Multiple "Now Playing" lists, each to different soundcards

Any ideas about how to improve MediaMonkey? Let us know!

Moderator: Gurus

peter_h
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 4:38 pm

Multiple "Now Playing" lists, each to different soundcards

Post by peter_h »

I'd like to be able to output different playlists, simultaneously, to more than one soundcard, so I can have different sounds running in different rooms of the house. And have some means of controlling each playlist (stop/pause/play/etc/load playlist) via remote commands (http).

...Without the ungainly solution of having to crack XP's TerminalServices to run multiple simultaneous remote desktop accounts with a different instance of MM running in each one.

Thanks for listening! :)
Pete.
:) Pete, from Wellington, New Zealand.

Running WinXP sp3, 2Gig memory, nVidia 8600GT video.
Eyal
Posts: 3114
Joined: Sun Jun 26, 2005 9:27 am
Location: Québec

Re: Multiple "Now Playing" lists, each to different soundcards

Post by Eyal »

How about running multiple instances of MediaMonkey, each outputing to a different souncard.
Tools|Options|General.
Skins for MediaMonkey: Cafe, Carbon, Helium, Spotify, Zekton. [ Wiki Zone ].
peter_h
Posts: 112
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 4:38 pm

Re: Multiple "Now Playing" lists, each to different soundcards

Post by peter_h »

Thanks Eyal, I'll give it a go :-? ... but from a trawl through the forum, it sounds like multiple instances causes a few problems:

"if you are doing mass editing in the MM which is playing then if the editing is not done when MM gets to the end of the song it will be stuck in a loop of the last few seconds of the track until the editing is done, VERY ANNOYING to keep hearing that. And to try to play tracks in a second instance of MM while editing causes them both to crash, which of course makes you lose your playlist and any changes you were trying to make or worse a corrupted database because you have to use ctrl-alt-del to close them both. It's easier to use a different program than two instances of MM." -http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... es#p226913

I also found this, http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 70#p211670, which talks about running separate settings and libraries for each instance. I'll take a look and try it out.

My wishlist suggestion still stands though, as it seems a more elegant solution to a problem faced by a number of users.
:) Pete, from Wellington, New Zealand.

Running WinXP sp3, 2Gig memory, nVidia 8600GT video.
Post Reply