Right Click Delete/Remove Playlist doesn't work

Report bugs & feature requests for MediaMonkey 5 and learn about the newest builds.

Moderator: Gurus

MikeGahrns
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2020 9:37 pm
Contact:

Right Click Delete/Remove Playlist doesn't work

Post by MikeGahrns »

Repro Steps:
From the playlist tree, select a playlist, right click, choose "Remove Delete"

Result:
A clipped dialog box showing "Are you sure you want to remove pl...." with the text truncated and no "Yes" or "No" buttons.

NOTE: If you select the playlist, and hit the delete key you get a non-clipped dialog box, along with the "Yes"/"No" buttons that will allow you to delete the playlist.
Peke
Posts: 13464
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Right Click Delete/Remove Playlist doesn't work

Post by Peke »

Hi,
I am unable to replicate, can you rename/delete "persistent.json" from MM settings folder (eg. one where MM5.DB resides).
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
MikeGahrns
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2020 9:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Right Click Delete/Remove Playlist doesn't work

Post by MikeGahrns »

I deleted the "persistent.json" file and got the same results.

Here is a link to the clipped dialog box: https://imgur.com/gallery/4vTCi2b
drakinite
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue May 12, 2020 10:06 am
Contact:

Re: Right Click Delete/Remove Playlist doesn't work

Post by drakinite »

Are you using Windows display scaling? and do you see context menus + other dialog boxes cut off in the same way?
drakinite
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue May 12, 2020 10:06 am
Contact:

Re: Right Click Delete/Remove Playlist doesn't work

Post by drakinite »

To clarify my question, is it the same problem as described in this thread? https://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewt ... 21ab6b4780
MikeGahrns
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2020 9:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Right Click Delete/Remove Playlist doesn't work

Post by MikeGahrns »

The problem is different than what is described in the above thread.

For this particular bug, if I start MM5, Right click on the playlist tree, the right click context window is fully displayed (unlike in the other thread where the right border is cut off).

If I select "Remove Delete" from the context menu, I get the clipped dialog that I posted a link to, which doesn't have any buttons. And hence you can't delete the playlist.

But if I run MM5 for some time, I will see the other problem described in that thread. The right context menu starts getting clipped like on the other thread, but I have not figured out what triggers that problem. And if I keep running MM5 and do more actions with right click, the context menu will randomly start drawing on wrong monitors, in weird positions. I believe there were bug reports already on that problem.
berni
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 10:50 am
Contact:

Re: Right Click Delete/Remove Playlist doesn't work

Post by berni »

I've tried for a long time now, but I don't get this error. Everything works as expected, as you can see in the pictures. Any attitude must cause you to make the mistake. I use version 5.0.0.2261.
Berni ...
Image
Image
drakinite
Posts: 119
Joined: Tue May 12, 2020 10:06 am
Contact:

Re: Right Click Delete/Remove Playlist doesn't work

Post by drakinite »

I have found that the clipping bug appears when I set display scaling to be 125% or greater. When I first open the MM5 it's fine, but the bug only begins to appear when I maximize the window. Clarification edit: The bug first begins to appear after I maximize the window, then the context menus and windows continue to be clipped no matter where the window is positioned on my scaled monitor.

Mike, is that consistent with your experience? And berni, am I correct in my guess that you have your display set to 100% (no Windows scaling)?
Last edited by drakinite on Mon Jul 27, 2020 5:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.
berni
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 10:50 am
Contact:

Re: Right Click Delete/Remove Playlist doesn't work

Post by berni »

drakinite wrote: Mon Jul 27, 2020 7:24 am ...
And berni, am I correct in my guess that you have your display set to 100% (no Windows scaling)?
yes that is correct. I have the resolution 1920x1080 and the scaling of 100%
MikeGahrns
Posts: 37
Joined: Thu Apr 09, 2020 9:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Right Click Delete/Remove Playlist doesn't work

Post by MikeGahrns »

Ok, this is a weird one.

To answer Drakinite's questions:
I was running 175% scaling when the bug 100% consistently repro'd. However, the bug 100% consistently repro'd regardless of whether MM was maximized or not.

I then went to 100% scaling. The dialog box was NOT clipped.

I then went back to 175% scaling. (My eye sight is just not good enough to run 3840x2160 at 100% for any length of time). The first time I tried the dialog box was not clipped. Then the second time it was clipped. I have been mucking around a bit, and now can't find a pattern as to when it will be clipped and when it won't be clipped. Prior to changing the scaling to 100%, it was always reproducible. But in playing around, I also noticed that other items (like the right click context menu) sometimes are clipped and sometimes not.

I am not sure what could have happened when I changed my windows scaling from 175% to 100%, back to 175% to make the bug go from 100% repro to randomly repro. Maybe it was a co-incidence. But I do think the bug is tied to when your scaling is not 100%.

Also I run a multiple monitor setup, and the scaling on my main monitor is 175% and my other monitors 150%. In other bugs around this area, I found that depending on which monitor I am am running MM, I will see different results. I believe that the context menu opening on wrong monitors is already tracked as a separate bug.

In this case, it doesn't matter which monitor MM is running on, the clipping still occurs. However, when I am not running MM on my main monitor, the right click context menu often appears on the wrong monitor like in this picture. In this picture, the context menu is also missing the right border (sometimes the border is there).
Image
https://imgur.com/gallery/Z69qjao
When I run MM on my main monitor and the clipping occurs, the context menu is appearing on the correct monitor, it is just that the resultant dialog box is clipped. Perhaps the clipping and positioning on wrong monitor all boil down to problems in calculating dialog x,y coordinates and size when scaling is not 100%.
PetrCBR
Posts: 1701
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2006 5:31 pm
Location: Czech
Contact:

Re: Right Click Delete/Remove Playlist doesn't work

Post by PetrCBR »

We've made some improvements for a next build in this area.
Post Reply