Setting Field Value to null

To discuss development of addons / skins / customization of MediaMonkey.

Moderators: jiri, drakinite, Addon Administrators

MPG

Setting Field Value to null

Post by MPG »

Hi,
I'm an old vba programmer and trying to learn this who JavaScript language. Thought I'd trying something really easy to start with by setting some fields to null or an empty string.

I have the following code:
actions.ClearFields = {
title: _('Clear Fields'),
hotkeyAble: true,
disabled: uitools.notMediaListSelected,
visible: window.uitools.getCanEdit,
execute: async function () {

list = await uitools.getSelectedTracklist().whenLoaded();
list.forEach(function (lstItem) {
if(lstItem.author !== null){
lstItem.author = null;
};
};
list.commitAsync();
};
};

I've set up alerts to confirm I am setting the value so I know that's working. but the commit isn't being saved.

Any suggestions on what I'm doing wrong?
TIA
MPG
Triumph - Hold On: Music holds the secret, to know it can make you whole.
MPG

Re: Setting Field Value to null

Post by MPG »

I don't seem to be grabbing the value of the field. When I do an alert on the lstItem.author I am getting "undefined" so I think I am getting the field object, not the value. Any way to explicitly get the field value?
TIA
MPG
MPG

Post by MPG »

I am making headway....
I can get the value of all the fields except the following:
Disc Number
Original Date
Comment
Grouping
Involved People
Original Artist
Original Title
Original Lyricist
Lyrics

Does anyone know what the field names are in the lstItem object?
TIA
MPG
drakinite

Post by drakinite »

I see two issues with the original code you posted:
1. There's no closing parenthesis on your forEach
and 2. adding a semicolon at the end of your execute function, in this case, is invalid (because it's an object property)

So in this case, the syntactically valid code would be:

Code: Select all

actions.ClearFields = {
	title: _('Clear Fields'),
	hotkeyAble: true,