MediaMonkey Process running after shutdown

To get bugs in the current release fixed, please report them here.

Moderator: Gurus

mr.prozac

MediaMonkey Process running after shutdown

Post by mr.prozac »

Hi,

I'm currently using MediaMonkey V 3.0.4.1185.

After i shutdown MediaMonkey the process still runs in Task Manager at approx. 22 MB
When (re)opening MediaMonkey, it starts a new process and again this keeps running when shutdown.

PS Specs:
OS: Microsoft Windows XP Professional
Version: 5.1.2600 Service Pack 2 Build 2600
PC Model: Compaq Evo D510 SFF
Systemtype: x86-Based
Processor: x86 Family 15 Model 2 Stepping 7 GenuineIntel ~2392 Mhz
BIOS-version/date: Compaq 686O2 v2.20, 30-12-2002
Hardware Abstraction Layer Versie = "5.1.2600.2180 (xpsp_sp2_rtm.040803-2158)"
Total RAM Mem: 256,50 MB
Available RAM Mem: 20,33 MB
Total Virtual Mem: 2,00 GB
Available Virtual Mem: 1,96 GB

Trying to get Debug info at the moment.
mr.prozac
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Sep 22, 2008 1:55 pm

Re: MediaMonkey Process running after shutdown

Post by mr.prozac »

this is the Debug information i got from DebigView:

Code: Select all

[2404] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105
[2404] We were asked to finish.
[2404] 2148 DB lock finished, took 80795.
[2404] 2148 DB exec SQL: DROP TABLE IF EXISTS TmpDelSugg1TSC 
[2404] 2148 DB lock finished, took 3286.
[2404] 2148 DB lock successful.
[2404] 2148 DB exec SQL: DROP TABLE IF EXISTS TmpDelSuggCDS 
[2404] 2148 DB lock finished, took 3430.
[2404] 2148 DB lock successful.
[2404] 2148 DB lock successful.
[2404] 2148 DB exec SQL: DROP TABLE IF EXISTS TmpMedias 
[2404] 2148 DB lock finished, took 1651.
[2404] 2148 DB lock successful.
[2404] 2148 DB exec SQL: DROP TABLE IF EXISTS TmpADF1 
[2404] 2148 DB lock finished, took 1088.
[2404] 2148 DB lock successful.
[2404] 2148 DB lock finished, took 758.
[2404] 2148 DB exec SQL: DROP INDEX IF EXISTS idxtmpGrp 
[2404] 2148 DB lock successful.
[2404] 2148 DB lock finished, took 785.
[2404] 2148 DB exec SQL: DROP INDEX IF EXISTS idxtmpGrpCDS 
[2404] 2148 DB lock successful.
[2404] 2148 DB lock finished, took 756.
[2404] 2148 DB lock successful.
[2404] 2148 DB exec SQL: DROP TABLE IF EXISTS TmpTagInconsNodes 
[2404] 2148 DB lock finished, took 3055.
[2404] 2148 DB lock successful.
[2404] 2148 DB exec SQL: DROP TABLE IF EXISTS TmpMedias 
[2404] 2148 DB lock finished, took 1055.
[2404] Remaining Cover Lists: 0
[2404] GetFileInfo: readPictures=spAlways
[2404] GetFileInfo: ?:\Fabolous ft. Neyo-You Make Me Better.mp3
[2404] 2148 DB open SQL: SELECT Songs.* FROM Songs WHERE Songs.IDMedia=? AND Songs.SongPath=? 
[2404] We are really going to finish.
[2404] Forms: Received WM_ACTIVATEAPP
[2404] Forms: NormalizeTopMosts: Level: 0
[2404] Winamp simulation window received messsage 28
[2404] Winamp sim - ignoring.
[2404] Close auto-tag.
[2404] _Stop: started
[2404] _Stop: finished
[2404] Termination of all threads started.
[2404] Terminating device handlers.
[2404] WMDM: Closing WMDM
[2404] WMDM: Starting action id: 0
[2404] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105
[2404] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105
[2404] WMDM: Closing Notifications 3
[2404] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105
[2404] WMDM: Closing Dev manager
[2404] WMDM: Waiting for queued actions to terminate
[2404] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105
[2404] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105
[2404] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105
[2404] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105
[2404] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105
[2404] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105
[2404] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105
[2404] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105
[2404] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105
[2404] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105
[2404] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105
[2404] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105
[2404] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105
[2404] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105
[2404] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105
[2404] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105
[2404] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105
[2404] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105
[2404] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105
[2404] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105
[2404] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105
[2404] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105
[2404] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105
[2404] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105
[2404] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105
[2404] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105
[2404] Devices: fQuit called
[2404] FastMM has been uninstalled.
[2404] Devices: Unloading C:\Program Files\MediaMonkey\Plugins\d_USBMass1.dll
[2404] Devices: fQuit called
[2404] Devices: fQuit called
[2404] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105
[2404] FastMM has been uninstalled.
[2404] Terminate auto-scanning.
[2404] Going to close album browser.
[2404] Going to hide equalizer.
[2404] Removing Cover manager.
[2404] Remaining Cover Lists: 0
[2404] Removing Error Handlers.
[2404] Going to free InfoPopup and InfoPopupPreview.
[2404] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105
[2404] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105
[2404] Winamp sim - WM_USER message 105
[2404] Posted WM_QUIT
[2404] Going to free player.
[2404] _Stop: started
[2404] SynchronizingAfterTagging finished
[2404] TWAPluginEngine.Stop - input plugin stopped
[2404] Going to quit general plugin C:\Program Files\MediaMonkey\Plugins\gen_logitechlcd.dll
[2404] Going to quit general plugin C:\Program Files\MediaMonkey\Plugins\gen_g15_ray.dll
[2404] Going to unload C:\Program Files\MediaMonkey\Plugins\gen_g15_ray.dll
[2404] Going to quit output plugin C:\Program Files\MediaMonkey\Plugins\out_wave.dll
[2404] Going to quit output plugin C:\Program Files\MediaMonkey\Plugins\out_MMDS.dll
[2404] MMDS: All actions finished
[2404] MMDS: MMInterf disconnected
[2404] FastMM has been uninstalled.
[2404] Going to quit input plugin C:\Program Files\MediaMonkey\Plugins\in_wmp3.dll
[2404] Going to unload C:\Program Files\MediaMonkey\Plugins\in_wmp3.dll
[2404] INWMP3: Close() started
[2404] INWMP3: Close() 1
[2404] INWMP3: Close() 3
[2404] Going to quit input plugin C:\Program Files\MediaMonkey\Plugins\in_wma.dll
[2404] Going to quit input plugin C:\Program Files\MediaMonkey\Plugins\in_wav.dll
[2404] Going to quit input plugin C:\Program Files\MediaMonkey\Plugins\in_vorbis.dll
[2404] Going to quit input plugin C:\Program Files\MediaMonkey\Plugins\in_shn.dll
[2404] Going to quit input plugin C:\Program Files\MediaMonkey\Plugins\in_mpc.dll
[2404] Going to quit input plugin C:\Program Files\MediaMonkey\Plugins\in_ape.dll
[2404] Player: Going to remove player scanning object.
[2404] Going to close pop-up windows.
[2404] Going to free format plugins.
[2404] Going to unload C:\Program Files\MediaMonkey\Plugins\f_ogg.dll
[2404] Going to unload C:\Program Files\MediaMonkey\Plugins\f_flac_codec.dll
[2404] Going to unload C:\Program Files\MediaMonkey\Plugins\f_flac.dll
[2404] Going to unload C:\Program Files\MediaMonkey\Plugins\f_ape.dll
[2404] Going to unload C:\Program Files\MediaMonkey\Plugins\f_aac.dll
[2404] Going to free VTmanager and Destroyer.
[2404] Going to terminate help.
[2404] Closing database.
[2404] FastMM has been uninstalled.
rovingcowboy
Posts: 14163
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: MediaMonkey Process running after shutdown

