WebMonkey - 19 Aug 2004

Download and get help for different MediaMonkey for Windows 4 Addons.

Moderators: Peke, Gurus

Lowlander

WebMonkey - 19 Aug 2004

Post by Lowlander »

What is WebMonkey
WebMonkey is a pre-build website that will put your music collection online for others to see. It allows to browse your collection, listen to songs, download songs and view some statistics. You will need a webserver where you can host ASP pages and a MSAccess DB.

It is written in ASP and uses HTML, XHTML, CSS and JavaScript.

WebMonkey website:
WebMonkey support site

A newer version has been released. Check it out on the website
Last edited by Lowlander on Fri Mar 17, 2006 11:22 am, edited 3 times in total.
Lowlander

Post by Lowlander »

The playlist creation seems to work. Do remember that MM can currently not handle playlists with webaddresses as link to the songs.

Enjoy
Shane Alan

Post by Shane Alan »

Im a noob and was wondering how and if I can use this locally on my computer. If so how do I set it up.

Thanks,
Shane
Lowlander

Post by Lowlander »

Yep, you can set this up locally.

First of all a newer version was posted here: http://www.songs-db.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=2330.

You'll need to set up a webserver if you don't have one yet. For newer windows that will be IIS (included in the install disc of Windows) whereas older versions use PWS (not sure if ASP runs on that). Google for some more information how. I don't believe you can run a Microsoft webserver under Windows XP Home (anyone that can confirm that and has a solution?)

Then you will need to download the code to the webserver (standard is C:/Inetpud/wwwroot/ and then you could save it to a folder called MM, music or something like that.

If you want to keep it simple you copy the DB of MM to the data folder of webmonkey. That is where it looks for by default (otherwise you need to change the code as explained in the readme).

The settings.asp file has some option you can change.