MM Android Pro can't find sync server [#15000]

Get answers about the current release of MediaMonkey for Android

Moderator: Gurus

CptCeeJay
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 01, 2018 7:31 am

MM Android Pro can't find sync server [#15000]

Post by CptCeeJay » Wed Aug 01, 2018 6:56 pm

Hello,
I have installed Media Monkey Gold v4 on my PC and Media Monkey Pro (Android) on my Samsung Note 8. My desktop uses a wired connection to the internet (no wifi) so I connect my Note 8 to my PC via USB cable. My PC can see my Samsung and SD card where I store my media but when I try to sync from my phone it hangs up at the "Select Sync Server" 'searching' step. What is supposed to happen at that point if I am not using wifi to connect to my PC? Any help you can provide is appreciated.
Thank you.
- CJ

Lowlander
Posts: 46270
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: MM Android Pro can't find sync server

Post by Lowlander » Thu Aug 02, 2018 10:34 am

Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Peke
Posts: 12495
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: MM Android Pro can't find sync server

Post by Peke » Sat Aug 04, 2018 8:32 pm

Hi,
Try to put MMA into scan Server mode and restart MMW while it is still scanning?

Does it shows MMW server then?
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

metalewd
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 8:02 am

Re: MM Android Pro can't find sync server

Post by metalewd » Fri Aug 10, 2018 5:36 pm

This has worked for me, but has stopped working. Cannot find server at all now. Doing total reinstall

metalewd
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 8:02 am

Re: MM Android Pro can't find sync server

Post by metalewd » Sun Aug 12, 2018 4:38 am

Hi this has turned into a disaster for me. Cannot sync via USB, haven't been able to for ages, and now my MMA cannot find the server EXCEPT when I restart my phone. Then I am able to sync until I go back to another function in MMA, then I lose the connection. When my son turns on his laptop, my phone has no problem picking up his server.

metalewd
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 8:02 am

Re: MM Android Pro can't find sync server

Post by metalewd » Sun Aug 12, 2018 7:12 am

If I restart my PC, MMA finds the server and I can sync. But as soon as I do anything else, example exit the sync page in MMA, the connection is lost.

Lowlander
Posts: 46270
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: MM Android Pro can't find sync server

Post by Lowlander » Sun Aug 12, 2018 2:20 pm

Which version of MMA and MMW? Try a reboot of device, PC and router.

Wifi problems: http://www.mediamonkey.com/support/inde ... ork-at-all
USB problems: http://www.mediamonkey.com/support/inde ... tion-fails
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

metalewd
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 8:02 am

Re: MM Android Pro can't find sync server [#15000]

Post by metalewd » Sat Nov 17, 2018 2:53 pm

Hi back again.
I am using the latest MMW and MMA, I always do.
I now cannot sync at all via USB or WiFi.
Via USB it always says cannot sync to SD card. Do I need a new SD card?
I don’t think so it seems to work for everything else on my phone.
Via WIFI, well, having recently moved house, again, MMA does not recognize my device at all over
my network. Yes, I have reinstalled both MMA and MMW several times. I have rebooted my phone and my router several times. Yes all the correct boxes are ticked.
The only thing I haven’t done is a W10 reinstall and I was hoping to avoid that.
Very depressing as have been a loyal MM user for many years.

metalewd
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 8:02 am

Re: MM Android Pro can't find sync server [#15000]

Post by metalewd » Sun Nov 18, 2018 7:37 am

MMA will now sync to phone only after restart of PC and and possibly phone. After syncing a couple of times it freezes and I must restart server. I am not the only one with this problem, friends have reported same issue.

Peke
Posts: 12495
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: MM Android Pro can't find sync server [#15000]

Post by Peke » Sun Nov 18, 2018 9:01 am

Hi,
Not sure I follow. Are you saying that MMW server freeze after couple of syncs?
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

metalewd
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 8:02 am

Re: MM Android Pro can't find sync server [#15000]

Post by metalewd » Mon Nov 19, 2018 4:38 am

No, MMA freezes. Have to restart it and also restart PC.

Peke
Posts: 12495
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: MM Android Pro can't find sync server [#15000]

Post by Peke » Tue Nov 20, 2018 12:37 pm

Hi,
It is very strange behavior especially as MMA should not interfere with PC behavior. Only thing I can think of is taht there is Hardware problem (HDD bad sector) that lock PC during File read otherwise just MMW restart should resolve problem.

It would be good that we create complete Logs of MMA and MMW.

For MMA after restart Simply Send Debug log ⋮ -> About MediaMonkey -> Send Logs and write down log id before you send so that we can attach with MMW log.

For MMW Log you need to set DBGView to log directly to file (From File Menu) and follow steps described here https://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewt ... ?f=26&t=69

After all that Open support ticket and send us all collected information (compress to ZIP if needed to make them smaller).

Hopegully we will figure out what is going on.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

metalewd
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 8:02 am

Re: MM Android Pro can't find sync server [#15000]

Post by metalewd » Fri Nov 23, 2018 7:38 pm

Windows 10 / i7-6700K/ Crucial M4 250GB SSD / WD 2TB WDC WD20EARS-00MVWB0 / NETGEAR D7000 /
MMW - latest / LGV20 - Samsung Evo 64GB microSD / MMA - latest

https://www.mediafire.com/file/pjga6c88 ... C.rar/file

TedMM

Re: MM Android Pro can't find sync server [#15000]

Post by TedMM » Sat Mar 16, 2019 12:42 am

Same Problem. But i can provide some more information.

After starting the MM i need to go into the options and switch the UPNP/DLNA MediaMonkey Lib entry from automatic IP to static. After this the MM work again, but only for a decent time.

Regards.

metalewd
Posts: 23
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 8:02 am

Re: MM Android Pro can't find sync server [#15000]

Post by metalewd » Tue Apr 09, 2019 12:59 am

Yep I posted logs, probably didnt do it right or something. Didnt hear anything about them. Anyway my MM wifi is toast. does not work.

Post Reply