can someone please explain the column behaviour?

Get answers about using MediaMonkey 4 for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

Volny

can someone please explain the column behaviour?

Post by Volny »

Hi, I've been using MediaMonkey for many years, and throughout all that time I've never quite gotten a handle on how the columns in the library work. They seem to have a mind of their own, and seem to rearrange and readjust width when I'm not looking. I'm sure there's a logic to it, but it's one that's not quite intuitive to me.

So, for example, here's my library at the moment:

The Title, Date, and Length columns are how I remember leaving them - all good. However, I don't remember placing the Filename column so prominently far to the left (I rarely use it). And I thought I'd disabled the Album column entirely (since I can see my albums in the top section, as you can see). And I definitely don't remember making the Track# column so wide (why would I?). This sort of thing happens all the time, where the width/order/layout of columns seems to change without my realising it. I'm sure sometimes it's just me forgetting that I adjusted something, but I feel like there's more to it than that - like some automatic behaviours that I'm not aware of.

I should mention that I have 3 monitors, and frequently shift MM from one to the other, maximised in each case (I have it on a side monitor while I'm working, and on my central monitor if I'm actively organising my library.) I don't notice the column sizes/layout change when I do this, but maybe it does affect it in some circumstances? My side monitors are in portrait mode, which is why this is a noticeable issue for me in the first place, as information easily gets cropped in portrait mode if the columns aren't compact enough.