MM and NAS file paths changing which requires rescan

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

robertjwarren
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2009 3:29 pm
Contact:

MM and NAS file paths changing which requires rescan

Post by robertjwarren »

I dont think I have my NAS and MM set up properly. The music library files are kept all in one subfolder of a parent folder on the NAS. I have that subfolder set as a network drive and it is the only monitored folder on MM. Once a week or so when MM starts and loads the library, all the paths are grayed out, the path names are have changed showing only the parent folder prefix, and will not play and the only fix I have found is to rescan the 900 GB worth of music files and then delete the grayed out library tracks. So, my questions are:

1. What is the best way to set up MM to work with the NAS?
2. Why are the library tracks being grayed out?

MM 3.2.5.1306
WIN XP SP3+
HP 6910p - Laptop wireless connection to the NAS
QNAP TS210 NAS with 2 - 1tb disks running in RAID
Remote speakers plugin > Airport Express > stereo system
Lowlander
Posts: 48380
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

Re: MM and NAS file paths changing which requires rescan

Post by Lowlander »

Don't use a mapped drive as Windows might be changing the driveID on it which it shouldn't. This throws MediaMonkey off. Instead use the UNC path to the music folder (\\NASNAME\MusicFolder\SubFolder\).
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
robertjwarren
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2009 3:29 pm
Contact:

Re: MM and NAS file paths changing which requires rescan

Post by robertjwarren »

Hey thanks I will try that!
robertjwarren
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2009 3:29 pm
Contact:

Re: MM and NAS file paths changing which requires rescan

Post by robertjwarren »

OK I did that, but using the \\NASNAME\folder did not work, so instead I put in the \\IP address\folder and that DID work. Is there a problem with using the IP address?
nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: MM and NAS file paths changing which requires rescan

Post by nohitter151 »

robertjwarren wrote:OK I did that, but using the \\NASNAME\folder did not work, so instead I put in the \\IP address\folder and that DID work. Is there a problem with using the IP address?
No, IP address is actually preferable:
http://www.mediamonkey.com/support/inde ... ticleid=49
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
Post Reply