When did MM screw up offline files?

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

Overzeetop
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 8:22 pm
Contact:

When did MM screw up offline files?

Post by Overzeetop »

I was pretty sure that on an old version of MM, I could put all my files on my network (like they've always been - UnRaid server, access via SAMBA, mapped to a drive letter) and then by making these files available offline - i.e. cached locally and accessible through the drive letter - I could access them in MM just like I was connected to the network.

It's been a while (maybe over a year) since I've messed with it, but on my new Win7 laptop with the latest MM the files are accessed only by the URL location: //tower1/audio/... instead of by the drive letter (L:/audio/...) mapping. WTF? The whole idea of setting MM to look at the files via a drive letter was to make them available offline, otherwise I would have navigated to the share directly instead of through a drive letter.

Is there any way to fix this? Since windows allows the use of either a letter or URL, and every other program I use (including some very stubborn ones) works "properly", I'm going to claim that this is a MM issue.

Thoughts?
Overzeetop
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat May 06, 2006 8:22 pm
Contact:

Re: When did MM screw up offline files?

Post by Overzeetop »

I should expand a bit (sorry, I'm a bit hot at the moment):

When I go to "add tracks", the directories checked for library inclusion are listed under L:\, not <network>\<mwn>\Tower1 - the "location" root is the mapped drive letter.

Here's where it gets odd. I can add them back by accepting the "add tracks" dialog - and it starts adding all 8000+ tracks (which takes forever). But it adds them all AGAIN and I get duplicates. So they CAN be read by MM, it just chooses to re-path them with the URL so they get lost every time I disconnect?
Lowlander
Posts: 48136
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

Re: When did MM screw up offline files?

Post by Lowlander »

That would be very strange, if you add on mapped drive it shouldn't change itself to UNC paths.

Are you sure you don't have the File Monitor enabled?

Also you can use Send To > Virtual CD to keep a local copy (similar to offline files) of your tracks. This is more beneficial as you only would see one version in the library while having a local and networked copy. It would also allow you to use UNC paths as mapped paths can cause MediaMonkey to not see the tracks under certain circumstances.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Devineme
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 9:55 pm
Contact:

Re: When did MM screw up offline files?

Post by Devineme »

Overzeetop, is right, I been using Media Monkey for a since v 2.x and somewhere along the line MediaMonkey puts all the files stored on a network drive offline. I have a Synology mapped to a net drive letter and every time I open the Media Monkey all of the files are offline. I have to use "Locate Moved.." function and select the network drive again to relink all the database entries. I'm guessing that MediaMonkey does not check the network drive or uses a API function that reads a network status of some sort instead of trying to connect it. Some net API functions fail although the drive is turned on and has not been "connected" to. In explorer for example, the mapped drive is not connect until you click on it for the first time after a restart, even though the drive letters are there.

@Overzeetop, try this, make sure you click on you net drive letter in explorer before opening MediaMonkey. You should'nt have to do that but it should work.
Lowlander
Posts: 48136
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

Re: When did MM screw up offline files?

Post by Lowlander »

@Devineme
This is why it's advised to use UNC paths instead of mapped drives. The problem is with the way Windows handles mapped drives especially after they go to sleep. They often end up with a different drive ID which is why MediaMonkey doesn't see it.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Post Reply