Is this a bug? Behaviour of blank fields on multiple section

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

feline1
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2015 5:36 am

Is this a bug? Behaviour of blank fields on multiple section

Post by feline1 » Fri Sep 02, 2016 10:41 am

Here is something I have noticed in the MediaMonkey for WIndows (I'm on the latest version) -

Scenario: I select a bunch of tracks in the library, and right-click on them all, to edit their metadata at once -
if they all have the same value for a certain field (e.g Genre = "Pop"), EXCEPT some of them have no value yet in that field, the "Edit properties for multiple files" dialog will display that value (e.g. "Pop"), and if I click OK, nothing changes - the ones with a blank Genre stay blank.

I find this to be a nuisance, if I want to set all the files to the same value: it is necessary to individually select the files with the blank field.

Is this intended behaviour?

dtsig
Posts: 3241
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:34 pm

Re: Is this a bug? Behaviour of blank fields on multiple sec

Post by dtsig » Fri Sep 02, 2016 10:44 am

Simply clear pop and retype it ..
Where's the db and ini stored
Reporting Bugs
Where tags are stored

Not affiliated with MediaMonkey ... just a RABID user/lover
DTSig

MMFrLife
Posts: 2774
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 9:04 pm

Re: Is this a bug? Behaviour of blank fields on multiple sec

Post by MMFrLife » Fri Sep 02, 2016 4:11 pm

All differences are treated with the same importance and care not to mess up something someone may have intended, even if blank.
Try dtsig's suggestion (super easy). Does "Pop" show up in the genre field? If so, you may only need to check the box, if not already checked (I can't remember
if it's already checked, not in front of me).
MM user since 2003 (lifetime since 2012) "Trying to imagine life without music gives me a headache"
track properties; dir/fn mask configurations; check out ZvezdanD's scripts
MMW 4.1.18.1842b; fav scripts > RegExp Find & Replace 5.1.0; Magic Nodes 5.1.0; Advanced Duplicate Find & Fix 3.8.2;
Backup 6.0; Clear Now Playing Button 1.2
...always back it up, especially before doing anything major!!!
Win. explorer alt. for power users [free]; great file/folder renamer [used by nasa]

rivorson
Posts: 594
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 4:17 am

Re: Is this a bug? Behaviour of blank fields on multiple sec

Post by rivorson » Fri Sep 02, 2016 4:39 pm

When you're editing multiple tracks each field has a check box next to it. MM will only write the tags that are checked so that you can, for example, change the genre for multiple tracks without setting all of the titles to the same value.

All of the check boxes are unchecked to begin with and are automatically checked when you edit the field.

feline1
Posts: 31
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2015 5:36 am

Re: Is this a bug? Behaviour of blank fields on multiple sec

Post by feline1 » Mon Sep 05, 2016 4:37 am

dtsig wrote:Simply clear pop and retype it ..
But I will only know to do this if know that one or more of the fields is actually blank in the first place, that's the real nuisance for me! :)

If I right click to edit a big bunch of files, and (say), their genre field is blank, then that immediately tells me that all the genres are not set to the same value... so I can then correct them all at once.

However if simply a few of the files have a blank genre, the dialog won't let me know. It'll give me the impression that they're all 'Pop' (or whatever), when they're not.

You see the problem?

Basically the behaviour of the "edit properties for multiple files" seems inconsistent to me:
- fields are shown with a value if (a) they all have the same value or (b) if they all have the same value except some are blank.
- fields are shown blank if they all have different (populated) values.

rivorson
Posts: 594
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 4:17 am

Re: Is this a bug? Behaviour of blank fields on multiple sec

Post by rivorson » Mon Sep 05, 2016 6:51 am

I have mixed feelings about that. I have to agree that it's inconsistent but if you just need to fill blank tags to match a value then it saves time if the value is already present. If you're not sure then just check all the boxes that have values.

Maybe it would help if the text box turned yellow if there are blank tags in that field.

MMFrLife
Posts: 2774
Joined: Fri Oct 26, 2012 9:04 pm

Re: Is this a bug? Behaviour of blank fields on multiple sec

Post by MMFrLife » Mon Sep 05, 2016 8:22 am

Yeah, I guess, that it would be nice to have an added feature/color warning option. I wouldn't be against it. But, in all the years of messing around
with MM, I've never had an accident because of that issue. I rely on the fact that when I go into properties, I stick with whatever the reason is
that I went into properties in the first place. In other words, if I go in to edit some things that don't include the genre. I, typically, don't think,
"oh yeah, btw let me do some genre stuff while I'm at it". I stick to what I already planned to do then pause to think about what I want to do next, which
may or may not include other things or elements like genre.

If I go into do something that includes the genre to begin with, then because of the very fact that I'm thinking about the genre already, I know to think
about/be careful with whatever pattern the genre presents. I just don't go about it willy nilly or get tempted to add other things to do while I'm in the middle of doing
the first thing(s) that I had already "planned" to do.

However, again, a yellow warning or triangle-exclamation symbol would be interesting and save some people some anxiety. So, I wouldn't necessarily
be against it :wink:
MM user since 2003 (lifetime since 2012) "Trying to imagine life without music gives me a headache"
track properties; dir/fn mask configurations; check out ZvezdanD's scripts
MMW 4.1.18.1842b; fav scripts > RegExp Find & Replace 5.1.0; Magic Nodes 5.1.0; Advanced Duplicate Find & Fix 3.8.2;
Backup 6.0; Clear Now Playing Button 1.2
...always back it up, especially before doing anything major!!!
Win. explorer alt. for power users [free]; great file/folder renamer [used by nasa]

Lowlander
Posts: 47578
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Is this a bug? Behaviour of blank fields on multiple sec

Post by Lowlander » Tue Sep 06, 2016 3:47 pm

I don't expect that simply Okaying a multiple-selection fills in the blank values for fields with a singular value in the selection. If I went in with the intent to fix the blank value I'd know this and select the checkbox and otherwise I'd be intent to not fix this (leave blanks blank).
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

Post Reply