread because it's almost impossible to navigate, and it'd be easier if new threads were created to cover individual issues.

-Rusty

Locked