Sd cards and android devices

Report bugs & feature requests for MediaMonkey for Android and learn about the newest beta build.

Moderator: Gurus

Vulpy
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2020 1:31 pm
Contact:

Sd cards and android devices

Post by Vulpy »

I just downloaded media monkey for android onto my tablet and onto my
android car head unit. It is working brilliantly on my tablet and is
scanning every thi g from the sd card. Unfortunately thrcar head unit,
where I need the software most is not working great. It won't scan the
contents of the sd card (I use the same card I used in my tablet and it's
working fine). If however I go into the browse folders menu and browse the
sd card from there, and play a track, it will add that folder to the
library. It is not practice to do that for every single folder in my media
library - far too many. How an I get media monkey to scan my sd card from
my head unit?
Lowlander
Posts: 47907
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

Re: Sd cards and android devices

Post by Lowlander »

In the Options in MMA you can set Library folders as well as do a scan.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Vulpy
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2020 1:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Sd cards and android devices

Post by Vulpy »

Yes, I already did that, but the scan is not picking up any tracks from the sd card. 😔😞. It's bizarre.
Peke
Posts: 13451
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Sd cards and android devices

Post by Peke »

Hi,
What head unit you have? I have Dasaita MTCE PX5 device (4GB RAM 32GB ROM) running on Malyisk Android 8 Firmware.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
Vulpy
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2020 1:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Sd cards and android devices

Post by Vulpy »

I have a unit specifically designed for a Ford focus - it is brand new and was sold as running android 10, albeit it looks more like android 7. 2gb ram, 80 gig rom, but this appears to be a fudge with an internal sd card 64gb plus internal memory of 16 gig. I'm using an external 128 gig sd card which works fine with my phone and tablet, when used with media monkey.
Peke
Posts: 13451
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Sd cards and android devices

Post by Peke »

Hi,
I installed more than 35 Android Headunits (From 1999 BMW to Honda CR-V 2017) in past 2.5 years and all ar e customized to car specific Fascia.

There must be about screen in settings. Take a picture with phone and send it to me in PM.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
Vulpy
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 23, 2020 1:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Sd cards and android devices

Post by Vulpy »

I really aporeciated you getting back to me.

I think I may have hot to the bottom of this. Albeit the headset was sold as "android 10", and was displaying that it was running android 10, I managed to establish that it was actually running android 7. I now understand this is a common (albeit illegal) sales trick. Previous versions of android have a bug where they don't parse sub folders unless forced to by the OS. To get around this we installed a media scan app which scanned the entire sd reporting it to the OS, making it visable to the OS. (Sime scanners just scan and don't report to the OS, for example CX scanner just scanned the Sd card but didn't report to the OS. As soon as my scanner app reported the file locations in the SD media monkey was able to pick them up and worked fine.

That said I'm returning the head unit and getting another on sheer principle of honesty! ATOTO S8 looks awesome, but likely to have the same solvable problem with media monkey since it's based on android 8 not 10.
Peke
Posts: 13451
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Sd cards and android devices

Post by Peke »

Hi,
There are lots of clones/resalers/rebranders and there is few that work correctly and develop/support their devices. Most of such devices are picked up by community and actively enhanced and improved see https://forum.xda-developers.com/androi ... ts-general I bought Dasaita (HotAudio = HA) because they ar every active on XDA, throw frequent updates, encourage third party devs and lastly but very important listen to users (eg. they made a pool when they changed UI for Oreo builds and reverted to improved old version [GOLD vs. BLUE UI]).

Check this before buying https://forum.xda-developers.com/androi ... o-t4114493 for ATOTO

Dasaita https://www.facebook.com/Dasaita-341179 ... e_internal been personally talked with Quick Yuan and few others over Skype, exchanged CanBus dashboard fascias, main boards, Developed custom Cables, there was not an single issue always willing to help. They even helped people on XDA get Masks, ...

Also worked with few other MTCD/E manufacturers See the list https://forum.xda-developers.com/wiki/Hui_Fei_Type Much safer to buy than custom made ones like ATOTO.

Also Check https://forum.xda-developers.com/member.php?u=3590033 and Firmwares

I am running https://forum.xda-developers.com/androi ... d-t3762724 on My current Unit and if I decide to keep will surely donate and upgrade to 10 even I am tempted to do an upgrade to Android 10 https://forum.xda-developers.com/androi ... n-t4132123 as I see ROMS are available https://forum.xda-developers.com/androi ... a-t3575155

Lastly sorry for too much info, but I have seen people pay too much for nothing and then swear on all other manufacturers without reason.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
Post Reply