Problem with Dragon naturally speaking [#8242]

Beta Testing for Windows Products and plugins

Moderator: Gurus

jiri
Posts: 5388
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Problem with Dragon naturally speaking [#8242]

Post by jiri » Fri Aug 26, 2011 2:04 am

The logs indicate that the issue might already be fixed in the recent builds, please try the latest one and in case of problem create the same logs.

Thanks,
Jiri

alirezanoori
Posts: 163
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 5:55 am

Re: Problem with Dragon naturally speaking [#8242]

Post by alirezanoori » Fri Aug 26, 2011 6:20 am

Yes, it still happens.

Maybe I sent you the wrong .elf file. This file was inside the folder:
...\AppData\Roaming\EurekaLog\MEDIAM~2

Here's the log:
http://www.mediafire.com/?r90u6ayavy6yq8d

I deleted all .elf files. Made the MM crash again but no new .elf file was created. I'm using the debug version of MM.

jiri
Posts: 5388
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Problem with Dragon naturally speaking [#8242]

Post by jiri » Fri Aug 26, 2011 8:25 am

If you don't get an option to send a crash report, what exactly does happen? Maybe a screenshot or a video would help.

As for the debug log, the latest one isn't complete, i.e. from the start of MM. Also, it indicates that you are running some script/3rd party components, have you tried to remove them?

Thanks,
Jiri

alirezanoori
Posts: 163
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 5:55 am

Re: Problem with Dragon naturally speaking [#8242]

Post by alirezanoori » Sat Aug 27, 2011 1:12 am

I'll create a video along with a full log and post it here today.


jiri
Posts: 5388
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Problem with Dragon naturally speaking [#8242]

Post by jiri » Sat Aug 27, 2011 7:01 am

Ok, thanks. The end of the debug log indicates that a different process than MediaMonkey has a problem, namely:

00002011 20.99518585 [8300] Invalid parameter passed to C runtime function.

The [8300] is PID which is different from MM's, which is [8656]. I wonder whether this might be the cause of the problem. You could find out which process is this by looking at Windows Task Manager - Processes tab. Note that you need to enable PID column in View|Columns. Also note that the number might be different in case the application is restarted, i.e. instead of using [8300], please create a new debug and look for a line like the one above and use the number there.

I hope it's clear,
thanks,
Jiri

alirezanoori
Posts: 163
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 5:55 am

Re: Problem with Dragon naturally speaking [#8242]

Post by alirezanoori » Sat Aug 27, 2011 7:56 am

Thanks for looking more into it.

Yes, I had restarted both programs so I had to create the log again. Well turns out the process (in my case [9364]) was "natspeak.exe" - Dragon NaturallySpeaking software.

So can you fix this or I should contact the Naunce people?! (which I should say that I might never do this cause I'm not using speech recognition :D I just reported this because I love MM ;) )

jiri
Posts: 5388
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: Problem with Dragon naturally speaking [#8242]

Post by jiri » Sat Aug 27, 2011 1:33 pm

I leave the issue open here, we'll try to look into it soon and in case it isn't possible to fix here, will contact their developers.

Thanks,
Jiri

alirezanoori
Posts: 163
Joined: Fri Mar 25, 2011 5:55 am

Re: Problem with Dragon naturally speaking [#8242]

Post by alirezanoori » Sat Aug 27, 2011 4:59 pm

Thank you very much.

vikshah
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2011 5:02 pm

Re: Problem with Dragon naturally speaking [#8242]

Post by vikshah » Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:21 pm

I am a brand-new user of MediaMonkey 4 and have been finding it crashes when I click on a menu. After looking for answers on this forum, I can confirm that I also use Dragon NaturallySpeaking 11.5, and the crash only occurs when I have my user profile loaded. I was considering upgrading to Gold, but as I use Dragon all the time it's important to me that this compatibility issue is first resolved. Let me know how I can help.

jeffsstuff

Re: Problem with Dragon naturally speaking [#8242]

Post by jeffsstuff » Fri Mar 23, 2012 10:44 pm

I am having the same problem. I use Dragon Naturally Speaking all the time (due to disability) and, given the choice between Media Monkey and Dragon, I have no choice but Dragon. Please fix this!

Spip5
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Oct 08, 2006 4:38 am

Re: Problem with Dragon naturally speaking [#8242]

Post by Spip5 » Mon Nov 12, 2012 6:57 am

Same problem for me, in transcribing interviews.

If I ask Dragon team for help, I think they are going to tell me not to use MediaMonkey. But I love your software and the 5 sec bindable option is really usefull.

rusty
Posts: 7175
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: Problem with Dragon naturally speaking [#8242]

Post by rusty » Mon Nov 12, 2012 11:31 am

Does the problem still occur if you run MediaMonkey in skinless mode?

-Rusty

Homerhat

Re: Problem with Dragon naturally speaking [#8242]

Post by Homerhat » Thu Apr 30, 2015 9:59 am

Did you manage to get a solution to this problem?
I am having the same issue where MediaMonkey crashes when Dragon NaturallySpeaking 12 is active.
MediaMonkey works fine when Dragon NaturallySpeaking is closed. I'm using version 4.1.6.1736

dtsig
Posts: 2979
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:34 pm

Re: Problem with Dragon naturally speaking [#8242]

Post by dtsig » Thu Apr 30, 2015 10:23 am

Homerhat wrote:Did you manage to get a solution to this problem?
I am having the same issue where MediaMonkey crashes when Dragon NaturallySpeaking 12 is active.
MediaMonkey works fine when Dragon NaturallySpeaking is closed. I'm using version 4.1.6.1736
If you don't get a response be sure to create a log report. There is a link in my signature to reporting bugs. Then send it off to the Support section (top of web page)
Where's the db and ini stored
Reporting Bugs
Where tags are stored

Not affiliated with MediaMonkey ... just a RABID user/lover
DTSig

Post Reply