Rip CD [First time]

Help improve MediaMonkey 5 by testing the latest pre-release builds, and reporting bugs and feature requests.

Moderator: Gurus

TheEmpathicEar
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri May 15, 2020 12:17 pm

Rip CD [First time]

Post by TheEmpathicEar »

This, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Loud,_Fas ... ghest_Hits, is my time ripping a CD using MM5 And, the first "Ramones" album in my collection. The only defaults I changed were the mask and choosing VBR Extreme. In MM5, both the Artist image and album image display OK. After doing a WiFi sync via MMA, neither the Artist image or album image display - nothing. When I use an Android File Manager, "albumart.jpg", is not in the album folder.
If there is only 1 album for 1 artist in MMA could this result in the artist image not displaying in addition to the album image? If I copy the album artwork in a browser and paste the Artwork in the Properties > Artwork tab this will solve the artwork not displaying in MMA? Will this cause the artist image to display properly as well?
Lowlander
Posts: 49470
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Rip CD [First time]

Post by Lowlander »

MMA doesn't support Artist image. As far as Album image make sure one is actually saved with the files on the Album (Properties > Artwork). This can be saved as external Artwork or embedded, but it needs to be saved.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
TheEmpathicEar
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri May 15, 2020 12:17 pm

Re: Rip CD [First time]

Post by TheEmpathicEar »

Google Chrome, right-click on image and choose "Copy Image". This is straight forward. In MM5, after choosing "Edit properties for multiple files", I can assume focus on the "Artwork" tab. The question is where to focus here before choosing "Paste"? At the top, there is "Image Type" [Cover (front) for example]. At the bottom. there is "Apply to all selected" and "Apply to all files in the album/series". In my example, after WiFi sync in MMA, no artwork. After doing what I did in MM5, another WiFi sync in MMA, the artwork is displayed OK. For MM5, maybe provide a series of steps 1, 2, 3, ... etc.? Also, it seems in MMA, that the first album for any given artist, alphabetically, is displayed in the "Artist" view? Also, in MM5, I would assume that the artwork would be set by default during a CD rip? If this is not the case, what has to done in settings, etc.?
Lowlander
Posts: 49470
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Rip CD [First time]

Post by Lowlander »

Until you associate an Artwork with files on the Album you may see an Artwork that MediaMonkey auto-associates, but this isn't saved to the files.

Yes, right click in the Artwork tab area where Artworks are shown and Paste should be an option on the Context Menu. Using Lookup Image on the Artwork tab allows you to Browse your PC for Artwork if you prefer that method.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
TheEmpathicEar
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri May 15, 2020 12:17 pm

Re: Rip CD [First time]

Post by TheEmpathicEar »

Lowlander wrote: Sat Aug 08, 2020 5:20 pm Until you associate an Artwork with files on the Album you may see an Artwork that MediaMonkey auto-associates, but this isn't saved to the files.

Yes, right click in the Artwork tab area where Artworks are shown and Paste should be an option on the Context Menu. Using Lookup Image on the Artwork tab allows you to Browse your PC for Artwork if you prefer that method.
"...right click in the Artwork tab area where Artworks are shown and Paste should be an option on the Context Menu" [For example] This is required for MMA during a WiFi sync to provide artwork for any given album in MM5 that has been ripped from CD? This is different behavior from using DBPowerAmp's CD Ripper [which I used before this]. But, of course, I was not using MMA on android for playback then either.
Lowlander
Posts: 49470
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Rip CD [First time]

Post by Lowlander »

Yes, Artwork isn't auto-added to Ripped files.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
TheEmpathicEar
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri May 15, 2020 12:17 pm

MM5 Bug Reports so far... [#15757][#15293]

Post by TheEmpathicEar »

I just went from Build 2252 to 2254. I must have missed 2253 or it was a very fast transition. Does this include album artwork when ripping a CD? Or, did I misread the above here?
Lowlander
Posts: 49470
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: MM5 Bug Reports so far... [#15757][#15293]

Post by Lowlander »

Artwork associated with a CD before Rip being lost on Rip was fixed in 2260: https://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=16725
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
TheEmpathicEar
Posts: 170
Joined: Fri May 15, 2020 12:17 pm

Re: MM5 Bug Reports so far... [#15757][#15293]

Post by TheEmpathicEar »

Lowlander wrote: Sat Aug 15, 2020 3:04 pm Artwork associated with a CD before Rip being lost on Rip was fixed in 2260: https://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=16725
This, https://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewt ... 28#p471328, is what I was talking about. I don't know if what you are posting here is different?
Lowlander
Posts: 49470
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Rip CD [First time]

Post by Lowlander »

Then you posted in the wrong place, fixed.

Although MMW may show an Album Artwork it doesn't auto-tag files with Album Artwork. This is something you'll have to manually do before syncing to any devices (if you want Album Artwork on the device).

The fix is that you can now tag Artwork to the CD before Ripping it and the Artwork will be there on the ripped files after Ripping the CD.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Post Reply