Support 2 Network Drives?

Beta Testing for Windows Products and plugins

Moderator: Gurus

mister_rdz
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2003 11:07 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Support 2 Network Drives?

Post by mister_rdz »

Rusty,Jiri

One of the computers in my home network is Win98 connecting to a Win98 server with 2 drives. MM will play all the songs on the "F" drive, but not the "G" drive. If I use another player it will play songs from both drives, so I know the songs are accessible. My wife has a WinXP machine using MM and does not have the same problem. Any thoughts?

Regards,

Dave
jiri
Posts: 5399
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Post by jiri »

Such problems can happen when the network is unable to properly transmit Serial Numbers. Please check if the drive's serial number is set (and not e.g. 0000-0000) - do the check from the computer where it doesn't work well.

Jiri
rusty
Posts: 7340
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

Drives and Serial Numbers - more info

Post by rusty »

For more information on this subject see section 5h) of the readme (it is installed to the /Program Files/MediaMonkey directory on your drive).
mister_rdz
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2003 11:07 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by mister_rdz »

Rusty,

I read the section you mentioned and then checked the Serial Numbers of both drives on the file-server, plus the computer that won't play the songs. All three drives have unique numbers.

Dave
rusty
Posts: 7340
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

Post by rusty »

Dave,

So that rules out the obvious. A couple of other questions:
-How were the songs added to the Library for the Win98 machine that can't play the G: drive?
-Is the File Monitor in use?
-Are the G: Songs visible in the Library (but unable to play)? or do they simply not appear?
-Have you tried to delete the G: drive from the Library and rescan?

Hopefully we'll get to the bottom of this soon...

Rusty
mister_rdz
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2003 11:07 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by mister_rdz »

Rusty,

File monitor is not in use because the file-server is also a Win98 machine.

Once I discovered the problem, I cleared the database from the problem machine and then did an insert for new library/tracks and pointed to both the "F" & "G" drives. MM reports the correct number of songs in the database.

The songs on "G" are visible and when you attempt to play one, MM asks you to insert the CD for the network drive ... or something similar to that. I can't say for certain at the moment because I'm not at home.

One other interesting note ... Outside of MM, Winamp will play the songs without a problem. However, if you change the Player Option in MM to use Winamp and then select a song from "G", it doesn't play.

Dave
rusty
Posts: 7340
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

Post by rusty »

In offline discussion, it was determined that although the 2 drives showed different serial numbers when a 'dir' was executed locally, when done over the network, the serial numbers were not transferred.

This problem should be resolved in MM 2.0.2 beta 2.
mister_rdz
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2003 11:07 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by mister_rdz »

Hi Rusty,

Installed the latest version of the program tonight and, unfortunately, I can not report success. :cry: Not only does MM not play songs from the second drive, the program now freezes and must be closed via Ctrl Alt Delete Win 98. I again tested the drives with Winamp and all songs are accessible and will play.

Regards,

Dave
rusty
Posts: 7340
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 3:39 am
Location: Montreal, Canada
Contact:

2 Networked drives

Post by rusty »

Dave,

Can you send me a debug log for the freeze, along with an explanation of exactly when it freezes?

We'll nab this one yet...

Rusty
jiri
Posts: 5399
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Post by jiri »

From the log it became apparent that the problem is in the new 'Play Now' functionality which will be fixed in the next release. Until then you can go to Options\Player and set 'Play Now' to play selected tracks only. This should fix the freezing and you'll be able to test other issues.

Jiri

Btw, the 'Play Now' problems happen in 'My Computer' nodes only and it actually isn't freezing - only processing of larger folders takes too much time... :oops:

<edit by Rusty> Note that the 'Play Now' options are transposed in beta 2 (i.e. you have to set it to 'Play Selected + Subsequent' to play the selected tracks only, and vice versa)
mister_rdz
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2003 11:07 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by mister_rdz »

Hi Rusty,

I will try that later today and let you know the results.

Tks,

Dave
mister_rdz
Posts: 68
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2003 11:07 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Post by mister_rdz »

Hi Rusty,

I just installed Beta 3 and the problem is solved!!! :P The only thing I noticed is that I had to rescan the drive, but after that all songs were available.

Great job!

Regards,

Dave
jiri
Posts: 5399
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 7:00 pm
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Post by jiri »

Dave,

thanks for the report, we are really glad to hear it! :P

Jiri
Post Reply