play previous title, Freeze [#9426]

To get bugs in the current release fixed, please report them here.

Moderator: Gurus

theta_wave
Posts: 310
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 12:54 am
Contact:

play previous title, Freeze [#9426]

Post by theta_wave »

This is in a playlist of 337 songs in a library where MM.db is over 1 gig. MM.db resides on the root drive of a 5400rpm 2.5" HDD. MM freezes when trying to go to the previous track after rating a song that is being played. Does it have to do with the large size of MM.db? This occurs even after database optimization.
MM Gold Lifetime since 2.5.5.998
Computer: Lenovo Y580 System: Win7 Ultimate x64 SP1 / Arch Linux Mediamonkey 4: w/ Monkeyrok 5.6, Minilyrics 1.4b, iMonkey Skin
Lowlander
Posts: 48154
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

Re: [1496] Rate a song, then try to play previous title = Fr

Post by Lowlander »

I can't reproduce, may have to do with slow HDD and maybe the DB files is defragmented.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
rpsgc
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 4:29 pm
Location: Portugal
Contact:

MM 4.0.5 stops responding (details inside)

Post by rpsgc »

This bug has already been reported, I'm just trying to find out if more are affected by it.

Make sure you're using MediaMonkey 4.0.5
-> Load some song, let it play for a few seconds and then press the 'previous track' button.
Does it stop responding/freezes? If not, try fast forwarding a bit and try again.


This bug only appeared with 4.0.5. I tested all betas and release candidates up until the last of the 4.0.3 (1476). They all worked fine but as soon as I installed a 4.0.5 release (1481), it reared its ugly head.

P.S.: I've successfully replicated it on another computer and on a virtual machine. So the problem is not with my computer.
P.P.S.: This doesn't belong in the Beta Testing forum because this happens with the 4.0.5 (1596) final release.
Last edited by Lowlander on Mon Jun 18, 2012 10:56 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Merged with existing post
"MediaMonkey Gold: Lifetime" user, since Oct 2011
BKKKPewsey
Posts: 361
Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2011 10:45 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Re: MM 4.0.5 stops responding (details inside)

Post by BKKKPewsey »

Just tried to test this and MM generated a crash dump :(
Using 4.0.6.1498 portable (debug) on vista 32
Everyone has the right to be stupid Image but some abuse the privilege
rpsgc
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 4:29 pm
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: MM 4.0.5 stops responding (details inside)

Post by rpsgc »

BKKKPewsey wrote:Just tried to test this and MM generated a crash dump :(
Using 4.0.6.1498 portable (debug) on vista 32
Oh yeah, I forgot to add. The devs "fixed" it in the last build. Yeah, instead of freezing/stop responding it now crashes. Yay!
http://www.ventismedia.com/mantis/view.php?id=9426

Considering the lack of attention/discussion on this problem, it seems I'm the only one who uses the 'previous track' button!? Madness.
(or is everyone else still on good ol' 4.0.3 ?)
"MediaMonkey Gold: Lifetime" user, since Oct 2011
rpsgc
Posts: 37
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2009 4:29 pm
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: play previous title, Freeze [#9426]

Post by rpsgc »

And now it's fixed [1499]. Really fixed, in a real reality sort of really real way. Like real but reallier, you know? Really really real.



:)
"MediaMonkey Gold: Lifetime" user, since Oct 2011
Post Reply