Global shortcuts not always detected [#8030]

Beta Testing for Windows Products and plugins

Moderator: Gurus

alirezanoori
Posts: 163
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 5:55 am

Global shortcuts not always detected [#8030]

Post by alirezanoori » Thu Jun 23, 2011 9:11 am

Global shortcuts in MM are not always detected. When I was using Winamp before moving to MM, they would always work no matter which software had the focus. But in MM sometimes in some softwares it doesn't work and I have to click on taskbar and hit the global keyboard shortcut. Some of these softwares include: Most of the games, Visual Studio, Eclipse, etc.

Regards.

nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: Global shortcuts not always detected.

Post by nohitter151 » Thu Jun 23, 2011 10:42 am

MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.

alirezanoori
Posts: 163
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 5:55 am

Re: Global shortcuts not always detected.

Post by alirezanoori » Thu Jun 23, 2011 12:00 pm

I added
PreferLLKeysHook=0 and PreferLLKeysHook=1 to MediaMonkey.ini and none of them helped.

rusty
Posts: 7175
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Global shortcuts not always detected.

Post by rusty » Thu Jun 23, 2011 2:58 pm

alirezanoori,

Can you tell me what OS you're using?

Also, an example of a lightweight game that I can install that triggers this failure, if possible.

Thanks.

-Rusty

alirezanoori
Posts: 163
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 5:55 am

Re: Global shortcuts not always detected.

Post by alirezanoori » Thu Jun 23, 2011 4:24 pm

Win7 x64, I don't have a game right now but I think eclipse would help you better. None of shortcuts works when it has the focus (for example ctrl+alt+x):
http://www.eclipse.org/downloads/packag ... rs/indigor

rusty
Posts: 7175
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Global shortcuts not always detected.

Post by rusty » Thu Jun 23, 2011 4:37 pm

Now that's a nice lightweight package ;-)

rusty
Posts: 7175
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Global shortcuts not always detected.

Post by rusty » Fri Jun 24, 2011 1:23 pm

fyi, can't replicate. Tested Win7 x64 with Eclipse package and global keys worked fine.

Are you sure that the keys are set to 'Global'? I've made the mistake of checking off 'Global' and clicking 'OK', but forgetting to click the 'Apply' button.

-Rusty

alirezanoori
Posts: 163
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 5:55 am

Re: Global shortcuts not always detected.

Post by alirezanoori » Fri Jun 24, 2011 1:38 pm

Yes I'm sure. As I said it works in other softwares. If I click on taskar it works. Maybe you should run eclipse as admin. (Also note that my eclipse is Helios, one version before the version I posted the link) I couldn't find Helios' link. But I don't think that's the case.
One more thing, if I hold down ctrl+alt and hit 'b' a few times (to skip song in my settings), after a few times it won't work. I have to release ctrl+alt and hold them again.

rusty
Posts: 7175
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Global shortcuts not always detected.

Post by rusty » Fri Jun 24, 2011 3:32 pm

One other question: What keyboard / driver are you using?

-Rusty

alirezanoori
Posts: 163
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 5:55 am

Re: Global shortcuts not always detected.

Post by alirezanoori » Fri Jun 24, 2011 3:40 pm

Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000
Microsoft IntelliType Pro

rusty
Posts: 7175
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Global shortcuts not always detected.

Post by rusty » Fri Jun 24, 2011 4:39 pm

This isn't a fix, but a workaround would be to uninstall the intellitype software.

-Rusty

alirezanoori
Posts: 163
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 5:55 am

Re: Global shortcuts not always detected.

Post by alirezanoori » Fri Jun 24, 2011 10:09 pm

But how come the Winamp works fine as well as some other software?
I closed MM, opened Winamp, set the exact SAME shortcust, opened Eclipse and hit the keys, they worked perfectly. Also there isn't any timeout for the keys. I could hold CTRL+ALT for hours and hit 'B' to skip song, they would always work. IMHO you should change the method you're using for global hotkeys. I don't know how they're implemented. I will create just a test software mysel for this and see if my approach would work. I don't think that IntelliType is the problem.

rusty
Posts: 7175
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Global shortcuts not always detected.

Post by rusty » Sat Jun 25, 2011 9:22 pm

Sure--there's obviously room to improve the hotkey implementation. My point is that we're probably not going to make such a major change at this stage of the 4.0 development cycle, so I'm just offering a workaround until a proper fix can be implemented.

-Rusty

alirezanoori
Posts: 163
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 5:55 am

Re: Global shortcuts not always detected.

Post by alirezanoori » Sat Jun 25, 2011 9:52 pm

Thanks. I just want MM to improve. I can live with current situation. ;)

jiri
Posts: 5388
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Global shortcuts not always detected [#8030]

Post by jiri » Tue Jun 28, 2011 5:18 am

I have just tested on Win7 x64 and it works fine for me. It should work in the default configuration, i.e. without PreferLLKeysHook (or with it set to '0'), I'd expect it to fails with PreferLLKeysHook=1, since it can't intercept 64-bit processes then. You could try to create a debug log and e-mail it to me.

Thanks,
Jiri

Post Reply