Change Hard drives, new OS and backup library: please help

Get answers about using the current release of MediaMonkey for Windows.

Moderator: Gurus

-SuperFunk-
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 4:16 pm
Contact:

Change Hard drives, new OS and backup library: please help

Post by -SuperFunk- »

I’m planning to upgrade my OS from Vista to Windows 7
Since I put a lot of work into my library I absolutely want to make sure I don’t f*k it up. :roll:
I have some questions concerning the backup and restoring of my database.

(btw: I’ve already read about this, but like I said: I want to make sure..)

The situation is as follows:
Right now I have 3 internal hard drives:
1. C:\ (XP) + D:\ (Vista) [160Gb]
2. E:\ (multimedia) [500Gb]
3. F:\ (all the music) [1Tb]

I want to remove the first one (160) and put in a new 1Tb.
Before doing that I will backup the third (1Tb) and the second (500) HD to my brother’s computer.
Then the 500G drive will be used for Windows7, the others for the rest of my files.

1 D:\ (Win7) [500Gb]
2 E:\ (multimedia) [1Tb]
3 F:\ (all the music) [1Tb]


Okay now the questions:
1. What do I need to do to make absolutely sure I can recover my database the way it is now?
- Is trixmoto’s script sufficient/better in this case? (http://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewto ... f=2&t=7746)
- Or Should I follow this guide:
http://www.mediamonkey.com/wiki/index.p ... w_computer

2. Will I be able to recover ALL the information from my library? (= including playcount, date added, nested auto-playlists,..)

3. Is it important to re-install mediamonkey on the same location as it is now (= same drive letter?)

4. Is there something that can go wrong? Should I be aware of something?

I know I can find this information all over the place, but I find it important to double-check this.
I appreciate any help.

superfunk
Lowlander
Posts: 48368
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

Re: Change Hard drives, new OS and backup library: please help

Post by Lowlander »

You should follow the wiki guide, you can use Trixmoto's script to backup the important parts though.

The database is the important file as it contains all the information including playlists and play data.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
-SuperFunk-
Posts: 45
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2008 4:16 pm
Contact:

Re: Change Hard drives, new OS and backup library: please help

Post by -SuperFunk- »

ok,
1. but if I replace my music library on a drive with the same drive letter, I won't be needing following steps right?:
- Installing the update drive-ID script
- Running the script

(if everything goes fine my music does not move, it stays on the same drive, I only take a backup of it)

2. If I re-install MM on Windows 7 and i just replace the DB, what about all the scripts and plugins I have now?
Will that also work properly? (personally I don't have a good feeling about this..)
Trixmoto's script also backups all those script, etc. folders.
what if I replace the MM DB using the wiki guide and then launch the backupfile of trixmoto's script ?
Lowlander
Posts: 48368
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

Re: Change Hard drives, new OS and backup library: please help

Post by Lowlander »

Yes you will as MediaMonkey uses the DriveID instead of drive letter.

I believe the Backup script can backup and restore everything, including the scripts and the DB. Please refer to the scripts thread to see for details and ask any questions you have about the script itself.

I assume you could:
1) Run script to backup
2) Run script to restore
3) Change Drive ID
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
Cruiser
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed Jan 13, 2010 1:36 am
Contact:

Re: Change Hard drives, new OS and backup library: please help

Post by Cruiser »

There should be no reason for you to use D: for Win7 when you can use C:
- If you like.
Post Reply