MediaMonkey works great on Windows 7, Beta 1!

Discussion about anything that might be of interest to MediaMonkey users.

Moderator: Gurus

garbanzo
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 10:22 am

MediaMonkey works great on Windows 7, Beta 1!

Post by garbanzo » Fri Jan 09, 2009 5:22 am

I just thought I'd throw that out there.

Maybe later I can post a screenshot to get everyone drooling over 7's awesomeness :)

Lowlander
Posts: 46169
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: MediaMonkey works great on Windows 7, Beta 1!

Post by Lowlander » Fri Jan 09, 2009 10:28 am

The real question is if Windows 7 works :D

On a serious note all that works on Windows Vista should work on Windows 7 according to Microsoft.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

garbanzo
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2008 10:22 am

Re: MediaMonkey works great on Windows 7, Beta 1!

Post by garbanzo » Fri Jan 09, 2009 11:46 am

According to Microsoft...

But in the real world, I've experienced quite a few software problems with the beta...

Lowlander
Posts: 46169
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: MediaMonkey works great on Windows 7, Beta 1!

Post by Lowlander » Fri Jan 09, 2009 1:40 pm

It's a beta and for an OS it's not surprising.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

deusdiabolus
Posts: 93
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2005 11:48 am
Contact:

Re: MediaMonkey works great on Windows 7, Beta 1!

Post by deusdiabolus » Sun Jan 11, 2009 5:10 pm

That's good to know...I was toying with the idea of downloading the beta, but I can't decide if I should try it out now and risk disabling something I use on a regular basis, or just focus on upgrading my computer and wait for the release version (or another beta).
Image

Peter91

Re: MediaMonkey works great on Windows 7, Beta 1!

Post by Peter91 » Wed Jan 14, 2009 4:35 am

Yeah works fine =) Only I would like a proper micro player for windows 7 ;)

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: MediaMonkey works great on Windows 7, Beta 1!

Post by nohitter151 » Wed Jan 14, 2009 1:20 pm

Peter91 wrote:Yeah works fine =) Only I would like a proper micro player for windows 7 ;)
What do you mean here? I've been using the Windows 7 beta for a few days now and the MM microplayer works fine (actually, even better than it did in Vista and XP!)
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

Lowlander
Posts: 46169
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: MediaMonkey works great on Windows 7, Beta 1!

Post by Lowlander » Thu Jan 15, 2009 11:58 am

For those using Windows 7 you might want to be aware about the MP3 Bug and get the fix, before anything happens to your music.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Blake
Posts: 801
Joined: Fri Oct 13, 2006 3:39 am
Location: Geelong, Victoria, Australia

Re: MediaMonkey works great on Windows 7, Beta 1!

Post by Blake » Sat Jan 17, 2009 6:04 am

I've had a couple of issues with MM + Win7 (x64). Mostly involving confusion between the "superbar" and the tray.

So far I think build 6801 (the pre-beta) was much more stable than this release but overall its pretty nice. I'd love to see MM with Jumplist compatibility in the future.
garbanzo wrote:According to Microsoft...

But in the real world, I've experienced quite a few software problems with the beta...
Yep. Ive had problems too with programs that worked fine on vista (and build 6801) but Im gonna assume thats because of it being 64-bit.

mbmalone
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Dec 07, 2008 10:32 am

Re: MediaMonkey works great on Windows 7, Beta 1!

Post by mbmalone » Sun Jan 18, 2009 9:32 am

MediaMonkey 3.1.0.1209 is working find on Windows 7 build 7000. I have been having some problems with Windows 7, it's like it's the real Vista and the Vista we've been given was just an inside joke. :o I would just like the file tag lookup to dig a little deeper and the duplicate finder to distinguish by the difference in the bitrate.

mistresso
Posts: 67
Joined: Sun Feb 24, 2008 11:15 am
Location: New Haven
Contact:

Re: MediaMonkey works great on Windows 7, Beta 1!

Post by mistresso » Fri Jan 23, 2009 12:13 pm

I've been hearing some good feedback on Windows 7 from other software developers.

Which is good for those of us who've managed to avoid Vista entirely. Have 4 computers in the house, all running XP still. Thank god for NewEgg still shipping copies of the old reliable OS.

MusicBringer
Posts: 622
Joined: Wed Oct 25, 2006 12:53 pm

Re: MediaMonkey works great on Windows 7, Beta 1!

Post by MusicBringer » Sun Feb 01, 2009 4:07 pm

mistresso wrote:I've been hearing some good feedback on Windows 7 from other software developers.
Which is good for those of us who've managed to avoid Vista entirely. Have 4 computers in the house, all running XP still
I have been using Win7/7000 for a week now.
I use MM3 constantly. It is on all the time. I have music playing throughout the day.
MM3 seems to work well with Seven, at least for me.
Like you, all other PCs are running XP (Pro). Never touched Vista. Don't intend to.
I just love the look and feel of Seven. So smooooth, so sleeek.
And some nice new features such as the Task Bar, and Snap - pinning windows to the side of the screen.
I think I am in love. :P
MediaMonkey user since 2006

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: MediaMonkey works great on Windows 7, Beta 1!

Post by nohitter151 » Sun Feb 01, 2009 4:37 pm

MusicBringer wrote: Never touched Vista. Don't intend to.
I just love the look and feel of Seven. So smooooth, so sleeek.
And some nice new features such as the Task Bar, and Snap - pinning windows to the side of the screen.
I think I am in love. :P
Haha, the look and feel of Win 7 is almost exactly the same as Vista. Funny how so many bad-mouthed it without ever even using it!
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

peter91

Re: MediaMonkey works great on Windows 7, Beta 1!

Post by peter91 » Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:08 pm

nohitter151 wrote:
Peter91 wrote:Yeah works fine =) Only I would like a proper micro player for windows 7 ;)
What do you mean here? I've been using the Windows 7 beta for a few days now and the MM microplayer works fine (actually, even better than it did in Vista and XP!)
Jup works fine =D My multimedia keyboard even works again =D
But the microplayer doesn't look that good, because it's made for a slim taskbar like vista/xp.

Guest

Re: MediaMonkey works great on Windows 7, Beta 1!

Post by Guest » Mon Apr 06, 2009 6:54 am

Hope that someone can make a plugin to use it like wmp=

Image

Post Reply