Upgrading from 5.0.2.2532 to 5.0.3.2627 hangs at splash screen

Help improve MediaMonkey 5 by testing the latest pre-release builds, and reporting bugs and feature requests.

Moderator: Gurus

bdshasta
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2021 10:43 pm

Upgrading from 5.0.2.2532 to 5.0.3.2627 hangs at splash screen

Post by bdshasta »

Updating in place from MM 5.0.2.2532 (portable) to 5.0.3.2627 (portable) hangs at the splash screen for me. I've tried now with both the regular and debug versions. When I revert the portable install folder back to v5.0.2.2532 via shadowcopies the old version runs properly again. I've tried upgrading several times and I've tried removing any custom scripts from the folder before upgrading.
Clean install to new portable folder works.
Lowlander
Posts: 53131
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Upgrading from 5.0.2.2532 to 5.0.3.2627 hangs at splash screen

Post by Lowlander »

Can you please capture the failure to open in a debug log (step 4b) and attach the log to a Support Ticket: https://www.mediamonkey.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=86639

This will help a developer analyze why this fails for you.


Can you copy your database file to the clean copy and does it then open successfully?
LaFouine
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 5:30 am

Re: Upgrading from 5.0.2.2532 to 5.0.3.2627 hangs at splash screen

Post by LaFouine »

Same problem for me
Ludek
Posts: 4658
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2007 9:00 am

Re: Upgrading from 5.0.2.2532 to 5.0.3.2627 hangs at splash screen

Post by Ludek »

Hi, could you please try whether running MM5 using MediaMonkey_NoGPU.bat solves the issue?

See item 1.2. here: https://www.mediamonkey.com/support/kno ... wont-open/
bdshasta
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2021 10:43 pm

Re: Upgrading from 5.0.2.2532 to 5.0.3.2627 hangs at splash screen

Post by bdshasta »

Thank you, yes MediaMonkey_NoGPU.bat runs properly after upgrade.
LaFouine
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2012 5:30 am

Re: Upgrading from 5.0.2.2532 to 5.0.3.2627 hangs at splash screen

Post by LaFouine »

Hello,
MediaMonkey_NoGPU.bat doesn't solve the problem for me.
I sent the crash report by cliking on "Send" on the crash screen, but I'm not sure that the report is properly sent.
See crash with ID 8076
Do you have a possibility to check this ?
I had to downgrade to 5.0.2.2531
bdshasta
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2021 10:43 pm

Re: Upgrading from 5.0.2.2532 to 5.0.3.2627 hangs at splash screen

Post by bdshasta »

This may or may not be related to the noGPU workaround but v5.0.3.2627 (portable) crashes every ~5 hours or so and has to be restarted. I've had to revert to v5.0.2.2532 for now to mitigate the issue.

If I get the urge I will reinstall the newest debug version and dump the debug logs and capture a screenshot of the issue.
Lowlander
Posts: 53131
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Upgrading from 5.0.2.2532 to 5.0.3.2627 hangs at splash screen

Post by Lowlander »

A debug log would be really helpful to help resolve this.
roussel
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Apr 13, 2020 8:58 am

Re: Upgrading from 5.0.2.2532 to 5.0.3.2627 hangs at splash screen

Post by roussel »

I've the same problem here.

Launching MM5 through .bat file solves the problem.

This should be solved another way of using this workaround.

Moreover, the justification here https://www.mediamonkey.com/support/kno ... wont-open/

is not acceptable. Why powerful GPU should be used for a music program ???

In another way, I found that you developped a x86 version only. Is there a reason not developing a 64-bits version ?

Thanks for your support
Lowlander
Posts: 53131
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 5:53 pm
Location: MediaMonkey 5

Re: Upgrading from 5.0.2.2532 to 5.0.3.2627 hangs at splash screen

Post by Lowlander »

GPU rendering is used for the interface. 64 bits is not going to give massive performance, but will require lots of extra development. It may come in the future.
Peke
Posts: 15616
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2003 7:21 pm
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Upgrading from 5.0.2.2532 to 5.0.3.2627 hangs at splash screen

Post by Peke »

roussel wrote: Sat Jul 02, 2022 6:58 am I've the same problem here.
Launching MM5 through .bat file solves the problem.
This should be solved another way of using this workaround.
Launching MM5 thru BAT file and if it is working usually means Driver is outdated Windows and chromium Policy and most likely lost WHQL certificate or some models were crashed Chromium so many times so they are added to Black list source code.
Please, may I suggest you to download TechPowerUp GPU-Z and create screenshot (app have screenshot button top right) and post it here in reply (see my signature how). I'll try to help you as much as I can.
Best regards,
Peke
MediaMonkey Team lead QA/Tech Support guru
Admin of Free MediaMonkey addon Site HappyMonkeying
Image
Image
Image
How to add SCREENSHOTS to forum
Post Reply