1738: Not remembering tabs

Beta Testing for Windows Products and plugins

Moderator: Gurus

dtsig
Posts: 3255
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:34 pm
Contact:

1738: Not remembering tabs

Post by dtsig »

Along with service problem as noted here, I am seeing MMW not remembering tabs that were open.
I had 3 tabs open in this order; TV, Music, Video
I did a backup
i shut down (file/exit)
After a minute or two I shut down the service (see link above)
I started MMW
It came up with only 1 tab; TV

This is new behavior to 1738
Where's the db and ini stored
Reporting Bugs
Where tags are stored

Not affiliated with MediaMonkey ... just a RABID user/lover
DTSig
Peke
Posts: 13446
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: 1738: Not remembering tabs

Post by Peke »

Are you manually closing services from admin tools or?
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
dtsig
Posts: 3255
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:34 pm
Contact:

Re: 1738: Not remembering tabs

Post by dtsig »

yes that is the only way to get mmw to start.
Where's the db and ini stored
Reporting Bugs
Where tags are stored

Not affiliated with MediaMonkey ... just a RABID user/lover
DTSig
nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: 1738: Not remembering tabs

Post by nohitter151 »

Probably since you are force closing MM
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
dtsig
Posts: 3255
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:34 pm
Contact:

Re: 1738: Not remembering tabs

Post by dtsig »

but i had to stop the service in order to be able to start mmw. are you saying that using the service/stop process could cause mmw to loose tab info? Doesn't make sense.
Where's the db and ini stored
Reporting Bugs
Where tags are stored

Not affiliated with MediaMonkey ... just a RABID user/lover
DTSig
nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: 1738: Not remembering tabs

Post by nohitter151 »

dtsig wrote:but i had to stop the service in order to be able to start mmw. are you saying that using the service/stop process could cause mmw to loose tab info? Doesn't make sense.
I assume that it doesn't happen if you start and close MM without the service running. So it would have to be related to the service then, yes?
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
Lowlander
Posts: 47898
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5
Contact:

Re: 1738: Not remembering tabs

Post by Lowlander »

Not knowing when MM saves what settings when switching App/Service it may be at close of both not switching and thus the loss of this setting.
Lowlander (MediaMonkey user since 2003)
dtsig
Posts: 3255
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:34 pm
Contact:

Re: 1738: Not remembering tabs

Post by dtsig »

I guess it could be. I find it odd as the service does nothing with the ui (at least that is my understanding) and only deals with 'serving' the files. But who knows. Maybe the best bet is to stop using the service again.
Where's the db and ini stored
Reporting Bugs
Where tags are stored

Not affiliated with MediaMonkey ... just a RABID user/lover
DTSig
rivorson
Posts: 594
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 4:17 am
Contact:

Re: 1738: Not remembering tabs

Post by rivorson »

Just to throw my experience in, I also lost all except my first tab after I installed 1738. I don't use the service so that wasn't the cause in my case.
Peke
Posts: 13446
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: 1738: Not remembering tabs

Post by Peke »

I'm still not being Able to replicate, Tabs info is saved in INI if it got corrupted than it is possible to loose all tabs.

Please try to replicate so that we can wrap around additional layer to keep things in order.
Best regards,
Pavle
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
dtsig
Posts: 3255
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:34 pm
Contact:

Re: 1738: Not remembering tabs

Post by dtsig »

I restarted my computer yesterday, used FILE/EXIT to exit mmw. Waited 10-15 seconds for things to settle then rebooted. When MMW came back up again the tabs were reduced to just the first one. When I get back from this business trip I will do a log at mmw shutdown and then on mmw startup and send it in
Where's the db and ini stored
Reporting Bugs
Where tags are stored

Not affiliated with MediaMonkey ... just a RABID user/lover
DTSig
dtsig
Posts: 3255
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:34 pm
Contact:

Re: 1738: Not remembering tabs

Post by dtsig »

For me, as noted in my thread about the service, if the service is in existance then for some reason MMW doesn't remember more than the first tab. If i un-install the service then mmw remembers the tabs correctly
Where's the db and ini stored
Reporting Bugs
Where tags are stored

Not affiliated with MediaMonkey ... just a RABID user/lover
DTSig
nohitter151
Posts: 23640
Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2006 10:20 am
Location: NJ, USA
Contact:

Re: 1738: Not remembering tabs

Post by nohitter151 »

It's marked as fixed in build 1742
MediaMonkey user since 2006
Need help? Got a suggestion? Can't find something?

Please no PMs in reply to a post. Just reply in the thread.
dtsig
Posts: 3255
Joined: Mon Jan 24, 2011 6:34 pm
Contact:

Re: 1738: Not remembering tabs

Post by dtsig »

Yea! Now if we could just get "perm* tabs I would be in heaven :)
Where's the db and ini stored
Reporting Bugs
Where tags are stored

Not affiliated with MediaMonkey ... just a RABID user/lover
DTSig
rivorson
Posts: 594
Joined: Thu Jul 25, 2013 4:17 am
Contact:

Re: 1738: Not remembering tabs

Post by rivorson »

I think the fix went a bit far in 1742. When I open MM it successfully opens all of my previous tabs then duplicates all except the first tab.
Post Reply