MM5 reports mp3 is inaccessible. Scan now doesn't do anything.

Get answers about the current version of MediaMonkey 5

Moderator: Gurus

kaichandler
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 7:43 am

MM5 reports mp3 is inaccessible. Scan now doesn't do anything.

Post by kaichandler »

I've copied my music folder to a new computer, running Windows version 21H1 (OS Build 19043.110) and installed MediaMonkey 5.0.1.2431. The file association for mp3 is MediaMonkey and if I doubleclick an mp3 in File Explorer it plays in Mediamonkey, however if I doubleclick the same mp3 file inside Mediamonkey it reports Playback failed <filename>.mp3 is inaccessible and scrolls through the entire folder, each time saying the file is inaccessible.

On the same system, I press Insert to scan the music folder and update with any new files but when I select Scan Now, the Add/Rescan files to the Library window closes without any apparent action having been taken.

Any ideas how to fix these points please?

thanks
Lowlander
Posts: 50727
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: MM5 reports mp3 is inaccessible. Scan now doesn't do anything.

Post by Lowlander »

Do the Paths for the files show a drive letter? It sounds like you may need to update the driveID after you moved to a different computer: https://www.mediamonkey.com/wiki/WebHel ... sign_Drive
kaichandler
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 7:43 am

Re: MM5 reports mp3 is inaccessible. Scan now doesn't do anything.

Post by kaichandler »

Yes, it needs to be changed, but please can you help me understand how to change it?

Right click on the drive in the Collection > Location node in the Media Tree and select Media properties from the Context Menu.

Where is this please?
Lowlander
Posts: 50727
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: MM5 reports mp3 is inaccessible. Scan now doesn't do anything.

Post by Lowlander »

Media Tree: https://www.mediamonkey.com/wiki/WebHel ... #Interface

Collection > Location node: https://www.mediamonkey.com/wiki/WebHel ... 0#Location

So on the left hand side, go to Music > Location and right click on the hard drive that needs to be updated.
kaichandler
Posts: 65
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2007 7:43 am

Re: MM5 reports mp3 is inaccessible. Scan now doesn't do anything.

Post by kaichandler »

I have it working now. The problem was that previously my music was at C: \users\username_A\music but now it's at C: \users\username_B\music. What a pain that was! Thanks Lowlander!!!!
Post Reply