My AV receiver and TV cause MM to crash

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

robimart

My AV receiver and TV cause MM to crash

Post by robimart »

I've been using MM for many years on my huge music collection and love everything about it. Everything except for it crashing and hanging all the time. I've had problems for years despite using different PCs, OS versions and Windows installations.

The problem is somehow related to the HDMI connection between my HTPC and my AV Receiver (Onkyo sr605, bought in 2008). Any of the following scenarios will either cause MM to lock up completely or require a MM close and restart for it work properly:
- pressing play on a song when my AV amp is not switched on
- switching sound channel on my amp while MM is playing
- switching tv on/off while music is playing

This is driving me MAD as I accidentally trigger the above conditions all the time. I've got a macro on my remote to kill all MM processes and restart as a workaround but there must be a better way. I've held off from asking here for a long time because it's not really a MM issue per se, but some guru here must have some ideas...? Anything I can try with the output plugins or other settings?

FWIW, I have one of those Zotac HTPCs with an Intel media chipset but sound is set to 'pass through' without processing. Any and all suggestions gratefully received :)

Thanks
Robimart
Lowlander

Re: My AV receiver and TV cause MM to crash

Post by Lowlander »

Have you tried using a different Output Plugin?
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
robimart

Post by robimart »

Hi Lowlander,

Yes, I've tried with 'MediaMonkey DirectSound output', 'MediaMonkey WASAPI output', and 'waveOut output v2.0.2a'. Same problem with all of them.