2170 - user error not surfaced = confusion

Report bugs & feature requests for MediaMonkey 5 and learn about the newest builds.

Moderator: Gurus

Barry4679
Posts: 631
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:07 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

2170 - user error not surfaced = confusion

Post by Barry4679 » Wed Apr 17, 2019 12:36 am

MM5 install doesn't seem to handle a corrupted ini file very well.

I have two MM4 db files at the moment, while I doing something for somebody.
They are in custom locations, and I have one, or the other of them, commented out in MMs ini file.
I made a mistake with my ini comment line ... ie. I used a # in column 1 (like Python), instead if semi colon and blank in cols 1&2

MM4 handles this error OK, and sees the line as a comment. But MM5 config import and db conversion does not ... nb. I am doing a portable install.
I know that this is a user error, but should report the error to the user.

What MM5 does do is very confusing, and should be improved:
  • it offers to import config and db from MM4
  • it then displays the imported db, and allows you to interact with it
  • but if you stop, then restart MM, the db is empty
  • if you look into the portable folder, the converted db is there, but the ini file still shows the MM4 db location(s)
  • and to add to the confusion MM does not seem to be recognising that this is a portable install ... the MM5 db backup facility shows that MM is now using an empty db in c:\users\xxxx\Appdata|Roaming etc etc
MM5 install should surface this user error, or should accept the line as a comment, like MM4 does.

[UPDATE] problem persists, but is not related to ini file ... see next post
Last edited by Barry4679 on Wed Apr 17, 2019 5:13 am, edited 1 time in total.

Barry4679
Posts: 631
Joined: Fri Sep 11, 2009 8:07 am
Location: Australia
Contact:

Re: 2170 - user error not surfaced = confusion

Post by Barry4679 » Wed Apr 17, 2019 5:12 am

Apologies. I misunderstood what I was seeing. The problem remains, but does not seem to be related to the ini file.

I can't get portable mode to work any more.

As described in 1st post:
  • install MM5 in portable mode
  • accept offer in import from MM4
  • MM5 opens, and the db seems to be populated with MM4 settings and data
  • close MM5 and then restart MM5
  • ? MM5 offers to import MM4 data again ... it doesn't seem to recognise that it is a portable install ... when it opens it thinks that the db is at c:\users\xxxx\Appdata|Roaming etc etc
let me know if you are unable to replicate ... I can make a debug log

Post Reply