Post by rovingcowboy »

thats great to get all that system info.

but this error is mostly caused by monkey still running something. or thinking he is running something.
which is more likely a plugin that did not close that was opened by monkey.
but could be a script still trying to finish something it was told to do by monkey.

you can just get a tweaking program, mzultimate tweak on majorgeeks.com has an option to close hung programs on reboot, so get that one or another one with that tweak in and not worry about it the program will
be shut down when you next reboot your computer or when windows figures out the plugin is not being used but is hung. then windows will shut it down or should. you could make it do it faster by getting a ram cleaning program and run that manually to make windows clear out the ram from unused programs. that seems to do it also.

i know its a pain and those are all just workarounds to get rid of the error but if the plugin was not one installed by monkey but one you added then monkey might not have any way of shutting it down. so you need to use work arounds.

of course a good debug report will go miles in helping the developers find out if they can shut down the hung item.

well thats cool the forum shows me you already posted before i got this posted, and lets me add this line in.

just send it is to the support email address so they can get it faster, i think they check that more then the web forum now. but they still do check the forum also, at least i have seen jiri and ludek in here recently :D
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy A51 5G Android ) 6. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.
smallfreak
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2008 1:40 pm

Re: MediaMonkey Process running after shutdown

Post by smallfreak »

I found that "d_iPhone.dll" was responsible for this problem in my installation.
Once I moved that out of the plugins directory, MM did shut down cleanly.
Madarb

Re: MediaMonkey Process running after shutdown

Post by Madarb »

Thanks a lot for this info, had the same problem and solved it following your instructions. Cheers!
Madarb

Re: MediaMonkey Process running after shutdown

Post by Madarb »

Actually, it seems the problem got more persistent over time.
Now not only does MM stay in taskbar every single time I shut it down,
it even does so in multiple instances.
Today I ended up manually deleting 7 of them!

