MM Android Pro can't find sync server [#15000]

Get answers about the current release of MediaMonkey for Android

Moderator: Gurus

Lowlander
Posts: 45761
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: MM Android Pro can't find sync server [#15000]

Post by Lowlander » Tue Apr 09, 2019 10:08 am

A bug entry has been associated with this: https://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=15000
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Peke
Posts: 11986
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: MM Android Pro can't find sync server [#15000]

Post by Peke » Sun Apr 14, 2019 2:03 pm

To be more specific after Microsoft removed SMB 1.0 Support from Windows they also removed/broken NETBIOS Over TCP/IP making PCS not seen on Network tree node. Shortly said every device that respond to SMB 1.0 Packets are omitted from list due the "security reasons" eg. every Android Device still by default support SMB 1.0 and are rejected to connect.

As of several most recent Beta versions of MMA support manual add of MMW server and saving found servers so discovery and sync is much faster if you save servers.

This is known issue and they prolonged support for 14 years and as of Windows 10 v1803 (Creator update) it was removed from Pro and partially from Home version.

You can try fixing it as described at http://woshub.com/network-computers-not ... indows-10/

More info at:
https://social.technet.microsoft.com/Fo ... networking
https://www.google.com/search?q=Microso ... os+service

NOTE: I for example for the same reason I can't see my QNAP on LAN as it uses Static IP and custom DNS so Router DNS Server do not see it and when devices ask for MMW they do not see it unless they are searching at same time MMW is started. We plan to improve that in future versions but for now starting Serach for UPnP servers and then starting MMW is only workaround for now wher after first find you can save server for future syncs.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

Post Reply