1828: No Jump List buttons in the Windows 7 task bar [14036]

To get bugs in the current release fixed, please report them here.

Moderator: Gurus

AnthonyM1229
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 2:59 pm

1828: No Jump List buttons in the Windows 7 task bar [14036]

Post by AnthonyM1229 » Mon Feb 20, 2017 8:08 pm

Hello. I just installed 4.1.15.1828 today over my existing 4.1.14 stable version. I run it in Portable mode, on Windows 7 SP1 x64. Usually, when I hover over the MediaMonkey icon in my taskbar, I can see the album art of the currently playing song, and buttons to stop, play, pause, and increase/decrease rating. But, they're not showing anymore. All I see now is just a thumbnail preview of the whole MediaMonkey window, which isn't ideal.

I closed and restarted MediaMonkey, but there was no change. I also temporarily changed my skin to see if that would have any effect, but it didn't. I then restarted my computer to make sure it wasn't a Windows Explorer glitch or something, and still, nothing.

dtsig
Posts: 3030
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:34 pm

Re: 1828: No more Jump List buttons in the Windows 7 task ba

Post by dtsig » Mon Feb 20, 2017 9:34 pm

All buttons appear in the full install mode.

Just installed as portable and they appear here too
Where's the db and ini stored
Reporting Bugs
Where tags are stored

Not affiliated with MediaMonkey ... just a RABID user/lover
DTSig

AnthonyM1229
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 2:59 pm

Re: 1828: No more Jump List buttons in the Windows 7 task ba

Post by AnthonyM1229 » Tue Feb 21, 2017 9:06 am

Hmm... I just reinstalled 1828 over my existing install, and still, no buttons show up for me. This is weird.

dtsig
Posts: 3030
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:34 pm

Re: 1828: No more Jump List buttons in the Windows 7 task ba

Post by dtsig » Tue Feb 21, 2017 11:02 am

Just to not mislead .. i am on win10 not 7
Where's the db and ini stored
Reporting Bugs
Where tags are stored

Not affiliated with MediaMonkey ... just a RABID user/lover
DTSig

Lowlander
Posts: 46156
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: 1828: No more Jump List buttons in the Windows 7 task ba

Post by Lowlander » Tue Feb 21, 2017 12:57 pm

Works here too in Portable, but on Win10.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

AnthonyM1229
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 2:59 pm

Re: 1828: No more Jump List buttons in the Windows 7 task ba

Post by AnthonyM1229 » Tue Feb 21, 2017 2:44 pm

Is anybody else on Windows 7 seeing this issue?

I just recently fired up a Windows 7 virtual machine, on which I had never installed MediaMonkey before, and installed it on there. I first tested it in Portable mode, accepting all other defaults. I then tested by opening a single song, and still, I only see a thumbnail preview of the whole window--no media buttons or album art.

I then installed it in regular mode, and still, the same thing. I even uninstalled it and reinstalled it to try it in non-skinned mode, and the issue persists.

Meander
Posts: 67
Joined: Fri Jun 06, 2014 8:45 am

Re: 1828: No more Jump List buttons in the Windows 7 task ba

Post by Meander » Wed Feb 22, 2017 11:12 am

Same problem on Windows 8.1

Edit to add: Thumbnail preview is restored when reverting to 4.1.14.1813

Noticeable that 4.1.15.1828 requests com elevation twice after install.

AnthonyM1229
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 2:59 pm

Re: 1828: No more Jump List buttons in the Windows 7 task ba

Post by AnthonyM1229 » Wed Feb 22, 2017 6:02 pm

Yeah, I had to revert to 4.1.14.1813 to get the thumbnail preview and media buttons back as well.

If you can, can you test out the debug build of 1828 with DbgView, and see what Windows version it detects? I did that myself, and 1828 detected my Windows 7 as Windows Vista. Seems like a major regression to me. I then tested the debug build of 1813, and it detected my Windows 7 correctly.

If yours comes up as Vista too, that could explain the missing stuff for you too. I don't get how this could've happened, though. In Windows' internal build version numbers, NT 6.0 = Vista, 6.1 = 7, 6.2 = 8, and 6.3 = 8.1. However, I thought I read there were some recent issues with detecting Windows 10 properly. So, maybe in addressing that, something got broken in the code for detecting older Windows versions--who knows.

Anyway, see http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=69 if you need help with the debugging setup.

Ludek
Posts: 3035
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:00 am

Re: 1828: No more Jump List buttons in the Windows 7 task ba

Post by Ludek » Thu Feb 23, 2017 9:17 am

Thanks for reporting.

Will be fixed in a quick re-release as: http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=14036

rusty
Posts: 7214
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada

Re: 1828: No more Jump List buttons in the Windows 7 task ba

Post by rusty » Thu Feb 23, 2017 1:00 pm

Here's a test build: http://www.mediamonkey.com/sw/MediaMonk ... _Debug.exe

Let us know your results.

Thanks.

-Rusty

AnthonyM1229
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri Oct 14, 2011 2:59 pm

Re: 1828: No more Jump List buttons in the Windows 7 task ba

Post by AnthonyM1229 » Thu Feb 23, 2017 2:05 pm

I can confirm this issue is fixed in 1829. My Windows 7 is properly detected, and I have the album art preview and media buttons in my taskbar as expected. Thanks for the quick turnaround!

Post Reply