[SOLVED] Media Monkey keeps resetting itself

To get bugs in the current release fixed, please report them here.

Moderator: Gurus

GGVII
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2016 5:20 pm
Contact:

[SOLVED] Media Monkey keeps resetting itself

Post by GGVII »

First post, apologise if I do not provide enough information.

Windows 10 user. Recently Media Monkey keeps losing my license.

I will get that default welcome set-up wizard box and today I had to add my license in again.

Is this a known issue?
Peke
Posts: 13453
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Media Monkey keeps resetting itself

Post by Peke »

Hi,
Can you please install MMW as portable and use t for several days in order to see if reset happen?

I'm asking you that as in 90% cases outside factor resets MMW settings and portable insyalls do not trigger that behavior.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
GGVII
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2016 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Media Monkey keeps resetting itself

Post by GGVII »

Just installed it as a portable installation.

Will let you know next week if this works.

Thank you. :D
GGVII
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2016 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Media Monkey keeps resetting itself

Post by GGVII »

Seems that you are correct with your theory.

Over a week now and this issue has left me.

Thank you so much.
Peke
Posts: 13453
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Media Monkey keeps resetting itself

Post by Peke »

Hi,
Thank you for update, now you need to search your system and find optimizer app that clears MMW c:\Users\<Username>\AppData\Roaming\MediaMonkey

Web Root is one of apps that are known to do that.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
Morano
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2020 10:57 pm
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Media Monkey keeps resetting itself

Post by Morano »

Hello MM forums,

I have a similar issue but not identical.

Intermittently, MM will pop up with the Welcome to MediaMonkey screen and take me through the initialization process. It resets all of my defaults (music location, CD rip file preferences, e.g.). It does NOT ask me for my license, however. (I own Gold version.) This may occur once a month, rarely once a week.

Is this the same issue with a non-portable installation? Do I need to follow these steps to stop the Welcome screen from coming up?
Thank you!
Lowlander
Posts: 47910
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

Re: [SOLVED] Media Monkey keeps resetting itself

Post by Lowlander »

Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Post Reply