I am using 3.1.0.1256 by the way...

Any help would be appreciated.
rovingcowboy
Posts: 14163
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: MediaMonkey Process running after shutdown

Post by rovingcowboy »

what are you using for an computer system? 8)
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy A51 5G Android ) 6. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.
Lowlander
Posts: 48721
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: MediaMonkey Process running after shutdown

Post by Lowlander »

What additional plugins/scripts did you install? Did you enable Auto Analyze Volume, Auto-Organize or the File Monitor?
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
larrymohr
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jun 24, 2009 2:04 am

Re: MediaMonkey Process running after shutdown

Post by larrymohr »

Madarb, have you checked in TOOLS/OPTIONS on the General tab.
There is an entry about half way down "Close to tray". Is it checked?
Try unchecking this.

Also, if you don't want multiple instances of Mediamonkey to run there is a check box near the top "Allow just one instance of MediaMonkey".
Check that and you will allow only one instance to run.

You didn't say in your previous post what settings you had for these.

When I checked the "close to tray", after I clicked on "X", task manager showed MM running with 90megs.
Unchecked, everything closed as usual.

Hope this is of some help
Madarb

Re: MediaMonkey Process running after shutdown

Post by Madarb »

Ok, so...
what are you using for an computer system? 8)
Vista sp1
What additional plugins/scripts did you install? Did you enable Auto Analyze Volume, Auto-Organize or the File Monitor?
  • Auto-Increment Track #
    Backup
    Case and Leading Zero Checker
    Swap Artist and Title
I think there might be a possibility that Backup is involved in this,
cause I have it running on shutdown.
Good point mentioning the plugins :wink:

@larrymorh
I have both of them turned off from the first moment.
Which kinda doesn't make sense since there are indeed multiple instances running. :-?

I have the minimize to tray though, maybe that is causing some exotic bug?
Coming to think of it, the problem definately appeared after configuring this...
rovingcowboy
Posts: 14163
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2003 7:57 am
Location: (Texas)
Contact:

Re: MediaMonkey Process running after shutdown

Post by rovingcowboy »

i don't have vista sorry. i can't help with that.

but i seen in the forum lots have trouble with it.

mayber vista is runinng one for admin mode and one for user mode? wouldn't surprise me if that was going on not with a ms os. :-?
roving cowboy / keith hall. My skins http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... =9&t=16724 for some help check on Monkey's helpful messages at http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... 4008#44008 MY SYSTEMS.1.Jukebox WinXp pro sp 3 version 3.5 gigabyte mb. 281 GHz amd athlon x2 240 built by me.) 2.WinXP pro sp3, vers 2.5.5 and vers 3.5 backup storage, shuttle 32a mb,734 MHz amd athlon put together by me.) 3.Dell demension, winxp pro sp3, mm3.5 spare jukebox.) 4.WinXp pro sp3, vers 3.5, dad's computer bought from computer store. )5. Samsung Galaxy A51 5G Android ) 6. amd a8-5600 apu 3.60ghz mm version 4 windows 7 pro bought from computer store.
Peke
Posts: 13786
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: MediaMonkey Process running after shutdown

Post by Peke »

Try to close all Instances of MediaMonkey.exe in task manager and go to MediaMonkey plugins folder and rename d_iphone.dll -> off.d_iphone.dll and then try to repeat non closing problem by verifying that no mediamonkey.exe tasks are started after you close application and wait several seconds just in case.
Best regards,
Peke
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
johnnybir

Re: MediaMonkey Process running after shutdown

Post by johnnybir »

I'm having the same problem with the process running after shutdown. In addition MM v3 hangs up after playing 5-6 songs. It also behave strange when starting up. It want to start with the same song every time, and the playinglist is not showing properly on start up. All these changes showed up after an upgrade. Not the last one, but the previous, I think. I now have to return to the Windows Media Player until these problems are solved. I hope the next upgrade will take care of this. I'm running MM on a XP system.
Guest

Re: MediaMonkey Process running after shutdown

Post by Guest »

Newsflash:
It was indeed Backup's fault as far as I can tell.
I disabled the "Backup on shutdown" and made it run on startup, and it seems to disappear after shutdown now.
[Will inform if it tends to have the same problem again though...]

Ps. The i_phone.dll trick didn't work, tried it before the backup change.
Madarb

Re: MediaMonkey Process running after shutdown

Post by Madarb »

And yes, it still continues.
Tried playing with Backup for a bit, nothing happened, the same stuff all over.
It seems like every solution lasts only for a short amount of time and then goes back to the usual.
Any other suggestions?
I'm kinda pissed off that every time I have to shut it down manually and lose my playlist. :(
Post Reply