epileptic status bar

Any ideas about how to improve MediaMonkey? Let us know!

Moderator: Gurus

timelezz
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 6:08 am
Contact:

epileptic status bar

Post by timelezz »

Sorry for my tone, but I get freaking annoyed by MM at this moment. something I also get annoyed by it the constant bumping of the status bar when it scanned a new song. Currently it's scanning for new files on my disk and it's going up-down-up-down et cetera for an hour, because every song it needs to show this freaking bar. Can the bar please stay in place, or just disappear, but not this. I'm getting freaking epileptic by it :(
Lowlander
Posts: 48369
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

Re: epileptic status bar

Post by Lowlander »

Try right clicking on it and selecting Minimize status bar
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
timelezz
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 6:08 am
Contact:

Re: epileptic status bar

Post by timelezz »

Tried that a million of times. But it is faster than lightning :( Don't you have this when MM is monitoring files? It's freaking annoying and sooo unnecessary.
nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: epileptic status bar

Post by nohitter151 »

No, what are the steps to reproduce?
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
timelezz
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 6:08 am
Contact:

Re: epileptic status bar

Post by timelezz »

While adding songs to the database. There is one stable bar that goes adding 4596 of 5123 songs. and there is another one flashing all the time. I just was lucky to see what it has on it - because it had 4 in cache so it gave me time to read what was written on it. It said something like 'creating Thumbnail'. It is doing this for every song. So it's flashing on rapid fire. Normally I can not read what is written on the bar. Way to fast for human eyes. Hope this helps identifying the issue, and something can be done so my eyes get a little less nervously distracted.
nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: epileptic status bar

Post by nohitter151 »

timelezz wrote:While adding songs to the database. There is one stable bar that goes adding 4596 of 5123 songs. and there is another one flashing all the time. I just was lucky to see what it has on it - because it had 4 in cache so it gave me time to read what was written on it. It said something like 'creating Thumbnail'. It is doing this for every song. So it's flashing on rapid fire. Normally I can not read what is written on the bar. Way to fast for human eyes. Hope this helps identifying the issue, and something can be done so my eyes get a little less nervously distracted.
Maybe try to disable automatic thumbnail generation in the MM options.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
timelezz
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 6:08 am
Contact:

Re: epileptic status bar

Post by timelezz »

Could only find 'automatic thumbnail generation for videos'
you mean this one?
timelezz
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 6:08 am
Contact:

Re: epileptic status bar

Post by timelezz »

I checked that one off + restart MM. But it does not help :(

After restart MM status bar says "monitoring 1793 of 1902"
As it goes forth to "monitoring 1794 of 1903", there is this flashing bar again.
And with every next monitored file, it does the same. continuously
nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: epileptic status bar

Post by nohitter151 »

Well I cannot reproduce your problem, even with this option enabled. Maybe a debug log would show more. Also, why is this post in the wishlist forum? I see no wish posted.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
timelezz
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 6:08 am
Contact:

Re: epileptic status bar

Post by timelezz »

Because I couldn't say yet it was a bug. Perhaps it was just a feature that I wish to be changed. I made a screen recording with my phone. If Youtube hurries up, I can show it to you.
nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: epileptic status bar

Post by nohitter151 »

timelezz wrote:...epileptic status bar...Perhaps it was just a feature...
:lol:
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
timelezz
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 6:08 am
Contact:

Re: epileptic status bar

Post by timelezz »

I have the video here http://dl.dropbox.com/u/11655033/VIDEO0044.3gp You see what I mean?
nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: epileptic status bar

Post by nohitter151 »

timelezz wrote:I have the video here http://dl.dropbox.com/u/11655033/VIDEO0044.3gp You see what I mean?
Yes. I can't reproduce that. Tell me, if you go to HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\MediaMonkey\StatusBars in the registry, what appears? A screenshot would work if you'd rather not type it all out.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
timelezz
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun Nov 27, 2005 6:08 am
Contact:

Re: epileptic status bar

Post by timelezz »

Thank you for noticing my problem and assisting me here. I am lucky to know how to export from the registry. Here is the output of the registry folder you mentioned.


Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

Code: Select all

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\MediaMonkey\StatusBars]
"Bar6Minimized"=dword:00000000
"Bar4Minimized"=dword:00000001
"Bar0Minimized"=dword:00000000
"Bar2Minimized"=dword:00000001
"Bar3Minimized"=dword:00000001
"Bar9Minimized"=dword:00000000
"Bar10Minimized"=dword:00000001
"Bar24Minimized"=dword:00000001
"Bar21Minimized"=dword:00000001
"Bar19Minimized"=dword:00000001
"Bar20Minimized"=dword:00000000
"Bar13Minimized"=dword:00000001
"Bar5Minimized"=dword:00000001
nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: epileptic status bar

Post by nohitter151 »

Close MM, and change all REG_DWORD entries to 1. Then re-open MM and see if it makes any difference.
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
Post Reply