Creating a karoke file

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

martialartsguy
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 9:11 am
Location: Denver, CO

Creating a karoke file

Post by martialartsguy »

I've played around with KaraFun and I've created a .kfn file, but I'd like to do the following:

1. Take an existing mp3 file and tweak it with Defx to remove the singer's voice. Then turn this back into an mp3 (or similar format).

2. Take it to my favourite karaoke place

3. Profit/admiration of the opposite sex! :D


Obviously, I need more help with step one, particularly trying to "record" the song on my computer's mic sounds crappy. Is there another way to do this?
Steegy
Posts: 3452
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 7:17 pm

Post by Steegy »

You can do this with Karafun (record, and remove singer's voice), can't you? I suppose the KaraFun forum/support is a better place if you need help about that program.
Extensions: ExternalTools, ExtractFields, SongPreviewer, LinkedTracks, CleanImport, and some other scripts (Need Help with Addons > List of All Scripts).
martialartsguy
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 9:11 am
Location: Denver, CO

Post by martialartsguy »

Steegy-

Yeah, their player will remove the singer's voice (but not their editor), but what I really would like is to remove it from the mp3 then record that version without going through my microphone. I assume it's similar to recording a radio feed (which I'm clueless about as well).
rovingcowboy
Posts: 14163
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Post by rovingcowboy »

kara fun is a very user friendly program but as you will find out.

all songs as of about 1980 are using stereo with singers voice on both channels. the only way to get rid of this voice is by buying expensive hardware.

the slider used in kara fun and the one made by analogx.com only are able to completely work on songs from prior to 1975, when they started with the voice on both channels
so there is about a 5 year gap where some songs were not done that way. the year dates are not exact but close.
either plus or minus 3 years on them.

but the kara fun works well on most the songs.

as for recording music to the computer you don't do it with the microphone on the computer. you get a tape recorder and put the sound on it. then you use a line in patch cord to transfer it to the computer you need a wav recorder program.

but the mic on the computer as you know is crappy sounding.
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy A51 5G Android ) 6. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.
rovingcowboy
Posts: 14163
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Post by rovingcowboy »

Steegy wrote:You can do this with Karafun (record, and remove singer's voice), can't you? I suppose the KaraFun forum/support is a better place if you need help about that program.

yep steegy theres lots in the kara fun forum but it is slow at times.

i've had my post sit there for 2 weeks sometimes as the last post in the forum. :o
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy A51 5G Android ) 6. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.
martialartsguy
Posts: 297
Joined: Mon Apr 03, 2006 9:11 am
Location: Denver, CO

Post by martialartsguy »

Bummer. I was hoping there was a way to record the singer-less version of the song into mp3 or similar format and then use that as the KaraFun template. Oh well.
rovingcowboy
Posts: 14163
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Post by rovingcowboy »

there is but not cheaply them hardware boxes are high dollar studio equipment thats the only way to make a instrumental out of a vocal song.

by not cheap i mean you can buy lunch at mcdonalds for 5 dollars a day for like 1200 to 2500 days?

i don't have that much money and its not worth it to make a free karaoke and nobody will buy the karaoke they'll make their
own for free. so why bother with the task and cost.?

:-?
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy A51 5G Android ) 6. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.
Post Reply