Icon questions

If you want to contribute MediaMonkey skins, themes, icons, etc...

Moderators: Morten, Gurus

kemie
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 7:56 am
Contact:

Icon questions

Post by kemie » Mon Aug 27, 2007 5:14 am

I'm putting together a new icon set for MM2 (can't get MM3 to work on my coputer, so I have no clue if it'll work there too). I'm 95% there, but I have a few questions:

I can't figure out what these icons are meant to be (chain links, perhaps?) or where they are used. any clues?
Image

The second question is if these icons (that appear when editing a file's properties) are tied in to the skin, as opposed to the rest of the icons that are in the downloadable/replaceable package



Image

thanks!

Steegy
Posts: 3452
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 7:17 pm

Post by Steegy » Mon Aug 27, 2007 12:57 pm

1) Those 2 icons are from some script (ScrobblerDJ ?), and are not a part of MediaMonkey.

2) There are no icons tied in to the skin (at least not for now), but they are maybe missing from the downloadable package (I didn't check). All icon resources are contained within MediaMonkey's program file. See here for an overview.
Extensions: ExternalTools, ExtractFields, SongPreviewer, LinkedTracks, CleanImport, and some other scripts (Need Help with Addons > List of All Scripts).

kemie
Posts: 38
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 7:56 am
Contact:

Post by kemie » Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:54 pm

Hey Steegy thanks a lot for your help. The weird icons were included in the downloadable zip, so I thought they were official. I'll ignore for now.

About the other icons... they are for sure not included in the download.

Or rather, there's a shopping cart icon, an auto tag icon etc, included there, but changing them changes the icons on the right-click menu, but not on the porperties window.

is there a way of knowing which resource it is and changing it?

One more thing while I'm at it. The wiki says 32-bit icon transparency is supported, but I found that using 32 bits made dark halos appear where the semi-transparent pixels should be. Any clue on why?

Steegy
Posts: 3452
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2005 7:17 pm

Post by Steegy » Mon Aug 27, 2007 4:37 pm

Maybe it's currently impossible to override the icons in the properties window. I don't know about MM3, but if this "problem" is still there, Petr (or any MM dev) should probably be notified.
It might be possible to change these icons within MediaMonkey's exe file, using e.g. Resource Hacker. Of course you can only do this if you get permission from the MediaMonkey devs :wink:

Reading about the 32-bit icon (and checking WikiPedia), I'm pretty sure it should be 24-bit, and simple 1-bit (not 8-bit) transparency.
Extensions: ExternalTools, ExtractFields, SongPreviewer, LinkedTracks, CleanImport, and some other scripts (Need Help with Addons > List of All Scripts).

Post Reply