[build 3.0.0.1120]selection of songs in "now playing&am

Any ideas about how to improve MediaMonkey? Let us know!

Moderator: Gurus

Pastis
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 12:41 pm
Contact:

[build 3.0.0.1120]selection of songs in "now playing&am

Post by Pastis »

Hello guys, thank you again for your great work!
I just want to report a strange bug: when i want to select differents titles in "now playing" with the mouse:

Image

when a title is selected, all the list move quickly, and it moves again when it is deselected (when the rectangle of selection touch them, like you can see on the screen shot).
When the list moves, it's impossible to see what i'm doing...

Is it clear, or not at all? :-? i do my best ... :)

Thank you!

i reported the same bug with mm3 build 3.0.0.1081
Last edited by Pastis on Wed Dec 19, 2007 12:31 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Morten
Posts: 1092
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 11:31 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by Morten »

This is not a bug, but the simple thing that MediaMonkey's selection goes after how long the name is. This should be changed though.
Best regards,
Morten
powerpill-pacman
Posts: 154
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Post by powerpill-pacman »

I think this isn't what Pastis is trying to describe (allthough the behaviour you state should be changed).
It is exactly as he's describing it. When you have a long list and you try to select tracks rom the top to position 30 or so, the list scrolls down (or up if you do it the other way round) very fast, so that you can't perform a proper selection.
Windows 7 Ultimate (64bit) - MediaMonkey 3.2.4.1304
My music on Soundcloud
some more on Last.fm
if you really like my music...
Morten
Posts: 1092
Joined: Thu Aug 11, 2005 11:31 am
Location: Norway
Contact:

Post by Morten »

Ah. I see the problem now.
Best regards,
Morten
Peke
Posts: 13479
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Post by Peke »

This is intendant behavior, same thing is Happening in Windows Explorer if you look folder in Details view.

From what I understand you wanted more like Excel selection behavior?
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
Pastis
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 12:41 pm
Contact:

Post by Pastis »

Thank you guys for your answers, and to understand what i'm talking about :)

I don't remember that "bug" in previous mm2 releases...

I didn't notice the problem using Windows Explorer, with details view :-?
Is someone can observe it?

I don't know what is an Excel selection behaviour... what was the one used on mm2?

The purpose of my post is only to have a clear way to select the songs in "now playing" list :)

Thank you so much again!
:)
powerpill-pacman
Posts: 154
Joined: Mon Feb 21, 2005 1:07 pm
Location: berlin, germany
Contact:

Post by powerpill-pacman »

For me the problem is that it scrolls so fast, you can't control the selection.
Windows 7 Ultimate (64bit) - MediaMonkey 3.2.4.1304
My music on Soundcloud
some more on Last.fm
if you really like my music...
Pastis
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 12:41 pm
Contact:

Post by Pastis »

the same problem i tried to describe :) you're clearer than me, thank you ;)
Peke
Posts: 13479
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Post by Peke »

THX powerpill for clearing this out, yes scroll deadpoints can be tricky.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
Pastis
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 12:41 pm
Contact:

Post by Pastis »

Sorry for my ignorance Peke (i'm french), what do you mean saying "scroll deadpoints can be tricky"
What do you call a deadpoint?

thank you!
Peke
Posts: 13479
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Post by Peke »

Deadpoint are mouse regions on the edges that control scroll speed when you move mouse over them something similar to Scroll function on mouse middle key click when you browse in Explorer.

I hope I explain you little, please do not mind but English is not my native too.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
Pastis
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 12:41 pm
Contact:

Post by Pastis »

ok! i think i understood :) (i read 5 or 6 times)

Thank you peke ;)

Do you think it could be fixed in next release?

Have a nice day :)
Pastis
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 12:41 pm
Contact:

Post by Pastis »

A little update ^^

Build 1097 is out and the bug is still here :)
rusty
Posts: 7318
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

Variable speed selection

Post by rusty »

Hi. I like the idea, but it's probably not critical for 3.0. Moving to the wishlist for evaluation in the next version.

-Rusty
GargantulaKon
Posts: 155
Joined: Sat Oct 06, 2007 1:54 pm
Contact:

Post by GargantulaKon »

Can someone post an image? I cannot reproduce the bug. I am trying to see if I have it too.
MediaMonkey Gold (Lifetime)
- If my configuration's specifications are helpful, please go here.
Post Reply