Ten more bugs! [#16792] [#15293][#16837][#16764]

Report bugs & feature requests for MediaMonkey 5 and learn about the newest builds.

Moderator: Gurus

drakinite
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue May 12, 2020 10:06 am
Contact:

Ten more bugs! [#16792] [#15293][#16837][#16764]

Post by drakinite »

Hey, friends, I've got a bunch more bugs for you! :grinning:
Sorted by importance:
  1. The entire UI stutters whenever any tooltip fades in or out (Can be seen when mousing over seek bar, mousing over or scrolling list view, mousing over or scrolling media tree, and even in the visualizer at the bottom of the screen. https://puu.sh/G3Dul/f07f0c4132.mp4 [The mouse is in the wrong place in this recording, but you can see where the tooltip shows up.])
    Performance analysis shows a billion layout changes and delays that add up to each frame taking 150-200ms. https://developers.google.com/web/funda ... us-layouts
  2. Context menus:
    1. If MM is on a secondary display, and the top of the secondary display is NOT aligned with the top of the primary display, tooltips do not appear in the correct vertical location. This can be seen much more clearly if the secondary display is set above or below the primary display.
    2. If MM is on a secondary display, and EITHER display uses scaling, then the horizontal positioning of context menus are extremely borked. It would take an hour to explain the exact intricacies of what happens on but it'll be easy to replicate if you have multiple monitors.
  3. In Search results, which shows a combination view of Artists (grid view) and Tracks (list view), if you scroll while the mouse is hovered over the Artists section, it doesn't scroll at all.
  4. [#16792] Pressing space bar (play/pause) while list view is focused scrolls the list view down, as if in a webpage.
  5. When opening MM5, the splash screen shows up as its own item on the taskbar. This causes two MediaMonkeys to appear in the taskbar. Way too many monkeys!
  6. [#15293] Drag-to-select in list view, especially with column filter enabled, is very unstable:
    1. When dragging a rectangle from list view up to column filter, if I release my mouse in the column filter, then mouse down back to the list view, the drag-to-select mode is still active. I have to click again, which deselects the group of songs that was selected.
    2. When dragging up quickly, the top few tracks are missed (because the mouse moves off the list view before , so the selection is left incomplete
    3. If you are scrolled toward the bottom, then select a song, then scroll up, then begin drag-to-select, the scroll bar snaps back to the bottom and selects a bunch of songs; and the selection is all wacky and useless. https://puu.sh/G3DU3/8d4e5904a0.mp4 (You can't see when I have the mouse down or up in the video. You'd have to try it yourself to see what I mean.)
    4. Drag-to-select doesn't work when the initial click is below the lastmost song (when it's a small list that doesn't take up the whole screen) https://puu.sh/G3DXg/13e9f2394d.mp4 (I was clicking and dragging below, the list, but again, it's hard to convey it via video)
    5. When selecting several songs, the list of selected songs often flash for a few frames, which is very distracting and makes the experience feel less robust
    6. When dragging close to the top/bottom edges of the list view, to scroll up/down: Sometimes it doesn't work, sometimes it stops and starts randomly, and often it feels too fast. (I see that you accelerate it faster the closer you get to the edge, which is very good; Maybe the *initial* speed could be a bit lower to make it feel smoother.
  7. Dialog boxes often open with a size that's larger than the monitor it's on:
    1. This often happens if I initially open MM on my 2560x1440 large display, then drag it over to my 1280x1024 small display.
    2. I believe this is in part due to the window itself not responding to display scaling. That is, when I drag the window from the 2560x1440 at 125% scale to the 1280x1024 at 100% scale, the window content DOES shrink appropriately, but the window size does NOT shrink. In practice, this causes any dialog boxes to grow by 25% when dragged from a 125% scale monitor to a 100% scale monitor. And since MediaMonkey stores the size of dialog boxes after the user resizes it, if I make it an appropriate size on my higher-dpi/125% scale display, then it becomes gargantuan on the lower-dpi/100% scale display.
    3. I don't think the latter is an enormous issue, but I think that dialog boxes opening to be larger than the display is a problem. I think there should be a "minimum" margin from the corners of the display (I would say 100px in each direction is a comfortable amount) whenever a dialog box opens. That will prevent the scaling stuff from ever causing a dialog box to open larger than its display.
  8. When changing a skin, a large blank window shows up in the middle of the screen while it's loading.
  9. Double-click-to-play [#16764] does not shuffle when shuffle is enabled, unlike MM4.
  10. (added in an edit) Pinning and unpinning folders to the media tree don't take effect until MediaMonkey has been restarted. (Though I have to say, I am very happy that you added a pin function. Really useful, A+)
Last edited by drakinite on Fri Jul 10, 2020 8:03 pm, edited 2 times in total.
PetrCBR
Posts: 1701
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 5:31 pm
Location: Czech
Contact:

Re: Nine more bugs!

