MediaMonkey and the FiiO M9

Get answers about syncing the current release of MediaMonkey with iPods and other devices.

Moderator: Gurus

Lowlander
Posts: 47522
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: MediaMonkey and the FiiO M9

Post by Lowlander » Sat Jun 13, 2020 6:19 pm

No, you can only purchase MediaMonkey from the Google Play Store or the Amazon App Store.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)

DMLCo
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 12:07 pm

Re: MediaMonkey and the FiiO M9

Post by DMLCo » Tue Jun 16, 2020 10:07 am

Trying to keep all FiiO questions together to help future searching ...

Any chance of getting some advice on the apk question above?

Also, when I sync the M9 via cable, initiating the sync from my PC, files all sync successfully BUT playcount history does not sync. That is, if I play a song on my M9, that "event" isn't recorded in the master DB. Any ideas?
This used to show my recently played tracks. Sad to see @lozzd's tool go dark.

Peke
Posts: 13253
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: MediaMonkey and the FiiO M9

Post by Peke » Wed Jun 17, 2020 5:15 am

Re Play store:

If you have same Google account on multiple devices and or you can purchase with same google account (You use on FiiO) MMA online on PC. It should give you download instead of purchase in FiiO.

Play counts. Check Track properties on FiiO to see if play counts are increased.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

DMLCo
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 12:07 pm

Re: MediaMonkey and the FiiO M9

Post by DMLCo » Wed Jun 17, 2020 8:36 am

Play Counts

On PC: SongX shows 2 plays, most recent 5/20.
On FiiO, SongX, which just played, when looking at properties, shows 3 plays, most recent 6/16.

I connect via USB cable, and click on FiiO in the tree. It says Scanning and then I look at SongX on PC, and it still shows 2 plays, 5/20.

Play Store

The FiiO doesn't have the Play Store installed at all--so it is not "aware" of my Google account. That's what I'm trying to do, install the Play Store on the FiiO, which is now theoretically possible. If I'm misunderstanding what you're recommending, LMK.
This used to show my recently played tracks. Sad to see @lozzd's tool go dark.

Peke
Posts: 13253
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: MediaMonkey and the FiiO M9

Post by Peke » Wed Jun 17, 2020 8:40 pm

Hi,
M11 needs a firmware patch from https://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewt ... 02#p469302 and I guess you can try to patch M9 with it, maybe it needs bit modification to work. I do not have M9 but extracting patch file looks like it can work.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

DMLCo
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 12:07 pm

Re: MediaMonkey and the FiiO M9

Post by DMLCo » Wed Jun 17, 2020 8:52 pm

Yes, that firmware update installed successfully.
This used to show my recently played tracks. Sad to see @lozzd's tool go dark.

Peke
Posts: 13253
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: MediaMonkey and the FiiO M9

Post by Peke » Wed Jun 17, 2020 9:02 pm

Then Adding Google Account should be available. Also if you received non certified device have you managed to add its ID to google?
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

DMLCo
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 12:07 pm

Re: MediaMonkey and the FiiO M9

Post by DMLCo » Wed Jun 17, 2020 9:50 pm

Yeah, the Google account is not available. That's why I tried to install the play store and services (see my initial response).

Any ideas on the synching of play counts mentioned above?
This used to show my recently played tracks. Sad to see @lozzd's tool go dark.

DMLCo
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 12:07 pm

Re: MediaMonkey and the FiiO M9

Post by DMLCo » Sat Jun 20, 2020 4:43 pm

FiiO has confirmed this isn't meant for the M9: http://www.fiio.me/forum.php?mod=redire ... muid=87077

I have done a factory reset on my M9, and am in the process of reinstalling MM on it. Will update with whether the play count issue continues or not.
This used to show my recently played tracks. Sad to see @lozzd's tool go dark.

DMLCo
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 12:07 pm

Re: MediaMonkey and the FiiO M9

Post by DMLCo » Sun Jun 21, 2020 9:26 pm

Confirmed that, after the factory reset, the following is true:

* Synching from the FiiO via WiFi works wonderfully.
* Synching from the laptop via a cable synchs files but does not synch play counts or other tag properties.

Any ideas how to solve the 2nd thing? On the first, it seems like my only option is to do a factory reset every 2 weeks, which is ... frustrating?
This used to show my recently played tracks. Sad to see @lozzd's tool go dark.

Peke
Posts: 13253
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: MediaMonkey and the FiiO M9

Post by Peke » Mon Jun 22, 2020 1:09 pm

Hi,
I know it is not intended for M9, but it can be modified to work on M9 should be not much an issue for them.

1. Works because it uses our protocol

2. do not work because it relies to Driver and Windows MTP layer :( which resulted the creation of option 1.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

DMLCo
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 12:07 pm

Re: MediaMonkey and the FiiO M9

Post by DMLCo » Mon Jun 22, 2020 1:19 pm

Can you give me any insight as to how to modify it?
This used to show my recently played tracks. Sad to see @lozzd's tool go dark.

Peke
Posts: 13253
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: MediaMonkey and the FiiO M9

Post by Peke » Tue Jun 23, 2020 7:21 pm

Hi,
No unfortunately, it is my personal opinion based on experience working with custom android devices. To give you more I would actually need to have the device and being outsourced by FiiO to do fix on their products.

I had M6 for testing only and then MMA was WhiteListed because we polished support according to their requirements. Have you tried to explain them, that if you extract upgrade/Patch ZIP you can install all apps manually, only thing I can see is Accounts option in settings as from my brief look all should be there.

Try to contact them at https://www.head-fi.org/members/fiio.84589/ where they are active.

FYI I removed file he referred at http://www.fiio.me/forum.php?mod=redire ... pid=134804 from My site it is way too old version. You can user latest beta 1.4.0.930.

For some things they are too slow. M9 should be also included for a patch.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum

DMLCo
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2005 12:07 pm

Re: MediaMonkey and the FiiO M9

Post by DMLCo » Sun Jul 05, 2020 11:51 am

I can't seem to find where to download the beat 1.4.0.930, can you point me to a link?

So far, no real help from FiiO themselves. Off to factory reset again.

If we could figure out why it won't synch playcounts over the cable connection, that would help as well. Any ideas on that? Scroll up a few messages for detais.
This used to show my recently played tracks. Sad to see @lozzd's tool go dark.

Logan5
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2020 3:01 pm

MMA "requires Google Play Services"

Post by Logan5 » Wed Jul 22, 2020 6:52 pm

I installed MMA to my new FiiO M7 using an APK file from the internet. Whenever I run MMA, it says "This version of MediaMonkey for Android requires Google Play Services 12.4.51 or higher. Please updage to the latest version." After that it crashes.

EDITED: I think I solved my own problem. When I downloaded the APK from FiiO's own website, MMA installed correctly.

Post Reply