Shuffle option in playlist not working

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

Kimi
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2020 9:45 am
Contact:

Shuffle option in playlist not working

Post by Kimi »

Hello,

I just downloaded your software. I have the Standard Edition (Unregistered) on 4.1.29.1910 version.
I wanted a software with which I could read local playlists, resume where I left and shuffle the songs in said playlist. Your software seemed to meet all my requirements.

So I have made a playlist, I have played it and activated the shuffle option. However, it does not shuffle. What I expect of this option is, after a song is finished or if I want to press "Next track", that a random track from my playlist is selected to play. It's always the next track in line that plays.

Any idea ?

Thanks !
Lowlander
Posts: 47960
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

Re: Shuffle option in playlist not working

Post by Lowlander »

Is Play > Shuffle showing enabled in the Main Menu? This will randomly pick the next file in the Now Playing when using Next on the Player.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Kimi
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2020 9:45 am
Contact:

Re: Shuffle option in playlist not working

Post by Kimi »

Hello, yes it is. I guess they are linked to each other but the shuffle option is as well activated on the bottom right hand sight.

For some reason it seems I cannot post screens nor link another image uploading site so cannot show you the screens.
Lowlander
Posts: 47960
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

Re: Shuffle option in playlist not working

Post by Lowlander »

New users can't post links, but if you leave spaces in the URL (www. mediamonkey. com) we can fix that: https://www.mediamonkey.com/support/ind ... orum-posts

And with this enabled it isn't randomly picking files from the Now Playing? Make sure you're looking at the Now Playing and not the original Playlist or whatever list of files you added to the Now Playing to be played.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Kimi
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2020 9:45 am
Contact:

Re: Shuffle option in playlist not working

Post by Kimi »

Alright, here are the screens : https://imgur.com/a/0EyuDkv

And yes, actually I only have one playlist and I clicked "Play now" on the playlist which added all its tracks to the "Now playing". I can confirm that it doesn't shuffle and always plays the next track in line (tried several times to make sure it was not just "bad luck").
Lowlander
Posts: 47960
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

Re: Shuffle option in playlist not working

Post by Lowlander »

Disabled Shuffle, restart MediaMonkey and enable Shuffle again. Does that fix it? Which version of MediaMonkey are you on?
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Kimi
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2020 9:45 am
Contact:

Re: Shuffle option in playlist not working

Post by Kimi »

Still doesn't work. 4.1.29.1910.
Lowlander
Posts: 47960
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

Re: Shuffle option in playlist not working

Post by Lowlander »

Make sure that you didn't enable Ignore Shuffle for the applicable Types under Tools > Options > Playback Rules.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Kimi
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2020 9:45 am
Contact:

Re: Shuffle option in playlist not working

Post by Kimi »

Nope that's not ticked either :(
Lowlander
Posts: 47960
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

Re: Shuffle option in playlist not working

Post by Lowlander »

I can't reproduce, capture this in a debug log (step 4b) and attach the log to a Support Ticket: https://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewt ... p?f=1&t=69
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Kimi
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 27, 2020 9:45 am
Contact:

Re: Shuffle option in playlist not working

Post by Kimi »

Hello,

Sorry for the delay. I will do so thanks :)

Will installing the debug MediaMonkey version uninstall the "normal" version ?

Thank you.
Peke
Posts: 13480
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Shuffle option in playlist not working

Post by Peke »

Hi,
Just install Debug version on top of normal. Once you are done you can install Normal on top of Debug, but there is almost no difference in apps except for Programmers that use debug apps where they do not want to get MM debug messages while debugging their own apps.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
Peke
Posts: 13480
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Shuffle option in playlist not working

Post by Peke »

Hi,
Thx for ticket, replied there to get into more details and see if and how MM can help you in particular usage request.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
Post Reply