Post by PetrCBR »

Are you testing with latest release (2259) right ?

re 2) i can reproduce when MM is running and i change display position or DPI settings ... when i move MM to different monitor and then back, menu position is correct.
re 5) for me it uses same icon for splash and main window
re 6) some already tracked here, but added you comment
re 7) will check
re 8) yes we know about that ... maybe some info about skin change could be good
drakinite
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue May 12, 2020 10:06 am
Contact:

Re: Nine more bugs!

Post by drakinite »

Yep, 2259!
re 2) Yeah, context menu is always fine when it's on the primary display, no matter whether it's at 100% scaling or higher. But when it's on secondary displays, at higher scaling or not vertically aligned, that's when the context menus are positioned weirdly
re 5) It's the same icon, but on MM5 the problem is that the taskbar shows two items for a few seconds. It can be fixed by making the splash screen not show up on the taskbar when it opens. MM4's splash screen doesn't show up on the taskbar. Image (Don't mind the different icons; I changed it to the icon suggestion I made the other day, hehe)
re 6 and 7) thanks!
re 8.) What info do you need?
PetrCBR
Posts: 1701
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 5:31 pm
Location: Czech
Contact:

Re: Nine more bugs!

Post by PetrCBR »

re 8) i meant to show any info about skin change could be enough ... we can hide window, but as skin change takes some time some users might think MM is closed
drakinite
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue May 12, 2020 10:06 am
Contact:

Re: Nine more bugs!

Post by drakinite »

Ahh, right. Showing the splash screen could work
Ludek
Posts: 3418
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:00 am
Contact:

Re: Ten more bugs!

Post by Ludek »

4) This has been already fixed in the past : https://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view ... 917#c54507
I cannot replicate in 2259, in which view/node you are ? Can you attach screencast ?
drakinite
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue May 12, 2020 10:06 am
Contact:

Re: Ten more bugs!

Post by drakinite »

re 4) In the regular music view, either Grid by Album or List, both with and without the column filter enabled.
It apparently only scrolls with spacebar if no songs are selected, which I just found out now. Here's a recording of the bug. https://youtu.be/F9EfUyGQXQg
Ludek
Posts: 3418
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:00 am
Contact:

Re: Ten more bugs!

Post by Ludek »

4) Thanks, good catch, by evidence I was testing with a track selected ;-)
Tracking this issue as https://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=16792
drakinite
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue May 12, 2020 10:06 am
Contact:

Re: Ten more bugs! [#16792] [#15293]

Post by drakinite »

Hi,
Just checked on 2260 - #4 is good, and #8 is good too! Skin switching feels way smoother now.
All the others are still replicable on 2260
drakinite
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue May 12, 2020 10:06 am
Contact:

Re: Ten more bugs! [#16792] [#15293]

Post by drakinite »

Just wondering, has anyone checked out the other bugs I brought up?
PetrCBR
Posts: 1701
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 5:31 pm
Location: Czech
Contact:

Re: Ten more bugs! [#16792] [#15293]

Post by PetrCBR »

Yes we've checked them and added to our todo's
drakinite
Posts: 114
Joined: Tue May 12, 2020 10:06 am
Contact:

Re: Ten more bugs! [#16792] [#15293]

Post by drakinite »

Okay :)
mudloops
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2019 4:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Ten more bugs! [#16792] [#15293]

Post by mudloops »

So I just installed the newest portable version and when I scroll through the album covers and click on an album, a pop up with all the tracks of that album shows up but everytime i click "close popup" it closes but then immediately pops up again
mudloops
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Sep 28, 2019 4:02 pm
Contact:

Popup Bug

Post by mudloops »

I captured a short video about the bug that occurs for me. I use the latest portable version

the window that shows the tracks of an album when you click on the album cover can't be closed (It just pops up again immediately after you click "close popup":

...okay i'm not able to post links apparently so just remove the "()"

https://streamable.com/dsd371
Lowlander
Posts: 47901
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

Re: Ten more bugs! [#16792] [#15293]

Post by Lowlander »

Click the Album Art again to close, reproduced as: https://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=16837
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Post Reply